COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT POLICY
General, British, and American Literature (PN, PR, PS)
Eileen Oliver August 28, 2019
To support the curricula of the English Department, materials will be acquired in General [not a specific foreign literature] and in British and American literature. Materials include primary works by classical authors as well as by other authors covered in the curricula and secondary works of literary biography, criticism, history, theory, trends, influence, and bibliography. In support of specific English courses, maintain special collections such as Children’s Literature and Limited-Vocabulary Literature. Purchase works by San Antonio and Texas writers. Maintain a small popular fiction collection.
SCOPE OF COVERAGE
Language: English will be the primary language of the collection, unless there is a special request from a student or faculty for materials in another language, especially Spanish language material.
Geography: United States publications are emphasized, but publications in English from other countries, especially the British Isles, will be purchased as well.
Chronology: Although emphasis is placed on the purchase of materials published within the last few years, much great literature and commentaries on it are relatively timeless – so older publications and reprints will be purchased often.
All formats may be considered for purchase. Serials, in printed form or in electronic databases, are heavily relied upon for current material. Textbooks are purchased only when they provide needed background information. Audiovisual materials (videotapes, DVDs, etc.) as well as electronic materials (CD-ROMs, online databases, etc.) will be reviewed for selective additions.
Faculty, student, or patron recommendations
Publishers’ Discoverys and flyers
Guide to reference books [Ref. Z1035.1.G89]
Books for college libraries [Ref. Z1039.C65 B67]
Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary
Studies [Ref PR83.H37]
Although some superseded editions will be removed from the shelves, the nature of the literature collection is such that most will meet one of the these qualifications for indefinite retention: classics; historical information on the subject; local connections; community college connections; listed in standard reference works; out of print.