Skip to main content

Art Appreciation 1301 - Fleisher, Emily: Home

Altarpieces

From the ARTstor database

Creator Painter: Master of Arguis, Spanish, active ca. 1450
Title Exterior of an Altarpiece with Saints Lawrence and Leonard
Work Type altarpieces; paintings
Period Late Medieval
Date ca. 1450
Location Place of Origin: Spain
Material oil, gold leaf, and wax on wood
Measurements framed: 52 1/2 x 81 x 10 1/2 in. (133.4 x 205.7 x
Style Gothic
Description Altarpieces with hinged wings were closed except on major feast days, so that ordinarily only the exterior panels of the wings were visible. They were often less sumptuous than the interior, though no less intriguing. Here, everyday details and fantasy are intimately linked. T he vigorously painted figures of Saints Lawrence (holding the grill on which he was burned alive) and Leonard stand in front of a brocade cloth hung from simple hooks in a low-ceilinged room.
 

Henry Walters, Baltimore, after 1929, by purchase; Walters Art Museum, 1931, by bequest.

http://thewalters.org
Collection The Walters Art Museum

Welcome!

Hey! This LibGuide will help you through the process of research. Feel free to contact me if you need help at any time.

1. Define Topic: What do you know? Verify with Background Info.

2. Devise Strategy: What do you want to find out? List keywords.

3. Search Sources: Look at Books, Articles, web sites, etc.

 

EVALUATE what you're doing: Change your keywords/database; Are you finding appropriate items?

SAC Library, Moody Learning Center, 2nd-5th floors

Moody Learning Center, 4th floor

 

2nd floor (North) - Reference collection, Reference desk, LIBRARIANS, Internet computers, Group Study Rooms

2nd floor (South) - Library Instruction classrooms

3rd floor - Circulating collection (check out books & media), Circulation desk, Group Study Rooms

4th floor - Library McAllister Collection & Performance Area, Group Study Rooms, Quiet Study Area, Reserve collection, Reserve desk, Interlibrary Loan, GET CHANGE & PAY FINES $$

5th floor - Library Faculty & Staff Offices, Acquisitions, Cataloging

Subject Guide

Celita Ávila
Contact:
San Antonio College Library
1819 N. Main Ave
San Antonio, TX 78212
avilacelita@gmail.com
210-486-0563
Website / Blog Page

Library Hours & Phone

Library Hours

Please see Today's Hours.


Phone

Circulation (3rd): 210-486-0570

Reserves (2nd): 210-486-0582
Interlibrary Loan (2nd): 210-486-0572
Reference (2nd): 210-486-0554
Reference (SMS text): 210-714-1649
Service Counter (4th): 210-486-1081

Main Library: 210-486-0559
Library Directory

San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212
Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5
Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email
Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer

Copyright © 2015 San Antonio College