SAC nursing students often need to find full-text articles in an American nursing journal published within the last 5 years. How in the world can you do this?? The Library no longer subscribes to print magazines or journals. So, if we don't have print nursing journals in the Library, how are you supposed to find a current article from a nursing journal?
You must search our online nursing databases.
Finding nursing articles is pretty easy once you know how to do it. Do NOT use Google to try and find full-text nursing articles. You may get lucky and find a reputable, full-text article for free on the web, but it's doubtful. Chances are you will be asked to pay for the article, or purchase a subscription to the journal. Don't do this! We've already purchased nursing magazines and journals and have them available to you electronically in our databases.
Each database has its strengths and weaknesses...some journals are found only in one database and not in any other...some databases are easier to search than others. Chances are you will need to search more than one database to find the articles you need.
Please note, when you search a subscription database, you are not searching the web. You are searching through published, often peer reviewed journal articles. This is what your professors want you to use....articles published in nursing journals....not websites.
If you are familiar and comfortable with searching subscription databases, then simply click on a database link below, and get to work. For detailed steps to searching the below databases, click on the appropriate tab or tabs above, to see a video demonstration of how to search the databases.
The Library's two most recommended databases for finding full-text nursing articles are CINAHL Plus with Full Text, and OVID Nursing Full Text Plus.
It is simply not possible for the SAC Library to own every nursing book or nursing article ever published. Don't fret! We have a service by which we can get books and articles that we don't have, and that service is called Inter Library Loan or ILL. Click on the below link for more info.
Does the Library subscribe to a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper online? Try these journal locators to see if a full-text, online journal, magazine, or newspaper is available in a Library database or browse the journals published in a subject area.