B. Articles & Reference - Communication 2311 - Abrego, Irene: News Investigating/Editing

Off-campus access

Online databases require a login from off-campus!

Username - same as your ACES username.

Password - the FIRST 2 letters of your last name + LAST 6 digits of your Banner ID.

What's your Banner ID? - Log in to ACES, click Student Tab, click Banner ID Lookup Tool

What does the login page look like?

Databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 3.4 million full-text entries from 615 renowned reference books.

Articles highlight specific aspects of topics. Get the full menu of Databases from the library home page under Articles & Reference. Full text articles may be emailed to your address, downloaded, or printed in the 2nd floor Reference Room. The following databases will be helpful for your assignment.

General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale's largest periodical database contaims more than 7,800 full-text titles and 3,600 refereed journals, hundreds of newspapers, and New York Times back to 1985
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
More than 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays

LexisNexis Academic
The SAC Library's most extensive newspaper database
Newsbank
News from around the world, Texas, and San Antonio Express-News!

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly research and information on all areas of education and all educational specialties, such as: multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, and related social issues. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals and the full text of 750+ journals. Full text of 80+ books also available along with full text for education-related conference papers.

Issues and Controversies

Rubric: 3.4.g (Librarian Use Only)

Excellent (5 pts)	Good (3 pts)	Needs Improvement (1pt)
Name stated, topic stated, and citation reflects topic.	Contains two of the following: Name stated, topic stated, and citation reflects topic.	Contains one of the following: Name stated, topic stated, and citation reflects topic.

Rubric: 5.3.a (Librarian Use Only)

Excellent (5 pts)	Good (3 pts)	Needs Improvement (1pt)
Locates a citation, complete citation given, and citation item was located in one of databases listed.	Includes 2 of the following: locates a citation, complete citation given, and citation item was located in one of databases listed.	Includes one of the following: locates a citation, complete or partial citation given, and citation item was located in one of the databases listed.

Communication 2311 - Abrego, Irene: News Investigating/Editing: B. Articles & Reference

Off-campus access

Databases

Rubric: 3.4.g (Librarian Use Only)

Rubric: 5.3.a (Librarian Use Only)