Skip to main content

Library Policies & Procedures: English & General Language

Policies and procedures governing the SAC Library.

Collection Development: English & General Language

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT POLICY

English Language (PE) and General Language (P)

Tom Kuykendall          April 19, 2013

GENERAL OBJECTIVES

            To support the curricula of the English Department as well as the English as a Second Language Program, materials will be acquired to keep the collection current on the history, grammar, theories, etymology, and composition in the field of the English language and in the field of language in general [not to include studies of specific languages] .

SCOPE OF COVERAGE

            Language:  English will be the primary language of the collection, unless there is a special request from a student or faculty for materials in another language, especially Spanish language material.

            Geography:  United States publications are emphasized, but publications in English from other countries, especially England, will be purchased as well.

            Chronology:  Emphasis is placed on the purchase of materials published within the last five years, except in areas covering the history of the subject.

MATERIAL TYPES

            All formats may be considered for purchase.  Serials, in printed form or in electronic databases, are heavily relied upon for current material.  Textbooks are purchased only when they provide needed background information.  Audiovisual materials (videotapes, DVDs, etc.) as well as electronic materials (CD-ROMs, online databases, etc.) will be reviewed for selective additions.

 

SELECTION TOOLS

            Faculty, student, or patron recommendations

            Choice

            Booklist

            Library journal

            Publishers’ Discoverys and flyers

            Guide to reference books [Ref. Z1035.1.G89]

            Books for college libraries [Ref. Z1039.C65 B67]

           

RETENTION POLICY

           

Generally, superseded editions will be removed from the shelves unless they are listed in a major reference work.  Reference materials, such as dictionaries, will be updated on a regular basis; older editions may be moved to the circulating collection or removed.  Qualifications for indefinite retention include these:  historical information on the subject; local connections; community college connections; listed in standard reference works; out of print. 

San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212
Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5
Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email
Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer

Copyright © 2015 San Antonio College