Skip to main content

Web Wanderings [ARCHIVED]: Sites A - D

**THIS GUIDE IS NOT BEING UPDATED** This is a listing of interesting World Wide Web resources that originally appeared in the SAC Library's newsletter, Library Soup.

25 GREAT HOLIDAY IDEAS - DEADCELLZONES.COM

25 Great Holiday Ideas
HGTV's web site focuses on winter holiday entertaining with information on home decorating, arts and crafts "how to" instructions, and other ideas on celebrating Christmas, Hanukkah, and Kwanzaa.

America Rebuilds: A Year At Ground Zero
Designed as a supplement to a 2002 PBS program, America Rebuilds focuses on the continuing efforts to reclaim the WTC site. It includes a detailed analysis of the engineering efforts, profiles of key individuals interviewed for the program, photographs of various artifacts recovered from the site, video clips, and discussions on future plans for the site itself.

American Memory: Baseball Cards 1887 - 1914
Accessing a Library of Congress treasure trove for the true baseball historian, this site contains some 2,100 baseball cards and provides color images of the individual cards.

Barbie History
Barbie does not look a day over 19! Using a series of video clips, this web site chronicles the history and development of the Barbie doll. Interviews with Ruth Handler, its creator, trace the three-year journey from the initial concept drawings through Barbiefs 1959 introduction. Along the way, the user meets Skipper, Barbie's little sister, Midge, her best friend, and Ken, Barbie's boyfriend. Other features include a commercial for Barbiefs Dream House, the Barbie Drive-in, and various Barbie homes and automobiles. For the true Barbie aficionados, there is a Barbie Trivia link that tests your true Barbie I.Q.

Best Medical Help Online
This WebLinks feature of Parade Magazine links to various resources that are most frequently used by doctors. In addition, it has a "When Your Insurance Won't Pay" resource for advice in dealing with reluctant insurance companies and includes a template for appeal letters and various forms for medical history, medication lists, and information releases.

BibBuilder1.3
Did you ever have problems with the proper MLA format for a bibliography? Dennis G. Jerz of Seton Hill University has the answer! He created BibBuilder1.3, a "fill-in-the-blank" web site that produces MLA formatted citations for books, journals, and WWW sources.

Card Games
The British spend hours playing the game, "Patience." We, Americans, re-shuffle the deck and refer to it as "Solitaire." Card Games provides you with the official rules for this and hundreds of other popular card games.

Caring for Christmas Plants
This resource has information for maintaining the most popular plants of the season including the indoor azalea, the Christmas cactus, cyclamen, and the poinsettia.

Chocolate Search Engine
Are you a confirmed "chocaholic?" Personally, I have a well known aversion to that evil, dark colored treat. But for the countless legions of choco-freaks out there, Chocolocate is the heaven-sent answer to their nightly prayers.

Choose to Save
Sponsored by the American Savings Education Council and the Employee Benefits Research Institute, this resource provides information sheets, savings tools, and budget calculators for various age groups including youth and young adults, 20 - 39 year olds, 40 - 59 year olds, and adults aged 60 and over.

Christmas-Cookies.com
This resource lists over 300 different recipes for Christmas cookies and is searchable by country of origin and type of cookie.

Christmas Craft Ideas
Familyfun.go has compiled a series family project activities for designing Christmas cards, stockings, crafts, and so much more.

Christmas in Mexico
This resource explores various Mexican Christmas traditions such as the posadas processions, Pastorelas, Noche Buena (Christmas Eve), Los Reyes Magos (The Three Kings), etc.

The Cook's Thesaurus
Did you know that "pressed tofu" absorbs marinade sauces better than firm tofu does? Until I discovered The Cook's Thesaurus, I knew very little about tofu. This web-based cooking encyclopedia contains information on "thousands of ingredients and kitchen tools." It also has excellent photographs, brief definitions, pronunciations, and other useful culinary information.

Cornyation
True to its motto as "the raunchiest, cheapest event of Fiesta," Cornyation is a fun-filled "roast" of many of San Antonio's politicos and other prominent citizens that has quickly become one of the most popular events

Cowboy Photographer: Erwin Smith
The Amon Carter Museum explores the world of the Western cowboy through an extensive exhibit of one of America's premier photographers. The black and white photographs taken between 1905 and 1912 at various ranches in Arizona, New Mexico, and Texas, highlight the cowhand's clothing and equipment, Wild West Shows, rodeos, trail rides, etc. and portray the American cowboy in his actual work environment.

Crazyfads.com
Do you remember using a "mood ring" to check how you were feeling? Or have you ever copied a newspaper cartoon with "silly putty?" If these things "don't ring a bell," then perhaps you should surf over to Crazyfads.com.   It gives you a sampling of American fads from the 1920's to the 2000's.

Desde la Cocina (From the Kitchen)
May Herz provides recipes for traditional Mexican favorites such as Ponche Navideno (punch), Chocolate Caliente, bunuelos, tamales, etc.

dMarie Time Capsule
If you were born between 1800 and 2001, you can find major news headlines, cost of various products, hit songs, top television shows, academy award winners, best-selling books, etc. for your birth date.

DeadCellZones.com
Have you ever traveled and found that your cell phone is not working? You have probably entered a "dead cell zone" where your cell phone carrier does not have a reliable transmission tower. Searchable by zip code, DeadCellZones.com pinpoints these areas of dropped calls for AT& T, Sprint, T]Mobile, and Verizon.

San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212
Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5
Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email
Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer

Copyright © 2015 San Antonio College