Skip to main content

Library Policies & Procedures: Business

Policies and procedures governing the SAC Library.

Collection Development: Business

SAN ANTONIO COLLEGE LIBRARY

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT POLICY

FOR

BUSINESS MATERIALS

GENERAL OBJECTIVES

To support the curriculum of the

Business Department, materials will be acquired to

keep the collection current on new theories, movements, and developments in the field of

business. At the same time, materials of historical significance or written by renowned writers in

the field will be retained to provide a complete overview of growth and development in business.

SCOPE OF COVERAGE

Language

: English will be the primary language of the collection, unless there is a

special documented need for foreign language materials to support a

specific departmental program or course offering.

Geography

: Although publications related to the business in the United States will

be emphasized, materials on foreign or international business will be

purchased as needed.

Chronology

: Emphasis is placed on the purchase of materials published within the last

five years, except in areas covering the history of the subject or materials

written by renowned authors in the field.

MATERIAL TYPES:

All formats may be considered for purchase. Serials are heavily relied upon for current,

updated material and specialized information. Although textbooks provide excellent background

information, they will not be considered for purchase if currently in use at San Antonio College.

Audiovisual materials will be reviewed for selective additions. CD-ROM and DVD products are

generally included as accompanying material with print sources, but may be purchased

separately if available and important to the collection. HTML and other web-based materials will

be authored as needed to augment the library

=s overall resources.

SELECTION TOOLS:

Materials for selections will be identified through recommendations in or from:

a) Departments or individual faculty members

b) Reviews in periodicals sources

1)

Booklist

2)

Choice

3)

Library Journal

c) Reviews in library reference sources

1)

Guide to Reference Books [ REF Z 1035.1 G89 1996 ]

2)

Books for College Libraries [ REF Z 1039 .C65 B67 1988 ]

d) Specialized reference sources [ e.g. Essay & General Literature Index ]

e) Publishers

= Discoverys and notices

f) Students

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT POLICY

FOR

BUSINESS MATERIALS

RETENTION POLICY:

In the area of business, all materials will be considered for de-selection after five years

of publication. All superseded editions will be removed from the shelves unless transferred from

the reference collection to the circulating collection. Only material containing historic value,

consumer interest, or

Classics in the field will be retained beyond the five year period.

Classics in the field are defined as those books either written by renowned businessmen or

recognized as especially noteworthy in the field. Examples might include Nobel Prize winning

authors / books or historical landmark sources such as Peter Drucker’s

Post-capitalist

Society.

EFFECTIVE DATE:

This

Collection Development Policy for Business Materials will take effect on

June 9, 2008.

Stephen Dingman

Updated: April 19, 2013

San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212
Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5
Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email
Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer

Copyright © 2015 San Antonio College