Get the full menu of Databases from the library home page under Articles & Reference.
TASK: Click on the Literature Resource Center, Magill on Literature, or Gale Virtual Reference Library databases below. Search for and find one relevant fact about a work. Highlight and copy the fact and the item's citation. Click on the Comments link in this box. Paste the citation into the post text box. Add your name, put your work title in the subject (email optional) and post comment!
TASK: Click on the Literature Resource Center, Gale Virtual Reference Library, etc. databases . Search for and find one relevant fact about a work. Highlight and copy the fact and the item's citation. Click on the Comments link in this box. Paste the citation into the post text box. Add your name, put your work title in the subject (email optional) and post comment!
With the online Discovery, start with a Keyword, then look for Subject headings in any item's description. Finding the right Subject heading can save you tons of research time by helping you locate items that are specifically relevant to your TOPIC. Here are a few starter Subject headings. Copy/paste them into the search box above and search By: Subject.
TASK: Copy one of the subject headings above, click on the Books & Media link, paste your subject into the search box, and find ONE relevant item. Copy the Title, Location, & Call number for that item and post it in the Comments below. Include your name and the author's last name in the Subject line.
The Great Migration was the mass movement of about five million southern blacks to the north and west between 1915 and 1960. During the initial wave the majority of migrants moved to major northern cities such as Chicago, Detroit, Pittsburgh, and New York. By World War II the migrants continued to move North but many of them headed west to Los Angeles, Oakland, San Francisco, Portland and Seattle.
The first large movement of blacks occurred during World War I, when 454,000 black southerners moved north. In the 1920s, another 800,000 blacks left the south, followed by 398,000 blacks in the 1930s. Between 1940 and 1960 over 3,348,000 blacks left the south for northern and western cities. The economic motivations for migration were a combination of the desire to escape oppressive economic conditions in the south and the promise of greater prosperity in the north.
In additional to migrating for job opportunities, blacks also moved north in order to escape the oppressive conditions of the south. Some of the main social factors for migration included lynching, an unfair legal system, inequality in education, and denial of suffrage. The great migration, one of the largest internal migrations in the history of the United States, changed forever the urban North, the rural South, African America and in many respects, the entire nation.
Sources:
James M. Gregory, The Southern Diaspora: How the Great Migrations of Black and White Southerners Transformed America (Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2005);
TASK: Search for and find one relevant fact about a work. Highlight and copy the fact and the item's citation. Click on the Comments link in this box. Paste the citation into the post text box. Add your name, put your work title in the subject (email optional) and post comment!
From: Literature and Its Times, volume 3, SAC Reference 2nd Floor, PN50 .L574 1997
.jpg)
From: Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Literature, index entry, SAC Reference 2nd floor, PS153.N5 G73 2005
| Excellent (5 pts) | Good (3 pts) | Needs Improvement (1pt) |
| Complete citation keywords stated, citation item was located in database listed. | Includes 2 of the following: Complete citation given, keywords stated, citation item was located in database listed. | Includes one of the following: Complete or partial citation given, keywords stated, citation item was located in database listed. |
Online databases require a login from off-campus!
Username - same as your ACES username
Password - same as your Banner ID
What's your Banner ID? - Log in to ACES, click Student Tab, click Banner ID Lookup Tool
Literature and its times : profiles of 300 notable literary works and the historical events that influenced them
Greenwood encyclopedia of African American literature
Notable African American writers