Write & Cite: Writing Resources: Citing

• APA Formatting and Style Guide
  This Purdue University OWL guide covers the various types of materials, PowerPoint presentations, statistics, tables, and includes a sample APA paper.
• APA Style Guide - 6th Edition
  This University of Southern Mississippi guide illustrates the proper American Psychological Association style for citing WWW and print sources.
• Basics of APA Style Tutorial
  The American Psychological Association has compiled an online style guide tutorial that walks the user through the basics of APA formatting.

• ASA Format
  The California State University Library has prepared student handout that shows examples of the various types of ASA style citations.
• ASA Style for References
  The Rio Hondo College Library has put together a simple 5 page guide to the various forms of ASA citations.

• Council of Science Editors (CSE) Style Guide
  This Ohio State University Libraries resource is based on the Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors.
• Council of Science Editors (CSE) Style
  Monroe Community College has quick summary of CSE formatting that includes a sample CSE paper.

• Chicago Manual of Style Citation Guide
  Ohio State University Libraries resource has compiled another guide that features various examples of the Chicago style of formatting.
• Chicago Style Citation Guide
  Seattle Central Community College has created an easy to use resource for citing various types of sources.
• Chicago-Style Citation Guide Quick Guide
  The University of Chicago compiled a quick reference to the 15th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style.

• How to Format Parenthetical References
  The Williams College Libraries has compiled a series of format examples for the different types of "in-text" or parenthetical citations.
• MLA Formatting & Style Guide
  This Purdue University OWL guide has been updated to feature the latest changes in MLA formatting.
• MLA Style Guide
  This University of Southern Mississippi web site includes the most recently updated MLA-style citation format for print and Internet sources.
• What's New in MLA Style? Purdue: Online Writing Lab has produced a user friendly summary of the latest changes in MLA 8th edition style.

• Citing Medicine: the NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, & Publishers
  The National Library of Medicine has released a chapter-by-chapter pdf file that illustrates their preferred citation styles.
• NLM Citation Quick Guide Washington State University has devised a "clickable" guide that illustrates the basics of NLM formatting.

Comprehensive / General Style Guides

• Brief Guide to Citing Government Publications
  Released by the Regional Depository Library at the University of Memphis, this source contains samples of Chicago / Turabian citation styles for the various types of U. S. government publications.
• Research & Documentation Online
  Diana Hacker & Barbara Fister's web source shows documentation styles for writing in the humanities, social sciences, history, and sciences. It includes sample papers written in the MLA, APA, Chicago, and CBE writing styles.

San Antonio College Library Subscription Databases

• Congressional Quarterly
  • CQ Almanac
  • CQ Researcher
• EBSCO databases Most EBSCO databases include citations for the specific sources.
• Galenet databases Most Galenet databases include citations for the specific sources.