Ancient Egypt: the Mythology
Divided into five sections: the Gods, the Myths, the Symbols, the Land, and the Resources. For example, Thoth is the god of wisdom and learning, who invented writing and magical arts.
Behind the Name
A fascinating site which provides the etymology and history of first names, including Mythology Names. Say you want your newborn boy to have a very masculine name, so you look up 'AODH'--pronounced EE, AY. This name is from the old Irish Áed, which means fire. Have a heart, though, use the Anglicized version for the poor child, namely, Hugh.
Thomas Bulfinch's classic text on Greek and Roman mythology, including some Norse and Druid mythology.
The Camelot Project from the University of Rochester is designed to make available a database of Arthurian texts, images, bibliographies, and basic information. The main menu lists characters, symbols, and sites dealing with the King Arthur legends.
Inclusive encyclopedic entry for Records of Chinese Mythology, Myths and Legends, Deities, and so on. We're talking myths originating around the twelfth century B.C.E., so this article has to be encyclopedic.
Epics and tales of ancient Greek and Roman myths and literatures. Divided into four sections: The Pantheon, Heroic Age, Royal Houses, and Geographia. Another section, Facts & Figures includes All Things Roman, The Greek World, Astronomy, Enchanted Objects, and Faithful Companions.
Cornwall Myths, Legends and Folklore
A collection of legends and mythical stories about Cornwall, England, provided by the Cornwall Guide. Includes saints, piskies, mermaids, and King Arthur.
Cult of the Gods
Greek Gods, that is. Cults centered around the twelve Olympians, but also around regional or secondary gods. One of the most famous mystery cults, still talked about today, were the Mysteries of Eleusis, dedicated to Demeter, goddess of agriculture, grain, and bread. Check in Wikipedia for more information under Eleusinian Mysteries. While you are there, look for Dionysian Mysteries, which were supposedly responsible for tearing Orpheus to bits.
Dictionary of Symbolism
This site is in the process of moving, so use the SEARCH function under the dictionary title until further notice. Presents a reference dictionary on symbolism, which endeavors to provide some possible cultural significances of various symbols. Includes ways that symbolic words may be used in context. Provides a searchable index and an alphabetical listing of the entries. Discusses symbolism in literature and art.
Brief definitions for gods and supernatural beings of many mythologies. Articles can be retrieved by browsing one of the content areas: Mythology, Folklore, Bestiary, Heroes, Image Gallery, and Genealogy Tables. Not a scholarly site because in many cases there is no authorship or documentation, but a popular site.
Gods and Goddesses of the Celtic Lands
If you thought memorizing the Greek Pantheon was tough (all 12 major gods and goddesses), wait until you check out this site! From Abarta in Ireland to the White Lady, known to all Celtic countries, you have a lot to memorize.
Searchable database of Sir James George Frazer's monumental Study in Magic and Religion.
India Parenting: Famous Indian Legends
DataMagic Websolutions Pvt. Ltd. offers a collection of Indian legends as part of IndiaParenting.com. The collection includes stories of Krishna, stories from the Ramayana, and stories from the Mahabharata.
Irish Myths and Legends
Supplies links to many tales, also to mythical characters. There is also a link to Symbols, which the site suggests would be cool tattoos (if you don't mind ending up in the hospital! Seriously, any of these tattoos would cause major trama and/or blood loss!)
List of Mythologies
Good old Wikipedia gives listing of world mythologies by culture and region.
Magic Web: Mythology and Folklore
Presents a collection of Internet resources on mythology and folklore, compiled by John Adcox. Includes resources on classical mythology, Arthurian legends, women in myth, myth in literature and the arts, Norse and European myth, Celtic myth, and Robin Hood.
Myth and Legend from Ancient Times to the Space Age
A myth is a sacred story from the past. It may explain the origin of the universe and of life, or it may express its culture's moral values in human terms. A folktale is a story that, in its plot, is pure fiction and that has no particular location in either time or space. A legend is a story from the past about a subject that was, or is believed to have been, historical. This site includes Cryptozoology, Legendary creatures, Mythology & Folklore, Pirates, Vampires, UFOs, and Vampires, Werewolves & other Nasties.
Mythical and Fantasy Creatures
Lists creatures from small, medium, and large; from sentient, bird like, and plant life; from dragons to serpents; and then there is undead, demons, elementals, Egyptian, Celtic, Norse, Mayan, gods and goddesses; and finally, Greek. Is this the longest run-on sentence, or what?
An annotated & illustrated collection of worldwide links to mythologies, fairy tales & folklore, sacred arts & traditions by Kathleen Jenks, Ph.D., Presents an annotated, illustrated directory of Web sites relating to fairy tales, folklore, and mythology. Includes links to educational and reference resources, as well as to sites on specific themes, regions and peoples. Includes a site-specific search engine.
Mythology and Folklore
Accesses New Age Esoteric Web's links with short commentaries on Celtic, Egyptian, and Greek myths, and to wicca, witchcraft, shamanism, voodoo, and women in classical mythology.
Names of Gods and Goddesses
Massive lists of names from every pantheon. Assembled by a dog lover known as 'ChinaRoad' and that's all I know about 'em.
Scottish Myths and Legends
Links are given to Celtic Mythology and Celtic Folklore, but this site lists some very interesting Spirits and Goblins, as well as Castles with Ghosts and Mythical Objects. There is also a link to a cute Nessie's Diary.
Timeless Myths: Norse Mythology
The pages devoted to Norse and Teutonic mythology, has been divided into three section: Asgard contains information of Norse and Teutonic deities, including the Aesir and Vanir, giants and monsters; Valhalla contains information of Norse and German characters, particular heroes and heroines, rulers and dwarfs; Norse Sagas contains Norse and Germanic stories of the Creation and Ragnarök, as well as the Völsunga Saga and the Nibelungenlied. Authored by a Chinese-Australian named Jimmy Joe.
From this site: "Tricksters are among the most entertaining characters in world mythology. Usually male, they delight in breaking rules, boasting, and playing tricks on both humans and gods. Most tricksters are shape-changers who can take any form, though they often appear as animals. Tricksters play a prominent role in African and Native American mythologies. They can also be found in the myths of Europeans, Asians, Pacific Islanders, and the Aborigines of Australia. Certain gods, demigods, and heroes from around the world are described as having trickster qualities." Some tricksters you might recognize: Brer Rabbit, Loki, and from the tv show, Supernatural, The Trickster, e.g. the Archangel Gabriel.
Many of these deities are variants to those of Ireland, England, and Scotland. One example is MODRON, the Welsh goddess of fertility. She is more familiar to us as a derivative name, MORGAN LE FAY.
Windows to the Universe
Although this site is devoted to the space sciences, it also hosts beautiful artwork and sizeable definitions of Greek and Roman gods and goddesses. Click on Culture, Myth & Art to access this valuable resource.
See also my Religion LibGuide under World Religions.
San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212 Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5 Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer