Skip to main content

Art, Architecture & Fashion History: Home

Free web sites.

ART, ARCHITECTURE & FASHION HISTORY

Interesting web sites that give background information and links to art and artists, art history, clip art, digital images, museums, architecture and architects, fashion history and costumes, comics and cartoon strips, handicrafts and home improvement


 

GENERAL

 

Art Guide
Contains information about 1,900 artists, 650 museums, and 4,500 individual or comprehensive exhibition listings.

Artcyclopedia: The Fine Art Search Engine
Search for links by artist, title, or art museums; by movement, medium, subject, nationality, or women artists. Also checkout the monthly Feature Archive.

ARTNET
Links to exhibitions, artists, auctions, galleries, art fairs, museums, and jobs.

ARTSOURCE
Gathering point for network resources on art, architecture, original materials, new media, and organizations.

AskART.com
A database with 25,000 American artists, including biographies, an impressive image gallery, museums and exhibitions, and auction records.

Sculptor.org
Labeled "a comprehensive resource for sculptors," this is the nonprofit, personal site of Richard Collins. It is the only free, comprehensive site on sculpture currently available. Includes educational, professional, and marketing information.

HISTORY OF ART

Art History Resources on the Web
Creator of the site, Christopher Witcombe, is a scholar in Italian art history. A comprehensive site, with searches available by period and style, by museums and galleries, and research resources. Prints are organized by collection. The Spencer Museum of Art and Wesleyan University both offer substantial information.

Frida Kahlo & Contemporary Thoughts
Features a Web site about the Mexican painter Frida Kahlo (1907-1954). It is divided into the following sections: updated news, biography, critical essays, bibliography, Frida and contemporary arts, and exhibitions (both permanent and temporary). Includes a flash movie "Frida e-motion". In English.

Georgia O'Keeffe
Text alternates with quotations drawn from O'Keeffe's writings; images consist of many photographs of the artist and 16 lovely color paintings; although it lacks analysis of the artist's oeuvre, it can be enjoyed for its high-quality design.

Guggenheim Online Book Collection
For over half a decade the museum has been digitizing its modern art exhibition Discoverys and art books, placing the results online. So whether you want to study up on some art history with titles like Picasso and the War Years and Expressionism, a German intuition or read the first English translation of Kandinsky's On the spiritual in art, you've come to the right place. The collection also includes Discoverys of retrospective exhibitions on masters like Paul Klee, Robert Rauschenberg, Max Ernst, Francis Bacon, and Mark Rothko. Or you can dig deeper into Chinese art in the 20th century and the craftsmen of ancient Peru.

Making Sense of Marcel Duchamp
Copyrighted by Andrew Stafford, this site is a fit tribute to the artist, with a timeline from 1887 to 1968. If the only Duchamp you know is Nude Descending a Staircase No. 2, you are in for a visual treat!

 

Metropolitan Museum of Art's Timeline of Art History
"The Timeline of Art History is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated especially by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection." Covers prehistory to 1800 A.D.

National Gallery of Art: Dolls from the Index of American Design
Presents selections from the Index of American Design at the National Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C., which consists of watercolor renderings of American decorative arts objects from the colonial period through the 19th century. Features renderings of American-made dolls and discusses how dolls were made. Links to the home page of the National Gallery.

Vincent Van Gogh Information Gallery
Over 2000 graphics including information about ALL of Vincent Van Gogh's paintings, plus biographical information, letters, and news, authored by "David."

Vistas: Visual Culture in Spanish America, 1520-1820
"...offers a critical selection of color images, primary sources, and interpretive essays on colonial history and culture."

 

DIGITAL IMAGES

Art Images for College Teaching (AICT)
Royalty-free image exchange for the educational community; divided into five sections: Ancient, Medieval, Renaissance and Baroque, 18th-20th centuries, and Non-Western.

Corbis
Digital imagery archives includes international art, entertainment, animal, travel, and cultural images.

Photo Net
Helpful guide with photo tips. Operated by Philip Greenspun, teacher at MIT.

Mark Harden's Artchive
A collection of over 2200 graphics from cave paintings to abstract expressionism. Downloadable only for non-profit educational use.

Sito
A place for image-makers to meet and display their works by sponsoring collaborative works whereby artists from all over the world contribute to a single graphical image; also includes individual works by artists in many media categories. It is virtually always mentioned in any list of good art sites.

Symbols
Online version of Carl Liungman's Thought Signs.Contains more than 2,500 Western signs, organized into 54 groupings based on graphic characteristics, plus 1,600 brief articles which discuss the history and meaning of the ideograms. Includes astrological symbols, alchemical glyph, scientific ideograms, and even hobo signs. Indexes by image and by name of symbols.

Time Inc. Picture Collection
For professionals who want to purchase the rights, and for casual browsers or students who want to look at history, this collection is wonderful. It exists primarily to market Time-Life images but also gives students and scholars a glimpse of the visual images of the 20th century. Anyone can gain access by registering, then type in descriptors for the events you want to study. Multiple descriptors and search strategies may be necessary to discover all the treasures in this massive collection.

World Wide Arts Resources
Offers images from over 8000 artists. For a specific artist, use the search engine at the base of the Artists' index page.

MUSEUMS & GALLERIES

Amon Carter Museum
Founded in 1961 to house Amon G. Carter, Sr.'s collections of Frederic Remington and Charles M. Russell, the museum has grown to over 250,000 objects of American art from the 19th and early 20th centuries.

Archives of American Art
Founded in 1954, the Archives have been part of the Smithsonian since 1970. 13 million documents about American visual arts from the 18th century on are here, including the Inventory of American Paintings and Sculpture.

American Museum of Photography
Taken from the collections of photo-historian William B. Becker, covers work from 1939 to 1970's. Offers outstanding examples of photography in an artistic layout.

Frick Collection and Frick Art Reference Library
Probably everyone's favorite small museum in New York, housing choice European paintings from the 14th through 19th centuries, sculptures, and decorative arts. About half of the works are accompanied by illustrations, Discovery-type information, and a short artist biography. The illustrations can be viewed either in small scale or clicked to a larger size.

The Getty
Includes an architectural tour of the art museum; 200 video clips related to artists, conservation, special exhibits, and artworks; a library Discovery of 800,000 entries; and Explore Art, consisting of 3,300 images, 1,500 artist biographies, and 1,500 definitions.

Los Angeles County Museum of Art
Premier visual arts museum in the western United States, owning more than 150,000 works of art. Site includes information on the permanent collections, exhibitions, films, and music.

The Louvre
The Louvre's web site is well-organized and comprehensive. It is divided into three major sections: Palace & Museum, Activities, and Information. The Collections section is divided into seven subcategories: Oriental Antiquities & Islamic Art; Egyptian Antiquities; Greek, Estruscan, & Roman Antiquities; Sculpture; Objects d'Art; Paintings & Graphic Arts. Each subcategory provides photographs and information on selected Major Works. Home of the Mona Lisa, of course.

McNay Art Museum
Features the museum at San Antonio, Texas, with links to the House, Collection, Exhibitions, Events, Membership, and the Library. Unfortunately, no list of individual artwork.

Metropolitan Museum of Art
A virtual introduction to the largest art museum in the US. The most engaging aspect is "My Met Gallery," a unique feature allowing the user to design a personal gallery by building a set of links to favorite entries. Each work of art is presented in an expandable thumbnail view, accompanied by basic information on the object, its provenance, and related links.

MoMA (Museum of Modern Art)
A valuable resource for introductory research, providing numerous glimpses of recent exhibitions and multiple links to other sites. Especially useful is the section profiling modern artists.

National Gallery of Art--The Collection
Provides a phenomenal tour of the National Gallery, including full screen images, information about artists, and critical writing about works of art. Cited as one of the best sites on the Internet.

National Museum of American Art
Usual museum information; search results can be displayed as thumbnails, which can be expanded to a small review image with accompanying identification. Also provides access to Smithsonian databases. This site also offers Helios.

National Portrait Gallery
Those exploring London's Gallery via the Web can search the online database of 11,000 works, including paintings, sculptures, drawings, engravings, and photographs, by "sitter" or person pictured, by an artist or by title. Advanced searches are available by profession, time period, and some limits. Directions are given for obtaining clearance for using images for one's own Web site. A useful site to visualize historic characters in British history, as well as some interesting caricatures.

San Antonio Museum of Art
From the museum located in San Antonio, Texas, lists News, Exhibits, and Calendar.

State Hermitage Museum, St. Petersburg, Russia
The Hermitage remains the premier art collection of Russia. Their site may be visited in Russian or English through Quick Search, which offers a Glossary and the following headings: Antique Art, Western European Art, The Arsenal, Oriental Art, Russian Culture, Numismatics, the Golden Rooms, the Palace of Peter I, and the Menshikov Palace. Select color images are available under each heading, together with the equivalent of a museum label.

Tate Gallery
The Tate is the national collection of British art since 1500, and of international modern art. Illustrates over 8,000 works of art, with good quality images.

WebMuseum
A virtual museum of several hundred images with excellent reproductions of works from the Louvre. Its developer is an art enthusiast, Nicolas Pioch, not the Louvre.

Witte Museum
Features the Witte Museum, at San Antonio, Texas, with Events, Exhibits, History. Although this museum features mainly history and science exhibits, artwork is often involved in the exhibits.

 

ARCHITECTURE

Ancient City of Athens
Photographic archive of archaeological and architectural sites.

Architectural & Interior Design for 20th Century America, 1935-1955
Archives over 29,000 images of architectural photographs by Samuel Gottscho and William Schleisner, from the Library of Congress's American Memory project.

Architectural Web Sites
New South Wales Faculty of the Built Environment presents images by architecture and interior architecture students.

Art Deco Architecture: NYC

Art Nouveau World Wide
Created by Frank Derville, this site includes a photo-gallery, map of locations, and a history of architects involved in this movement. Doors and furniture of this period are also included.

Asian Historical Architecture
"...a photographic survey of Asia's architectural heritage. Here you can view over 6350 photos of 451 sites in seventeen countries, with background information and 'virtual tours'."

Byzantine Architectural Project
Includes topography of Constantinople and a structural analysis of Hagia Sophia.

Digital archive of American architecture
Web site created and maintained by Jeffery Howe focuses on American architecture of the 17th-20th centuries. The web archive contains (presently) nearly 1,400 digitzed images with explanatory material.

Frank Lloyd Wright
Spun off from the documentary film, Wright's life and architecture are organized around 10 important projects. Includes generous quotes from Wright's Autobiography, as well as period newspapers and periodicals. A clever component is the locator which supplies an illustrated list by zip code, complete with road maps, of nearby Wright buildings open to the public.

Great Buildings Collection
1200 structures around the world, including photographs, architectural information, and live 3-D walk throughs and modes. Copyrighted 3-D models are available for downloading for educational purposes, as long as the source is cited.

International Archive of Women in Architecture (IAWA)
Concentrates on women in architecture in the pre-1950s eras.

Islamic Architecture

Resource for Urban Design Information
This web site is funded by the University of Hertfordshire and Oxford Brookes University. It provides information and links for teaching, research, and professional activities in urban design and related disciplines, bringing together materials from professionals, faculty, and students. It claims linkage to about 2,200 web pages, including 6,000 images, utilizing full-text searching using subject, keyword, or place-name options. The site's strongest suit is its European, especially British, content.

Skyscrapers.com
Subtitled The World's Database on Buildings, this site claims to have the largest database on tall buildings. Contains statistics and other information, plus photos of buildings, including some since destroyed. Downloading of up to 20 photos for educational use with proper credit provided for the photographer and the site.

 

FASHION HISTORY

All About Jewels
illustrated dictionary of jewelry from EnchantedLearning.com (Firm)

Baroque Costumes
Contains historical background from the 17th-18th centuries, including military uniforms, etiquette and manners, and detailed engravings and paintings of costumes and hairstyles, fabric, lace, and embroidery.

Costume Gallery
Costume Society of America presents exhibits, an Online Costume Library, and La Couti`ere Parisienne, with more than 500 images of fashion from 1400-1928, and the Handbook of German Dress, with color plates from 1200 to 1800.

The Costumer's Manifesto
Tara Maginnis presents a collection of Web sites related to the clothing, fashion, and textiles of ancient and modern eras.

Costume Site
Lauren Podolak, an amateur costumer, provides access to costume, ethnic and theatrical images, and is especially strong in its access to ethnic costume.

Elizabethan Costuming Page
Drea Leed presents information on clothing worn in Europe during the 16th and 17th centuries. The categories of the collection include underpinnings, portraits and pictures, costume patterns, colors and fabrics, hats and headware, dress accessories, and more.

History of Costume
C. Otis Sweezey reproduces 500 plates from the History of Costume,printed in Munich from 1871 to 1880.

History of Fashion, Food, Games and Entertainment
The Web directory contains a collection of Internet resources on the history of fashion, food, games, and entertainment. The directory offers access to histories, glossaries, Discoverys, timelines, recipes, biographies, and more.

Regency Fashion Page
Cathy Decker's fabulous Regency site includes fashion plates, styles from 1790-1822 and 1827-1829, portraits, outer wear, men's fashions, Princess Charlotte's Wedding of 1816, and many details on specific types of dresses and hats. 

COMICS AND CARTOONS

Comic Art & Graffix Gallery Virtual Museum & Encyclopedia
Created and maintained by Graffix Multimedia. It includes DCML: Disney Comics History, 1930-1984.

Don Markstein's Toonopedia
Vast electronic encyclopedia with connecting links to hundreds of cartoons from the past century of cartooning.

UComics.com
Massive collection of cartoon strips, including Adam, Citizen Dog, Garfield, and Mister Boffo.

Comics.com
Another massive collection of cartoon strips, including Peanuts, Dilbert, and Over the Hedge.

Subject Guide

Celita Ávila's picture
Celita Ávila
Contact:
San Antonio College Library
1819 N. Main Ave
San Antonio, TX 78212
avilacelita@gmail.com
210-486-0563
Website / Blog Page
San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212
Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5
Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email
Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer

Copyright © 2015 San Antonio College