Skip to main content

Web Wanderings [ARCHIVED]: Sites E - I

**THIS GUIDE IS NOT BEING UPDATED** This is a listing of interesting World Wide Web resources that originally appeared in the SAC Library's newsletter, Library Soup.

E-DEMOCRACY - INTERNET EVOLUTION

e-Democracy
With a goal of increasing "citizen participation in elections and public discourse through the use of information and communication technologies," e-Democracy includes general information for voters, links to discussion groups, and various media sources for news on elections.

Embryonic and Fetal Research Laws
The National Conference of State Legislatures has compiled a detailed listing of the current status of state laws pertaining to embryonic and fetal research. Presented in chart format, it provides a state-by-state checklist of major legal provisions and includes hyperlinks to the exact text of the law or statute.

Facts for Features: Thanksgiving Day, November 25, 2010
Did you know that American farmers produced an estimated 735 million pounds of cranberries in 2010? The U. S. Census Bureau has compiled some interesting facts and statistics on the American celebration of Thanksgiving.

Feeding America
Formerly known as America's Second Harvest, Feeding America's mission is "to feed America's hungry through a nationwide network of member food banks and engage our country in the fight to end hunger."   It serves all 50 states and has distributed some 2 billion pounds of donated food through a network of 200 member food banks. In addition to serving as a clearinghouse for donations and volunteerism, Feeding America includes a "Food Bank Locator" search engine that can be searched by state or zip code.

Fiesta San Antonio
As the official website of The Fiesta San Antonio Commission, it includes information on scheduled events, a printable master schedule, ticket sales, travel tips, etc. on this 9-day city-wide celebration.

Fiesta Arts Fair
Named as the "Best Arts Fair in San Antonio" by SA Current Magazine, this two-day family oriented event has the works of top artists, a children's Art Garden, live music, and a variety of foods.

Fiesta Flambeau Parade
Often called America's largest illuminated night parade, the Fiesta Flambeau Parade boasts fifty floats, forty marching bands, horseback mounted groups, Fiesta Royalty, clowns, and so much more.

Fifties Web
Do remember the tag line: "Hey kids, what time is it?" Or perhaps you laughed with your parents at the antics of Milton Berle, Jack Benny, Imogene Coca, and Sid Caesar. Do shows like "Death Valley Days" and "Sky King" ring a vague bell? If so, you are probably a child of the 50s who will enjoy the memories searched through the Fifties Web.

Fitness for Less: 4 Low-cost Ways to Shape Up
Compiled by the Mayo Clinic staff, this source provides an easy to use primer to help individuals get and stay healthy. Sections include: fitness basics, stretching and flexibility, aerobic exercise, strength training, and sports training. In addition to shopping pointers for the budget conscious, It details how you can adapt ordinary household items to use as low cost exercise equipment.

Food Bank Thanksgiving
Dave Lieberman of the FoodNetwork.com shows how to prepare an inexpensive Thanksgiving dinner for home entertaining of a group of guests numbering from five to fifty.

Forvo www.forvo.com
"All the words in the world. Pronounced." This logo tag is an apt description of this database. It currently has over 562,000 words with over 486,000 pronunciations in some 240 languages. The home page features the “language of the day” with a quick listing of words. Here is Forvo’s quick word of caution: “We mean that almost every word is allowed, including bad words. We think that it´s not the word what´s wrong but the way of saying or context that makes a word removable. "

Free Online Typing Course
Although registration is required for access, this remains a free easy to use, step-by-step tutorial for learning touch typing. It includes programmed exercises with graded score sheets, and has a Spanish language companion version Curso de Mecanografia Gratis por Internet.

FreeTranslation.com
Do you need a quick translation of a English phrases / sentences into French, German, Italian, Portuguese, or Spanish and vice versa? FreeTranslation.com provides literal translations that can easily be applied to daily conversation.

Fun House: Thanksgiving
The U. S. Patent & Trademark Office has designed a fun page for children that has sketches of turkey-related inventions, reproductions of various Thanksgiving trademarks, and much, much more.

Gingerbread House Heaven
This holiday-inspired web site includes templates for various houses, decorating tips, confectionery recipes, and all you need to construct your own gingerbread house.

GreenHomeGuide
The U.S. Green Building Council has pulled together varied resources that can be used to build a "green home" or create "green friendly"remodeling projects. From installing new counter tops to refinishing wood flooring, the resource identifies manufacturers and products that will help you "green-up" your home. It also focuses on how to ensure that your baby's nursery is both healthy and safe. The do-it-yourselfer can find sections on: bathrooms, bedrooms, energy efficiency, flooring, furniture, kitchens, landscaping, paintings and coatings, and stone and tile.

Having Surgery?   What You Need to Know
For the millions of Americans who undergo elective surgery each year, this Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality resource identifies key questions for which patients should receive answers before a planned surgical procedure is performed.

Holiday Crafts
The Do It Yourself Network has compiled easy to follow instructions for handmade crafts that add a special personal touch to holiday gift giving.

Holiday Traditions
Chicago's Museum of Science & Industry profiles common holiday traditions from some 50 countries throughout the world.

Holiday Watch
The International Council of Shopping Centers provides "what's hot" listings of gifts, retail business forecasts, trends for "traditional" holiday spending, and fun facts about the Christmas season.

Holidays & Special Days Center
EducationWorld has collected lesson plans and activities for celebrating the various holidays throughout the year

eHow.com:   How To Do Just About Everything
Have you ever wondered how those paper mache pinatas are made? Or do you need tips on how to dig a flower bed ? Or maybe your child needs pointers on how to control a soccer ball when kicking it. eHow.com will give you these answers and hundreds of other "do-it-yourself" tips.

Internet Archive
Founded in 1996, this non-profit resource was designed to provide "permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.” It includes 265,000 moving images, 77,000 concerts, 523,000 sound recordings, 2,276,000 book texts, and 150 billion archived web pages.

Internet Evolution: Future of the Internet III
The Pew Internet & American Life Project has released its survey findings on the future impact of the Internet in the year 2020. This third installment queried some 578 leading Internet activists and 618 stakeholders to determine their vision of Internet's overall effect on American life. According to the study, the respondents indicate that "they expect major tech advances as the phone becomes a primary device for online access, voice-recognition improves, and the structure of the Internet itself improves. They disagree about whether this will lead to more social tolerance, more forgiving human relations, or better home lives."

San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212
Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5
Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email
Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer

Copyright © 2015 San Antonio College