Skip to main content

Philosophy: ENCYCLOPEDIAS & DICTIONARIES

Free web sites on Philosophy

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

  • Meta-Encyclopedia of Philosophy
    Compare topics through five active online encyclopedias and dictionaries

  • Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP)
    Be sure and look through Search Tips before beginning. For Citation tips, see Archives.

  • Babylon 10: Philosophy-Dictionary
    Enter a topic or a philosopher for a brief description and definition.

  • A Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names
    A concise guide to technical terms and personal names encountered in the study of philosophy by Garth Kemerling.

  • Dictionary of Philosophy (Ancient - Medieval - Modern)
    Edited by Dagobert D. Runes, a 1942 compilation with clear, concise definitions and descriptions of philosophical terms, with very brief biographical sketches of philosophers.

  • Goodreads: Quotes about Philosophy
    Quotations from homespun philosophers, such as Mark Twain, and quotes from 'real' philosophers, such as Friedrich Nietzsche. Here is a sample from Nietzsche: It is hard enough to remember my opinions, without also remembering my reasons for them! And another quote I'm always using: That which does not kill us makes us stronger. When you click on the portrait icon, you link to a short biography, bibliography, quotes within this site, and topics mentioning the author.

San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212
Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5
Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email
Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer

Copyright © 2015 San Antonio College