Skip to main content

Web Wanderings [ARCHIVED]: Sites Q - Z

**THIS GUIDE IS NOT BEING UPDATED** This is a listing of interesting World Wide Web resources that originally appeared in the SAC Library's newsletter, Library Soup.

RATING AMERICA'S NURSING HOMES - WHATAPP?

Rating America's Nursing Homes
This special report of the Gannett News Service provides ratings for some 16,000 nursing homes across the United States. The database is searchable by state, county, and city. With an inspections history from 1999 to 2003, Rating America's Nursing Homes provides quality care ratings from the most current inspection, and summarizes deficiencies found in earlier years.

Recognized Clinician Directory
As part of its mission to "improve the quality of health care delivered to people everywhere," the National Committee For Quality Assurance has created a database that "recognizes physicians and physician practices who meet standards of care established by each program." Searchable by state, city, practice and physician name, the directory is intended to assist patients in locating physicians "who have demonstrated that they meet important standards of care."

Rudolph, the Red-Nosed Reindeer
Snopes.com investigates this holiday classic and exposes its true origins as a Montgomery Ward Christmas promotion.

RunPee.com
This source helps solve every movie goers dilemma – When can I run to the bathroom and not miss an important part of the movie? Indexing major releases by date and title, it tells you both at what point in the movie there is a lull or unimportant scene and how long that lull lasts. Now you can take a bathroom break and not worry about missing something vital in the movie.

St. Nicholas: Discovering the Truth about Santa Claus
The St. Nicholas Center explores the true story of St. Nicholas as well as multi-cultural festivals, traditions, crafts, activities, games, etc.

Scribble Maps
Google Maps has become a great tool for finding a detailed map for a local address. With Scribble Maps, you can make that newly created map better by adding text, place markers, arrows, shapes, photographs, and drawn directions. Once you have fully customized your map, you can save it for future use or viewing.

Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome [ SARS ]
As a response to the current international SARS health alert, the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention compiled an all-in-one web resource with a disease fact sheet, frequently asked questions, travel advisories, guidelines / recommendations, and a listing of other SARS-related internet sources.

SnowCrystals.com
Did you ever wonder if the old adage that "no two snowflakes are alike" is true? Billed as an "online guide to snowflakes, snow crystals, and other ice phenomena " this CalTech page discusses what snowflakes are, snowflake physics, geometric patterns, and links to various snowflake photograph collections.

Tejano Explosion
Also billed as the CATTLEMAN'S TEJANO EXPLOSION, this event has an all-star lineup of Tejano music artists, traditional foods, local crafts, etc.

Texas Cavaliers' River Parade
Held on the lovely San Antonio River, this unique parade floats through the heart of the city with motorized barges festooned with festive lights and featuring colorful participants and lively music.

Thanksgiving Recipes from the Past
From a 1671 recipe for pumpion (pumpkin) pie to a 1941 military manual description of how to roast a turkey, the Pilgrim Hall Museum has compiled a leisurely stroll through the history of American Thanksgiving cookery.

timeanddate.com
Designed for the world traveling businessman or the mildly curious, this source provides a world clock, time zone converter, world time search box, monthly calendars, a calendar generator, and a calendar countdown function for major events.

Tips for Safe and Happy Holidays
The National Crime Prevention Council has released a quick and easy guide for preventing theft and burglaries during the holiday season.

Tips for a Stress-Free Thanksgiving
MSNBC Live presents Dr. Joyce Brothers who offers five quick and easy rules for enjoying this special time without the usual family drama.

USA TechGuide: Guide to Wheel Chairs and Assistive Technology
Funded by the United Spinal Association, this online guide focuses on "wheelchair and assistive technology choices, wheelchair views and reviews, and related information and articles." Its goal is to foster "user involvement in the selection of appropriate assistive technology." The guide accesses some 1300 web-based wheelchair related entries and over 1500 assistive technology sources.

Ultimate Thanksgiving Guide
Epicurious.com has compiled an all-in-one guide to Thanksgiving cookery and entertaining. With award]winning recipes for breads, cranberry sauce, desserts, drinks, gravy, salads, stuffing, and turkey, this is a food lover's delight. It includes "how-to" videos for the novice and tips for organizing a perfect holiday party.

Vegan Thanksgiving (Vegetarians Welcome !)
With a motto of "spare the turkeys," this source shows how you can mix and match various foods to create a meatless Thanksgiving meal.

Visions of Christmas
The American Antiquarian Society uncovers the origins of Christmas, the evolution of Santa Claus, traditions of Christmas trees, etc.

Warriorcare.mil
Established as a resource for U.S. military service members and their families, Warriorcare.mil contains links to the programs and services offered by the U.S. Air Force, U.S. Army, U.S. Marine Corps, and U.S. Navy. The introductory statement simply states: "Whether you are currently active-duty military, veteran, a family member or a concerned neighbor, the links on this site will provide answers to your questions or ideas for where to turn next." As such, the primary focal points are veterans programs and benefits, family support resources, and transitioning / returning to civilian life. In addition, it accesses the Compensation and Benefits Handbook for Seriously Ill and Injured Members of the Armed Services, as well as veterans support programs from the Department of Veterans Affairs, Department of Labor, Hire Vets First, and Vet Centers.

Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative (WHTI)
Compiled by the U.S. Customs and Border Patrol, WHTI's primary goal is "to facilitate entry for U.S. citizens and legitimate foreign visitors, while strengthening U.S. border security." With an effective date of June 1, 2009, U. S. citizens re-entering the country from trips to Canada, Mexico, or the Caribbean will need to present certain specific travel documents. This resource attempts to take the mystery out of what travel documents will be required and make travel to these

WhatApp?
Funded by the Rose Foundation, WhatApp is compiled by the Center for the Internet and Society at Stanford University. As stated on the website, the goal is: "to establish an online resource where experts and other users can assess, discuss, and rate the privacy and security of mobile and Internet-enabled applications." As part of this far-reaching goal, WhatApp attempts to review the privacy features and security of various Facebook and I phone applications.

San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212
Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5
Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email
Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer

Copyright © 2015 San Antonio College