These web sources explain "how-to" write specific types of academic papers and reports.
- Annotated Bibliography
As part of the Writer's Handbook, this page provides information on the content, writing style, and different types of annotations used to compile an annotated bibliography.
- Argument
This web site explores the key essential elements of argumentation, including making a claim, evidence, counterargument, and critical reading.
- Biography Maker
This Bellingham Schools web site guides students through a logical approach to writing biographical papers.
- Cause and Effect
Part of the Online Research and Learning Center sponsored by the Gale Group, this web guide outlines the basics of writing cause and effect paper with examples of possible topic areas.
- Compare and Contrast Essays
Anne Garrett has compiled a quick and easy guide to writing effective comparison / contrast essays.
- Comparison / Contrast Essays
As part of the LEO: Literacy Education Online database, this site provides a basic overview of how to write effective comparison / contrast essays.
- Critical Reviews
This Writer's Handbook page focuses on how to write a critical review of a book or article.
- Curriculum Vitae (CVs) Versus Resume
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill attempts to answer the question about the key differences between CVs and resumes.
- The Definition Essay
This LEO web site provides a simple, quick, easy to follow guide to writing a "definition" essay.
- Description
This Gale Group source provides a complete overview of how to write a descriptive paper.
- Developing a Thesis Statement
Another Writer's Handbook excerpt, this site has simply written, easily understandable instructions on constructing an effective thesis statement.
- Developing an Introduction: The Top-Down Model
This LEO source illustrates a model for composing effective introductory statements.
- Developing an Outline
This OWL guide focuses on constructing and using an outline in the term paper process.
- Division and Classification
After explaining what division and classification essays are, this Gale Group resource provides information on how to write each type and includes suggested topic areas.
- The Expository Essay
This OWL guide explores the mechanics of expository writing in a clear, easy-to understand manner.
- Guide to Writing a Basic Essay
This self-help source describes the fundamental parts of an essay and explains how to write each section.
- Guidelines on Preparing a Philosophy Paper
Associate Professor James Pryor of Princeton University has developed a comprehensive, easy to use resource for writing philosophy research papers.
- Laboratory Reports
The University of Toronto's Engineering Communication Centre has compiled a detailed guide on how to prepare effective laboratory reports.
- Narration
This Gale Group resource focuses on different types of narratives, explores the use of flashbacks, flash forwards, and dialogue, and includes a useful "narration checklist."
- Oral History
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill has developed a handout that illustrates how to prepare, conduct, and use oral history interviews.
- Paragraphs and Topic Sentences
This Writing Tutorial Services resource discusses paragraph structure, providing information on developing coherence with examples of useful transitional devices.
- Personal Statements and Application Letters
Part of the WTS pamphlet series, this resource explains the basics of writing personal statements to accompany letters of application for jobs, internships, etc.
- Plagiarism - What It is and How to Recognize and Avoid It
This WTS web page focuses on what plagiarism is and how to avoid it in writing a research paper.
- Poetry Explications
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's Writing Center highlights the essential elements used to analyze poetry and describes the explication process.
- Primary or Secondary Source?
This Minnesota West Libraries guide includes an excellent description of both primary and secondary sources, focusing on their key differences.
- Proofreading for Common Surface Errors...
This WTS guide explains how to proofread a research paper with detailed discussions of grammar, punctuation, spelling, etc.
- A Questioning Toolkit
This excerpt from the online journal, From Now On, discusses the various types of questions that can be asked during the writing process and includes various examples of these questions.
- Quoting and Paraphrasing Sources
This Writer's Handbook source includes an overview of the proper methods for quoting and paraphrasing sources in a research project.
- Reading, Writing, and Researching for History
The Bowdoin College History Department has prepared a comprehensive guide specifically geared to the writing process as it applies to historical research.
- Scientific Reports
This Writer's Handbook web site presents a detailed description of how to research, format, and compose a scientific report, including useful "tips" on what to avoid in these reports. See also the Sample Lab Report Assignment.
- Sentence Structure
This OWL section reviews the basics of sentence construction, noting types of clauses, common errors, and punctuation.
- Speeches
Compiled by the UNC Writing Center, this guide presents an excellent overview of planning, researching, drafting, and delivering an effective oral presentation.
- Strategies for Writing a Conclusion
Another LEO extract, this web page reviews the basic approaches to composing an effective concluding section.
- Taking an Essay Exam
This Writing Center resource focuses on successful techniques for preparing, analyzing, and completing essay exams.
- Ten Prewriting Exercises for Personal Narratives
Traci Gardner has devised a quick overview of the key elements to be included in writing a personal story or narrative.
- Tutorial on the Problem Solving Process
This resource features a step-by-step guide on how to organize and conduct a problem solving project.
- Writing A Process Essay
Part of the LEO database, this source demonstrates the basic steps in writing a "process" paper.
- This "How to..."series from the Texas & M University Writing Center provides basic checklists for various writing projects.
- Writing Abstracts
This LEO web site explains what an abstract is and shows how to write a basic abstract.
- Writing An Analytical Essay
Dr. Mark Setzler of High Point University provides a quick overview of developing the thesis statement and topic sentences for an analytical essay.
- Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
Using various sample documents, this Penn State University web page teaches students how to compose lab reports, presentation slides, posters, correspondence, etc.
- Writing Papers of Literary Analysis
Western Michigan University's Seamus Cooney provides an easy to follow "game plan" for critical writing on literary topics.
- Writing the Analytical Essay
This PowerPoint document helps define an analytical essay and provides a quick overview of its key components.
- Writing with Statistics
Aimed at student researchers, this OWL site includes basic definitions, examples of charts / tables, and other general hints on the effective use of statistics.
