Skip to main content

Library Policies & Procedures: Photography

Policies and procedures governing the SAC Library.

Collection Development: Photography

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT POLICY

 

Celita Avila               Updated: 4/19/2013

 

PHOTOGRAPHY

 

GENERAL OBJECTIVES

 

            The Photography Collection primarily supports the College’s journalism/photography curriculum.  The photography curriculum currently offers classes covering black and white and color photography processes and techniques, primarily in a darkroom setting.  The Journalism Department provides support for digital applications of photography.  Photography classes cover portraiture, documentary, architectural, artistic, landscape, fashion, commercial and studio photography.  To this end, the Library acquires printed materials relating to the history, criticism, the techniques and uses of photography and photographic equipment, and materials of documentary or aesthetic interest, especially those representative of American or, in some cases, well-known international photographers.

 

SCOPE OF COVERAGE

 

Language:  English will be the primary language of the collection.

Geography:  United States publications are emphasized.

Chronology:  Emphasis is on the acquisition of new and recent materials, particularly those published in the last five years.  Occasionally, an older work of note may be acquired to fill in a previous gap in the collection.

 

MATERIAL TYPES

 

            All formats may be considered for purchase.  Emphasis, however, is on printed materials.  Audiovisual materials will be reviewed for selective additions.

 

SELECTION TOOLS

 

            Collection needs will be identified through reviews and articles appearing in publications such as Choice, Library Journal, Booklist, and other major photography sources.  Recommendations from faculty, students, and other patrons also will be considered.

 

RETENTION POLICY:

 

                        Superseded editions will be removed from the shelves unless they are listed in a major reference tool.  Qualifications for indefinite retention include:  Historical information on the subject; local connection; community college connection; listed in standard reference works; out of print.

San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212
Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5
Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email
Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer

Copyright © 2015 San Antonio College