Definitions and explanations of Bible topics from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.
The Catholic Encyclopedia
Full text version of the 1913 edition. Besides Catholic doctrines and documents, the site includes the Bible, and writings of the Church Fathers.
Encyclopedia of Religion & Society
Edited by William H. Swatos, Jr., from the Hartford Seminary. According to this site "We have tried to assemble entries, both lengthy and brief, that survey as broadly as possible the different theoretical traditions and research styles that have emerged over the century. Although more heavily oriented toward North America, the scope is global, and an effort has been made to address the major traditions of world religious experience."
Unedited full text version of the 1906 edition. Because of its age, it does not include modern Jewish history, such as the Holocaust, but it does include an incredible amount of valuable historical information.
Quick Reference Dictionary
Search in BibleStudyTools collection of Bible dictionaries for the meanings of words found in the Bible.
Smith's Bible Dictionary
From the site: "Welcome to the Smith's Bible Dictionary on Bible History Online. Dr. William Smith's Bible Dictionary was originally written in 1884, and remains one of the most popular Bible dictionaries in the world. It contains information about people, places, customs, history, geography, and the textual content of the Bible. It is an essential reference book for studying the Scripture's subjects. Bibliography Information
Each Biblical definition contains bibliography information to use freely, it also includes a link back to the Smiths Bible Dictionary Homepage."
San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212 Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5 Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer