Dutch Social Customs An extremely impressive genealogy site with a section on Dutch customs of the 17th century.
Executive Planet Executive Planet (TM) provides valuable tips on business etiquette, customs and protocol for doing business worldwide, from Argentina to Venezuela. The Czech Republic has recently been added.
Guide to the USA - Etiquette, Customs, Culture and Business From the other side of the pond comes eye-opening advice, such as NAMES: Americans are extremely informal and call most people by their first name or nickname. However, it is a good rule of thumb to address them by their title (Mr, Mrs, Ms, Dr, etc in general) and last name (e.g, Mr. Smith) until you are specifically told otherwise. However, as mentioned, Americans may also address you by your first name immediately after being introduced to you; this is not considered rude at all and reflects the more casual style of Americans.
International Dining Etiquette "You've got your tickets, your money and your passport and all that is lacking is the social polish that will allow you to enter the higher echelons of whatever foreign clime you're visiting. This entry provides some of the essential rules that will make you an exemplary dinner diplomat"--web site.
35 Etiquette Tips for Doing Business Around the World This has a Quick Guide to Going Blobal chart by Zendesk, 35 Tips for 10 Countries. Example: in Brazil, do not eat with your hands, even if it is a sandwich or pizza--use a utensil or napkin. Even tougher: sneezing at a lunch or dinner table is a huge no-no!
World Business Culture Country profiles contains information on each country's business structures, management style, meetings, communication styles, women in business, entertaining, and top tips.
Birth Customs Around the World Lara Schaiken from American Baby lists customs from the Netherlands, Germany, Japan, Brazil, and Turkey. A sample from Brazil: Local custom: According to Mello e Silva, pregnant women are treated like princesses -- for example, they are ushered to the front of any line so they don't have to wait. Once mother and baby leave the hospital, visitors flock to their home. They give a gift to the baby and receive one in return. Traditionally, it's something small, such as a bottle of perfume or candy, with a message from the baby attached thanking friends and family for the visit.
Birth Traditions Traditions from Turkey. "Some forms of behavior a pregnant woman is expected to engage in are: Looking at the moon, Looking at beautiful people, Smelling roses, Eating quinces, apples, green plums and grapes." Sounds good for any person.
Childbirth Customs South Korean customs covering Pregnancy, Childbirth, After the Birth, and Newborns. After the birth, "A straw rope would be tied at the doorframe of the house to announce the birth with chili peppers laced within for a boy, and for a girl, charcoal. Once people saw the ‘announcement’ they would stay away for a period of time – usually 21 to 100 days." Actually, this would protect the baby from head colds & flu, so a Good Custom!
Childbirth Traditions Around the World: China According to this site, "The Chinese wouldn’t dream of naming a baby before she’s born. In fact, they are given false names, or milk names, to scare away evil spirits. Ancient wisdom dictates parents refer to their baby as an animal or as ugly to trick the spirits into thinking the baby is not worthy of a kidnapping. Once the child is older, he is named."
Native American Customs at Childbirth Historian Ellen Holmes Pearson describes customs from around the 17th century. "The Cherokees, for example, believed that certain foods affected the fetus. Pregnant women avoided foods that they believed would harm the baby or cause unwanted physical characteristics. For example, they believed that eating raccoon or pheasant would make the baby sickly, or could cause death; consuming speckled trout could cause birthmarks; and eating black walnuts could give the baby a big nose." So, ease up on your black walnut snacks, ladies!
Ancient Chinese Marriage Custom From the Travel China Guide states, "Ever since ancient times, there has been a saying that the three most delightful moments in one's life come with success in the imperial examination, marriage and the birth of a son. From the Qin (221 BC – 206 BC) to Qing (1644 – 1911) Dynasties, the feudal system dominated over two thousands years."
8 Old Wedding Traditions You Didn't Know Existed They are right about not knowing these traditions. My favorite: "One thing you have to know, if you’re looking for a wife in the 19th century Netherlands. One thing. Remember this always, my son. “Those who do not like cats will not get handsome wives.”"
Elizabethan Wedding Customs The wedding dress, "The bride did not wear a white wedding dress, this was a later tradition. Instead she would wear her best gown and kirtle , or even a new gown if the money was available. The gown would cover most of the body and would be full length. A cloak was used as an outer garment. Velvet, Satins and Corduroy were costly and therefore worn by the nobility. The wedding garments belonging to the majority of brides were generally made from Flax, Cotton and wool. Colours came in a variety of different shades: red, blue, greens, yellow, white, grey, black, orange and tan."
Spanish Weddings From the site: "The use of the mantilla (a form of headdress) as an everyday accessory goes back to the XVII century, but the custom has been lost and the mantilla is now sometimes worn by older generations as part of a costume or in religious ceremonies. However, the mantilla is making a comeback in modern times as part of a young bride's wedding attire: brides who want a traditional wedding are opting to wear the traditional lace mantilla instead of a velo nupcial (wedding veil). The mantilla is exceptionally long and can trail several feet behind her traje de novia (wedding gown)."
Wedding Flowers: Customs & Traditions From the site: "The blossoms you select for your wedding day are rooted in rich cultural and historical traditions. From ancient Rome and ancient Greece to the Middle East, we've gathered the best flower-related customs we could find. Read on for a bundle of floral trivia."
Death & Funeral Customs Brief description of death & funeral customs carried out by Judaism, Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Sikhism, Japanese, US & Canada, & others.
Funeral Traditions From The Funeral Source, customs & traditions of the United States and around the world. Also contains information on etiquette, alternative funerals, state funerals, and military burials.
Funeral Traditions of Different Religions Covers: Anglican/Episcopalian, Baptist, Buddhist, Catholic, Eastern Orthodox, Hindu, Jewish, Lutheran, Methodist, Muslim, Latter Day Saints/Mormon, Presbyterian, and Quaker. Everplans' motto is "You're not immortal. Deal with it."
The Irish Wake A wake is a watch or vigil beside the deceased body. The most famous, the Irish wake seems to be dying out (pun not intended) in the big cities, but is still observed in villages. This site states: "The origin of the wake probably dates back to the ancient Jewish custom of leaving the sepulcher, or burial chamber, of a recently departed relative unsealed for three days before finally closing it up, during which time family members would visit frequently in the hope of seeing signs of a return to life."
Story: Tangihanga - Death customs From the site: "The tangihanga is the enduring Māori ceremony to mourn the dead. The body lies on a marae and people come to pay their respects. Tangi retain traditional practices which have changed little despite European influence."
DIRECTORIES OF THE DEAD
Dead People Server Daily updates concerning people who died, their birth and death dates, and cause of death. This site covers 1950 to the present date.
Find a Grave Graves of the famous and your relatives--if you input the information. Also Yearly Necrologies, browse by Location, Claim to Fame, and dates.
Texas Death Records Texas death records are managed by the Texas Department of Health Services, and by the County Clerk in each county. Death records are restricted for 25 years and during the restriction can only be accessed by immediate family members.
Social Security Death Index An index and guide to the massive records maintained by the Social Security Administration. It also links to other free indexes.
The Social Security Administration does not have information about people who died before about 1940 when Social Security payments were first paid out. The SSDI has very few entries for people who died from 1940-1961. Try the state listings below for some death indexes before 1962 (and for other time frames)... see the next entry:
San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212 Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5 Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer