Skip to main content

Folklore, Fairy Tales, Mythology, & Customs

Free web sites.

FAIRY TALES

Little Red Riding Hood

  • Best of Legends
    Links to primary source material, scholarship, essays, and historical surveys - romance, adventure, and panache. Inlcludes legendary tales of Robin Hood and King Arthur, and Fairy Tales.

  • Charles Perrault's Fairy Tales
    Charles Perrault, a French writer who was born in 1628, collected a number of fairy tales and folklore, publishing them in 1697 under the title, "Tales of Mother Goose." The original collection and this site include Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Little Thumb, Puss in Boots, Riquet with the Tuft, Blue Beard, the Fairy, and Little Red Riding Hood.

  • English Fairies
    Lists and describes the Good Folk of England. Note: these are not the cute creatures Shakespeare describes!

  • Fairies
    Origin of the faeries/fairies, including the difference between medieval and modern traditions, types of faeries, and a list of Fairy People.

  • Faery Tales of Ireland
    Several fairy tales and links to book collections.

  • Fairytales, Folktales and Fables for Kids
    The site labels this for kids, but the stories come from collections anyone can read, such as Andrew Lang, La Fontaine, Joseph Jacobs, Grimm Brothers, Charles Perrault, and Hans Christian Andersen, covering English, German, Indian, Irish, and Russian areas. Also contains beautiful illustrations.

  • Grimm's Fairy Tales
    Contains 209 tales collected by the brothers Grimm. The exact print source is unknown. The etext appears to be based on the translation by Margaret Hunt called Grimm's Household Tales, but it is not identical to her edition. Some of the translations are slightly different, the arrangement also differs, and the Grimm's scholarly notes are not included.

  • Hans Christian Andersen Fairy Tales and Stories
    Includes a chronological list of all 168 stories, with access to 128 of these in full-text. 127 of the stories are in a hypertext rendition of Mrs. Paull's nineteenth century (1872) translation into English. Includes links to biographical and bibliographical information about Andersen and his work, an index of translations, etc.

  • Hidden Ireland: A Guide to Irish Fairies
    Includes Pookas, Banshees, Leprechauns ... generally, things you wouldn't want to meet in the night.

  • List of Fairy Tales
    Wikipedia's handy list of fairy tales by title, date, region, author, collection, and type., plus a link to further information of each title.

  • Mother Goose Origins
    Gives a detailed history of the beloved rhymes, plus the identity of Mother Goose, the secret history of the nursery rhyme, and lost lyrices, history and orgin of old nursery rhymes, along with a Nursery Rhymes Index.

  • Russian Fairy Tales
    Russian tales also pictured on lacquerboxes you can buy (but you don't have to buy one to enjoy the story); includes Ruslan and Ludmilla and the Golden Cockerel.

  • Snow White
    Kay Vandergrift presents information on the fairy tale "Snow White." Offers access to the story itself, as well as information on films, videos, and recordings of the story. Contains illustrations from different versions and offers information on teaching the story. Provides access to criticism on the story and a bibliography of its various versions. Links to other resources on fairy tales and folklore.

  • SurLaLune Fairy Tale Pages
    Annotated fairy tales, including information about their histories, similarities with various tales, alternate tales, bibliographies, illustrations, art work and other information. Tales include Beauty and the Beast, Cinderella, Red Riding Hood, and Sleeping Beauty--all the usual suspects

  • The Annotated Cinderella
    SurLaLune annotates Cinderella with explanations of the various facets of the story. Read the entire story first, then the notes.

  • Who Was Mother Goose?
    Subtited: Mother Goose History, Story of Mother Goose, Mother Goose Origins. Contains links to the grave of Boston's Mother Goose, connections to an antique nursery rhyme pictur book, and Goose's Melodies. Unfortunately, there are a couple of dead links in this marvelous collection.

San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212
Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5
Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email
Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer

Copyright © 2015 San Antonio College