Skip to main content

Quality Web Sites: Search Engines [ARCHIVED]: Topics A - D

**THIS GUIDE IS NOT BEING UPDATED** This is a basic guide to locating academic search engines and specific subject search engines on various topics.

ACADEMIC SEARCH ENGINES

Academic search engines can be used to locate reliable information on the Internet. The authors / editors of these search engines link to "quality" sources and actively eliminate non-academic, adult, and pornographic materials. This is a selected list of various academic search engines:


WEB   SITEURL   ADDRESS
Academic Indexwww.academicindex.net/
All Academic Inc. www.allacademic.com/
Awesome Library www.awesomelibrary.org/
BUBL LINK - Discoveryue of Selected Internet Sourcesbubl.ac.uk/
Digital Librarian www.digital-librarian.com/
Galaxy www.galaxy.com/
Google Scholar scholar.google.com/
The Gateway to 21st Century Skillswww.thegateway.org
The Infography www.infography.com/infographysearch.html
INFOMINE: Scholarly Internet Resource Collections infomine.ucr.edu/
ipl2 www.ipl2.org/
Intutewww.intute.ac.uk/
Scout Reports Archives scout.wisc.edu/Archives/
SearchEdu.com http://www.searchedu.com/
Virtual LRC.comwww.virtuallrc.com/

ACADEMY AWARDS - DWELLINGS, CONSERVATION & RESTORATION

E - G
SUBJECTWEB SITEURL ADDRESS
Academy Awards Official Academy Awards Database www.oscars.org/awardsdatabase/
Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome AEGIS - AIDS Education Global Information System www.aegis.com/
&nbsp AIDSInfo aidsinfo.nih.gov/
Acronyms Acronym Finder www.acronymfinder.com/
Acronyma www.acronyma.com/
Acupuncture Acupuncture.com www.acupuncture.com/
Addictions AddictionSearch www.addictionsearch.com/
&nbsp National Institute on Chemical Dependency www.nicd.us/
Adolescence Center for Adolescent & Family Studies site.educ.indiana.edu/Default.aspx?alias=site.educ.
indiana.edu/cafs
Advertising - History Ad*Acess: 1911-1955 library.duke.edu/digitalcollections/adaccess/browse/
Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920 library.duke.edu/digitalcollections/eaa/
Aging &nbsp see also SD Administration on Aging www.aoa.gov/
AgeSource / AgeStats Worldwide www.aarpinternational.org/database/
Senior Women Web www.seniorwomen.com/
Agriculture Agriculture Network Information Center www.agnic.org/
Agriculture - Economic Aspects AgEcon Search ageconsearch.umn.edu/
Airplanes, Military SR-71 Online www.sr-71.org/
Alchemy Alchemy Web Site www.levity.com/alchemy/find.html
Allergies AllAllergy.net www.allallergy.net/search.htm
American Academy of Allergy Asthma & Immunology www.aaaai.org/
Alternative Medicine &nbsp
see also SD
National Center for Complimentary & Alternative Medicine nccam.nih.gov/
Animals - Audiovisual Sources JungleWalk! www.junglewalk.com/
Annual Reports WSJ Annual Reports Service wsjie.ar.wilink.com/v5/index.asp?cp_code=WSJ3&
Anthropology &nbsp see also SD Aboriginal Connections www.aboriginalconnections.com/
NativeWeb www.nativeweb.org/
Antiques Curioscape www.curioscape.com/
Archaeology &nbsp see also SD ArchNet archnet.asu.edu/search/mainsearch.php
Archaeology - Media &nbsp The Archaeology Channel www.archaeologychannel.org/
Architecture &nbsp Architecture.com www.architecture.com/Home.aspx
Great Buildings Online www.greatBuildings.com/
Archives - United States &nbsp U.S. National Archives & Records Administration www.archives.gov/index.html/td>
Art Artcyclopedia www.artcyclopedia.com/
ArtQuest www.artquest.com/ArtQuest/search.htm
dArt - The Internet Art Database dart.fine-art.com/
World Wide Art Resources wwar.com
Art - American Archives of American Art www.aaa.si.edu/
&nbsp AskART.com www.askart.com/AskART/index.aspx
Art - Children's PaPa iNk! www.papaink.org/#searchform
Art - Dictionaries ArtLex Art Dictionary www.artlex.com/
Art - Greek Greek Art www.askart.com/AskART/index.aspx
Art Galleries ArtAtlas www.artatlas.com/
Art Museums Los Angeles County Museum of Art - Collections Online www.lacma.org/collection/index.html
Art - Periodicals Artdaily.org www.artdaily.com/index.asp
Art - Terminology Art & Architecture Thesaurus Online www.getty.edu/research/tools/vocabularies/aat/index.html
Artificial Intelligence AI Topics http://www.aaai.org/AITopics/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/AITopics/HomePage
Arts & Crafts &nbsp see also SD AllCrafts.net allcrafts.net/index.htm
&nbsp Family Crafts familycrafts.about.com/
Asian Studies &nbsp see also &nbsp SD Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library Search Engine www.ciolek.com/SearchEngines.html#asiasearc Associations Associations www.ipl.org/IPLBrowse/GetSubject?vid=13&cid=7 Astronomy &nbsp see also &nbsp SD Astronomical Image Library www.astronomy.ca/images/ Astronomy Center.org www.astronomycenter.org/ astronomyLINKS astronomylinks.com/index.htm AstronomyOnline.org astronomyonline.org/Search.asp?Cate=Search SkyandTelescope.com www.skyandtelescope.com/ Space Telescope Science Institute www.stsci.edu/resources/ Atmospheric Chemistry Atmospheric Optics www.atoptics.co.uk/resource/indx.htm Aviation Aeroseek www.aeroseek.com/ &nbsp Avhome.com www.avhome.com/search/ Ballet CyberDance www.cyberdance.org/BallooningBlastvalvewww.blastvalve.com/ Bankruptcy American Bankruptcy Institutewww.abiworld.org/AM/Template.cfm?Section=SearchBartending American Bartenders Schoolwww.barschool.com/drink-recipesBaseballThe Baseball Index www.baseballindex.org/&nbspBaseball-Reference.com www.base-reference.com/Bee CultureBeeHoo www.beehoo.comBehavioral SciencesBeeHoo www.beehoo.comBiographies &nbsp see also &nbsp SDBiography.comwww.biography.comBiography Centerwww.biography-center.com/Biographical Dictionarywww.s9.com/Busca Biografias - Spanish language biographiesbuscabiografias.comThe HistoryMakerswww.thehistorymakers.com/Infoplease Biographywww.infoplease.com/people.htmlBiodiversityEncyclopedia of Lifewww.eol.org/indexBiology &nbsp see also &nbsp SDAccess Excellencewww.accessexcellence.org/ Biocrawler.comwww.biocrawler.com/ Biology Browserwww.biologybrowser.org/Biology Referencewww.biologyreference.com/Intute: Biological Scienceswww.intute.ac.uk/biologicalsciences/Birding Fat Birderwww.fatbirder.com/Birds &nbsp see also &nbsp SDAll About Birdswww.birds.cornell.edu/netcommunity/Page.aspx?pid=1478Birds - Pictorial WorksAudubon's Birds of America at the University of Pittsburghdigital.library.pitt.edu/a/audubon/Board GamesBoard Game Centralboardgamecentral.com/search.htmlBowlingBowlingzone.comwww.bowlingzone.com/Brain InjuryBrainandspinalcord.orgwww.brainandspinalcord.org/Breast Cancer &nbsp see also &nbsp SDBreast Cancer Carewww.breastcancercare.org.uk/Breast Cancer www.oncologystat.com/cancer-types/breast-cancer.htmlSusan G. Komen for the Cure ww5.komen.org/Building IndustryBuilding Onlinewww.buildingonline.com/blsearch.shtmlBuildingsGreat Buildings Onlinewww.greatBuildings.com/Business &nbsp see also &nbsp SDBEOnline http://www.loc.gov/rr/business/beonline/index.html&nbspBPubs.com www.bpubs.comBusiness.com www.business.comCEOExpresswww.ceoexpress.com/default.aspEntrepreneur.com www.entrepreneur.comInc.comwww.inc.com/Calendars - HistoryCalendars from the Skywww.webexhibits.org/calendars/Campaign FundsCQ.com - MoneyOnlinemoneyline.cq.com/pml/home.do Federal Election Commissionherndon1.sdrdc.com/fecimg/index.htmlFollow the Moneywww.followthemoney.org/Camps, SummerAmerican Camping Assn.find.acacamps.org/finding_a_camp.cgi Camp Channel: Camp Search www.campchannel.com/campers/search/ Cancer &nbsp see also &nbsp SD Cancer.gov www.cancer.gov/ Guide to Internet Resources on Cancer www.cancerindex.org/clinks1.htm OncologySTAT www.oncologystat.com/index.html Careers CareerOneStop www.careeronestop.org/ Ceramics Clayzee www.clayzee.com/ Cerebrovascular Disease American Stroke Association www.strokeassociation.org/presenter.jhtml?
identifier=1200037
Charities &nbsp Charity Navigatorwww.charitynavigator.org/ &nbsp National Center for Charitable Statistics nccs.urban.org/ Chemical Industry The Society of Chemical Industry www.soci.org/ Chemistry American Chemical Society portal.acs.org/portal/acs/corg/content ChemSpider www.chemspider.com/ Chemistry, Organic Organic Chemistry Resources Worldwide www.organicworldwide.net/ Chess Chessopolis www.chessopolis.com/ Child Welfare Child & Family News www.tufts.edu/cfn/search/ Children Ask for Kids www.askkids.com/ Fact Monster www.factmonster.com/ KidsClick! www.kidsclick.org/ For Kids - ipl2 www.ipl.org/div/kidspace/ For Teens - ipl2 www.ipl.org/div/teen/ Yahoo! Kids kids.yahoo.com/ Children Health & Hygiene American Academy of Pediatrics www.aap.org/ &nbsp KidsHealth kidshealth.org/kid/index_noflash.jsp Children's Games Games Children Play www.gameskidsplay.net/search_form.htm Choral Music ChoralNet choralnet.org/index.phtml?lang=en Christianity ChristianityToday.com ww.christianitytoday.com/ Civil Engineering iCivilEngineer www.icivilengineer.com/ Civil Rights civilrights.org civilrights.org/ Climatic Changes US Global Change Research Information Office www.gcrio.org/ Climatology RealClimate www.realclimate.org/ Clinical Trials ClinicalTrials.gov clinicaltrials.gov/ct/gui Computer Aided Design CAD Digest www.caddigest.com/ Computer Crimes Cybercrime www.cybercrime.gov Computer Science CiteSeerX citeseerx.ist.psu.edu/ Computers - History Computer History Museum www.computerhistory.org/ Conferences Conference Alerts www.conferencealerts.com/ Conservation The Green Guide www.thegreenguide.com/ &nbsp NatureServe www.natureserve.org/index.jsp Consumer Information Consumer Product Safety Commission www.cpsc.gov/search.html ConsumerWorld.org www.consumerworld.org/pages/htmsrch.htm First Contact Center www.info.gov/ Cookery Allrecipes.com allrecipes.com/ Betty Crocker.com www.bettycrocker.com/default Cooking.com www.cooking.com/Recipes-And-More/ Food Network www.foodnetworkcom/ iVillage Food: Recipes www.ivillage.com/recipes RecipeLink.com www.recipelink.com/ RecipeSource recipesource.com/ Cookery - Fat Free FATFREE Recipe Collection cgi.fatfree.com/cgi-bin/fatfree/recipes.cgi Cookery - Vegetarian Vegetarian Society www.vegsoc.org/health/index.html VegWeb vegweb.com/ Criminal Justice MegaLinks in Criminal Justice www.drtomoconnor.com/ Officer.com www.officer.com/ Crocheting Crochet Pattern Central www.crochetpatterncentral.com/ Darwinism Darwin & Darwinism human-nature.com/darwin/ Debates & Debating IDEA: International Debate Education Association www.idebate.org/index.php Diabetes - Diet Therapy DaVita.com www.davita.com/recipes/ Diabetic Recipes www.cooksrecipes.com/category/diabetic.html Dictionary OneLook Dictionaries www.onelook.com/ Disabilities &nbsp see also &nbsp SD DisabilityInfo.gov www.disability.gov/ Disaster Relief ReliefWeb www.reliefweb.int/rw/dbc.nsf/doc100?openForm Diseases Centers for Disease Control & Prevention www.cdc.gov/search.do Dogs American Kennel Club www.akc.org/ Do-It-Yourself Work eHow.com www.ehow.com/ Drug Information Drug Information Portal druginfo.nlm.nih.gov/drugportal/drugportal.jsp Drugs.com www.drugs.com/ RXList www.rxlist.com Drum Drummin' Men www.drumminmen.com/ Dwellings - Conservation & Restoration Historic HomeWorks www.historichomeworks.com/hhw/search.htm &nbsp Old House Journal www.oldhousejournal.com/ &nbsp Old House Web www.oldhouseweb.com/ &nbsp This Old House www.thisoldhouse.com/toh/
see also &nbsp SD: &nbsp Click the SD link to locate a subject directory on your desired topic.
San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212
Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5
Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email
Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer

Copyright © 2015 San Antonio College