Skip to main content

Quality Web Sites: Search Engines [ARCHIVED]: Topics P - S

**THIS GUIDE IS NOT BEING UPDATED** This is a basic guide to locating academic search engines and specific subject search engines on various topics.

PDA DOCUMENTS - SYMBOLS

                                                                          P   -   S                                             
SUBJECTWEB   SITEURL   ADDRESS
PDA DocumentsMemoWarewww.memoware.com/
ParentingChildren, Youth, & Family Consortiumwww.cycf.umn.edu/
familyeducation.com www.familyeducation.com/home/
The Labor of Lovewww.thelaboroflove.com/websearch/links/
index.shtml
Particles (Nuclear Physics)CERN Documents Servercdsweb.cern.ch/
PatentsGoogle Patent Search www.google.com/patents
 USPTO Web Patent Databaseswww.uspto.gov/patft/index.html
Petroleum IndustryAmerican Petroleum Institute api-ec.api.org/
Pets Animal Home www.animalhome.com/
PhilosophyStanford Encyclopedia of Philosophyplato.stanford.edu/contents.html
PhotographyAll Things Photoallthingsphoto.com/
Smithsonian Photography Initiativephotography.si.edu/SearchImage.aspx
Physical AnthropologyCAS Anthropology Collection Database researcharchive.calacademy.org/research/anthropology/collections/
index.asp
Physical SciencesIntute: Physical Sciences www.intute.ac.uk/physicalsciences/
PhysicsPhysLink.com www.physlink.com/
PhysicsWorld.com physicsworld.com/
PianoPiano Worldwww.pianoworld.com/
Pianopediawww.pianopedia.com/
PlantsUSDA Plants Database plants.usda.gov/index.html
PoetryAmerican Verse Projectquod.lib.umich.edu/cgi/t/text/text-idx?page=simple&c=amverse
Representative Poetry Onlinerpo.library.utoronto.ca/search/index.cfm
Political OratoryHistory & Politics Out Loudwww.hpol.org/search.html
PoliticsPolitical Information.comwww.politicalinformation.com/
PopulationPopulation Index on the Web popindex.princeton.edu/search/index.html
Population Research Bureau www.prb.org/
Population - Environmental AspectsAAAS Atlas of the Population atlas.aaas.org/index.php?sub=intro
Poverty   see also   SDInstitute for Research on Povertywww.irp.wisc.edu/search.htm
Pregnancy   see also   SDThe Labor of Lovewww.thelaboroflove.com/websearch/search.cgi
Presidents - Elections United States - HistoryThe Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials 1952-2008www.livingroomcandidate.org
Printed EphemeraAn American Time Capsule memory.loc.gov/ammem/rbpebibquery.html
Proposal Writing & ContractingSearch Engine for Proposal Writing, Government Contracting...www.proposalwriter.com/
Psychology   see also   SDAmerican Psychological Associationwww.apa.org/index.aspx
Intute: Psychologywww.intute.ac.uk/psychology/
Public Opinion PollsAmerican Attitudeswww.pipa.org/
Public SpacesProject for Public Spaceswww.pps.org/?referrer=pps_banner
QuiltingQuilting at About.comquilting.about.com/
The Quilt Indexwww.quiltindex.org/
Quotations   see also   SDBartlett's Familiar Quotationswww.bartleby.com/100/
Creative Quotationscreativequotations.com/
Hoyt's New Cyclopedia of Practical Quotationswww.bartleby.com/78/
Quotationswww.theotherpages.org/quote.html
Quotations Archivewww.aphids.com/cgi-bin/quotes.pl?act=GenerateSearchForm
Quotations Pagewww.quotationspage.com/
Quoteland.com www.quoteland.com
QuoteWorld.org www.quoteworld.org/search.php
Respectfully Quotedwww.bartleby.com/73/
Radio Broadcasting HistoryHumongous Old-Time Radio Database Search Enginewww.old-time.com/humongousdb/
Radio StationsRadio-Locator www.radio-locator.com/gci-bin/home
Radios - CollectingAntique Radio Resourceswww.antiqueradios.com/
RefugeesUnited Nations High Commissioner for Refugeeswww.unhcr.org/cgi-bin/texis/vtx/home
Religion   All Things Spiritual www.allspiritual.com
American Theological Library Association www.atla.com/web-index/query.asp
Association of Religion Data Archiveswww.thearda.com/
Virtual Religion Indexvirtualreligion.net/vri/
Religion and PoliticsPew Forum on Religion and Public Lifepewforum.org/
Rock ClimbingRockclimbing.com www.rockclimbing.com/
ScholarshipsCollegeNET.comwww.collegenet.com/mach25/app
ScienceAthenus www.athenus.com/
Dr. Matrix' Web World of Sciencedrmatrix.scientium.com/
New Scientist Web Links... www.newscientist.com/
SciCentralwww.scicentral.com/
science.govwww.science.gov/
Scirus www.scirus.com/
Science Fiction  
see also   SD
Science Fiction & Fantasy Research Databaselibraryasp.tamu.edu/cushing/sffrd/QuickSearch.asp
SF Sitewww.sfsite.com/search.htm
Science - Information Resources  Los Alamos National Laboratorywww.lanl.gov/
Scuba DivingDAN Divers Alert Networkwww.diversalertnetwork.org/
Search EnginesCompletePlanet www.completeplanet.com
Internet Search Engines www.searchengineguide.com/searchengines.html
Search Engines - Medical OmniMedicalSearch.com www.omnimedicalsearch.com/
Self-help Devices for People with DisabilitiesABLEDATAwww.abledata.com/
 Guide to Wheel Chairs and Assistive Technologywww.usatechguide.org/
ShakespeareRhymeZone: Shakespeare Search www.rhymezone.com/shakespeare/
Shakespeare Online www.shakespeare-online.com/
Shakespeare Searched shakespeare.yippy.com/
SkydivingComplete Skydiving Indexwww.enclave.com/index/pages/
Social Responsibility of Business CSRWire.com - Corporate Social Responsibility Newswire Servicewww.csrwire.com/directory/
Social Science   see also   SDIntute: Social Sciences www.intute.ac.uk/socialsciences/
Social WorkSocial Work Search www.socialworksearch.com/
World Wide Web Resources for Social Workers www.nyu.edu/socialwork/wwwrsw/
Sociology SocioSite www2.fmg.uva.nl/sociosite/
SocioWeb www.socioweb.com/
Songs - TextsA - Z Lyrics Universe www.azlyrics.com/
 Lyrics Search Enginelyrics.astraweb.com/
SoundsFindSoundswww.findsounds.com/
Space ExplorationNASA Human Space Flightspaceflight.nasa.gov/search/index.html
Planet Quest planetquest.jpl.nasa.gov/
Spanish Language Web SitesTerrawww.terra.es
Speeches - Women Authors Gifts of Speech - Women's Speeches...gos.sbc.edu
Speeches, Addresses - AmericanAmerican Rhetoricwww.americanrhetoric.com/sitesearch.htm
Spina Bifida Spina Bifida Associationwww.spinabifidaassociation.org/site/c.liKWL7PLLrF/b.2642297/
k.5F7C/Spina_Bifida_Association.htm
Spinal Cord InjuryBrainandspinalcord.orgwww.brainandspinalcord.org/
Stamp Collecting Joseph Luft's Philatelic Resources on the Web my.execpc.com/~joeluft/resource.html
Linns.comwww.stampsites.com/
Star WarsStar Warswww.starwars.com/
State GovernmentsStateline.org www.stateline.org/live/ViewPage.action
StoneAbout Stone aboutstone.org/
SurgeryYourSurgery.com www.yoursurgery.com/
SymbolsSymbols.comwww.symbols.com/index/wordindex-a.html
see also   SD:   Click the SD link to locate a subject directory on your desired topic.
San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212
Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5
Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email
Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer

Copyright © 2015 San Antonio College