Skip to main content

Library Policies & Procedures: Recreation, Leisure, Kinesiology & PE

Policies and procedures governing the SAC Library.

Collection Development: Recreation, Leisure, Kinesiology & PE

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT POLICY

NAME OF LIBRARIAN: Candace Peterson               Updated: December 11, 2013

NAME OF DEPARTMENT OR SUBJECT: Recreation and Leisure

GENERAL OBJECTIVES

            To support the Kinesiology, Physical Education and Health Education Department curriculum, materials will be acquired to keep the collection current on new theories and techniques in the field of Recreation and Leisure and related interests.  The needs of students who are not majors in these fields will also be taken into consideration.  Collection efforts are aimed at maintaining a well rounded Recreation and Leisure collection. 

SCOPE OF COVERAGE

            Language:  English will be the primary language of the collection, unless there is a special request from a student or faculty for materials in another language, especially Spanish language material.

            Geography:  United States publications are emphasized, with some world [subject] materials purchased.

            Chronology:  Emphasis is on the collection of current materials, generally published within the last five years.  Older materials may be purchased if they are particularly significant or cover the history of the subject.

MATERIAL TYPES

            All formats may be considered for purchase.  Serials are heavily relied upon for current material.  Audiovisual materials will be reviewed for selective additions.  CD-ROMs and DVDs are generally added when accompanying print material, but may be purchased separately when available.  Textbooks are not purchased.

SELECTION TOOLS

            Materials will be identified through recommendations in or from:

            Faculty, student, or patron recommendations

            Choice

            Library journal

            Booklist

            [specialized journals]

            Publishers’ catalogs and flyers

RETENTION POLICY

            Most materials will be considered for de-selection within five years of publication.  All superseded editions will be removed from the shelves. Some major reference works and unique publications will not necessarily be deselected.  Materials of historic value or of general interest may also be retained beyond the five-year period.  Materials having local connections may be retained indefinitely. 

           

San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212
Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5
Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email
Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer

Copyright © 2015 San Antonio College