Skip to Main Content

EDUC 1301/2301 - Medina & Hochmeister : Education Research: A. Career Dictionaries

Decisions, decisions, .......

Career Dictionaries

Start with these books in our Reference area.  If you can't get to the library there are two online sources you can use -- the first two entries on this page.

What's your salary? What will you do? - Mon., Oct. 12 Lucchelli's 8:00 am class

TASK: Find salary information for your career!

  1. Click on Occupational Outlook Handbook or Ferguson's, do a search for your career, find the salary information.
  2. Highlight and copy the salary information.
  3. Click on the Comments link below and paste the salary information into the Comments box.
  4. Add your name, name your career in the Subject line and Post comment.

Workplace Perceptions

Print - in Reference, 2nd floor MLC

Ref HF5381 .E52 2008

Encyclopedia of careers and vocational guidance
Ref HD5724 .F27 2005 America's top 101 jobs for people without a four-year degree
Ref HD5724 .O53 2006 100 fastest-growing careers
Ref HD6278.U5 F37 2005 America's top 101 jobs for college graduates
Ref HF5381.15 .F37 2006 Best jobs for the 21st century
Ref HF5382.5.U5 F363 2006 40 best fields for your career
Ref HF5382.5.U5 T67 2006 Top 300 careers
Ref HF5382.5 .U5 .C32 Career information center 
Ref HF5381.2 .C37 2007 Career discovery encyclopedia
Ref HF5382.75.U6 F369 America's top white-collar jobs

Specialized Careers 

Ref HF5382 .E98 2007 v.9 Extraordinary jobs in leisure
Ref HG173 .F55 2007 Career opportunities in banking, finance, and insurance
Ref HV8073 .E34 2008 Career opportunities in forensic science
Ref HV8143 .E34 2006 Career opportunities in law enforcement, security and protective services
Ref KF297 .E245 2007 Career opportunities in law and the legal industry
Ref ML3795 .B33 2006 Music business handbook and career guide
Ref PN4797 .B87 2007

Career opportunities in journalism
Ref R690 .F54 2007 Career opportunities in health care
Ref T65.3 .E95 2006 Exploring tech careers
Ref TK5105.875 .I57 T376 2007b Career opportunities in the Internet, video games, and multimedia
Ref TT507 .V63 2007

Career opportunities in the fashion industry
Ref R690 .E97

Exploring health careers

Balancing Act

Tomorrow's Leaders

Love what you do

Health Care jobs

Non-traditional

Hire this grad!

Rubric: 3.4.g - (Librarian Use only) selects info that provides evidence

Excellent (5 pts) Good (3 pts) Needs Improvement (1pt)
3 criteria are included: Fact about career, complete citation, subject stated.
 2 criteria included: Fact about career, complete citation or subject
 1 criteria included: Fact about career

Rubric: 1.1.c (Librarian Use Only) explores general information sources

Excellent (5 pts) Good (3 pts) Needs Improvement (1pt)
Includes career title, median salary, and uses OOH. Includes 2 of the following:  career title, median salary, and uses OOH. Includes one of the following: career title, median salary, and uses OOH.

Explores general information sources to increase familiarity with the topic

Perceptions vs. Reality in the Workplace

What's your salary? What will you do? - Wed., Nov. 12 Wallis' 9:25 am class

TASK: Find salary information for your career!

  1. Click on Occupational Outlook Handbook or Ferguson's, do a search for your career, find the salary information.
  2. Highlight and copy the salary information.
  3. Click on the Comments link below and paste the salary information into the Comments box.
  4. Add your name, name your career in the Subject line and Post comment.

What's your salary? What will you do? - Wed., Oct. 8 Linge's 1:40 pm class

TASK: Find salary information for your career!

  1. Click on Occupational Outlook Handbook or Ferguson's, do a search for your career, find the salary information.
  2. Highlight and copy the salary information.
  3. Click on the Comments link below and paste the salary information into the Comments box.
  4. Add your name, name your career in the Subject line and Post comment.

What's your salary? What will you do? - Tues., Oct. 7 - Lucchelli's 8:00 am Class

Library Task: Go into the Occupational Outlook Handbook  or Ferguson's Career Guidence Center from the links below and find the median salary for your career choice. 

    1. Highlight and copy the median salary for your career.
    2. Click on Comments, then Post New Comment link in this box.
    3. Put your FIRST name in the Your Name box.
    4. Leave the Your Email blank.
    5. Put your career in the Subject box. 
    6. Paste the median salary into the Comment box.
    7. Click on Post Comment and click on the OK in the next box.

      What's your salary? What will you do? - Tues., Oct. 7 - Lucchelli's 3:05 pm Class

      Library Task: Go into the Occupational Outlook Handbook  or Ferguson's Career Guidence Center from the links below and find the median salary for your career choice. 

        1. Highlight and copy the median salary for your career.
        2. Click on Comments, then Post New Comment link in this box.
        3. Put your FIRST name in the Your Name box.
        4. Leave the Your Email blank.
        5. Put your career in the Subject box. 
        6. Paste the median salary into the Comment box.
        7. Click on Post Comment and click on the OK in the next box.

          What's your salary? What will you do? - Sat., Sept. 13 - Velazquez's 9:30 am Class

          Library Task: Go into the Occupational Outlook Handbook  or Ferguson's Career Guidence Center from the links below and find the median salary for your career choice. 

            1. Highlight and copy the median salary for your career.
            2. Click on Comments, then Post New Comment link in this box.
            3. Put your FIRST name in the Your Name box.
            4. Leave the Your Email blank.
            5. Put your career in the Subject box. 
            6. Paste the median salary into the Comment box.
            7. Click on Post Comment and click on the OK in the next box.

              What's your salary? What will you do? - Tues., Sept. 9 - Flores' 6:00 pm Class

              Library Task: Go into the Occupational Outlook Handbook  or Ferguson's Career Guidence Center from the links below and find the median salary for your career choice. 

                1. Highlight and copy the median salary for your career.
                2. Click on Comments, then Post New Comment link in this box.
                3. Put your FIRST name in the Your Name box.
                4. Leave the Your Email blank.
                5. Put your career in the Subject box. 
                6. Paste the median salary into the Comment box.
                7. Click on Post Comment and click on the OK in the next box.

                  What's your salary? What will you do? - Wed., July 9 - Gonzalez's 10:00 am Class

                  Library Task: Go into the Occupational Outlook Handbook  or Ferguson's Career Guidence Center from the links below and find the median salary for your career choice. 

                    1. Highlight and copy the median salary for your career.
                    2. Click on Comments, then Post New Comment link in this box.
                    3. Put your FIRST name in the Your Name box.
                    4. Leave the Your Email blank.
                    5. Put your career in the Subject box. 
                    6. Paste the median salary into the Comment box.
                    7. Click on Post Comment and click on the OK in the next box.

                      What's your salary? What will you do? - Mon., June 30 - Johnson's 1:30 pm Class

                      Library Task: Go into the Occupational Outlook Handbook  or Ferguson's Career Guidence Center from the links below and find the median salary for your career choice. 

                        1. Highlight and copy the median salary for your career.
                        2. Click on Comments, then Post New Comment link in this box.
                        3. Put your FIRST name in the Your Name box.
                        4. Leave the Your Email blank.
                        5. Put your career in the Subject box. 
                        6. Paste the median salary into the Comment box.
                        7. Click on Post Comment and click on the OK in the next box.

                          What's your salary? What will you do? - Sat., Apr. 12 - Velazquez's 9:30 am Class

                          Library Task: Go into the Occupational Outlook Handbook  or Ferguson's Career Guidence Center from the links below and find the median salary for your career choice. 

                            1. Highlight and copy the median salary for your career.
                            2. Click on Comments, then Post New Comment link in this box.
                            3. Put your FIRST name in the Your Name box.
                            4. Leave the Your Email blank.
                            5. Put your career in the Subject box. 
                            6. Paste the median salary into the Comment box.
                            7. Click on Post Comment and click on the OK in the next box.

                              What's your salary? What will you do? - Thur., Apr. 24 Diaz's 12:15 pm Class

                              Library Task: Go into the Occupational Outlook Handbook  or Ferguson's Career Guidence Center from the links below and find the median salary for your career choice. 

                                1. Highlight and copy the median salary for your career.
                                2. Click on Comments, then Post New Comment link in this box.
                                3. Put your FIRST name in the Your Name box.
                                4. Leave the Your Email blank.
                                5. Put your career in the Subject box. 
                                6. Paste the median salary into the Comment box.
                                7. Click on Post Comment and click on the OK in the next box.

                                  What's your salary? What will you do? - Thur., Apr. 24 Diaz's 1:30 pm Class

                                  Library Task: Go into the Occupational Outlook Handbook  or Ferguson's Career Guidence Center from the links below and find the median salary for your career choice. 

                                    1. Highlight and copy the median salary for your career.
                                    2. Click on Comments, then Post New Comment link in this box.
                                    3. Put your FIRST name in the Your Name box.
                                    4. Leave the Your Email blank.
                                    5. Put your career in the Subject box. 
                                    6. Paste the median salary into the Comment box.
                                    7. Click on Post Comment and click on the OK in the next box.

                                      What's your salary? What will you do? - Thur., Mar. 27 - Scott's 6:00 pm Class

                                      Library Task: Go into the Occupational Outlook Handbook  or Ferguson's Career Guidence Center from the links below and find the median salary for your career choice. 

                                        1. Highlight and copy the median salary for your career.
                                        2. Click on Comments, then Post New Comment link in this box.
                                        3. Put your FIRST name in the Your Name box.
                                        4. Leave the Your Email blank.
                                        5. Put your career in the Subject box. 
                                        6. Paste the median salary into the Comment box.
                                        7. Click on Post Comment and click on the OK in the next box.

                                          What's your salary? What will you do? - Thur., Mar. 6 - Nate's 6:00 pm Class

                                          Library Task: Go into the Occupational Outlook Handbook  or Ferguson's Career Guidence Center from the links below and find the median salary for your career choice. 

                                            1. Highlight and copy the median salary for your career.
                                            2. Click on Comments, then Post New Comment link in this box.
                                            3. Put your FIRST name in the Your Name box.
                                            4. Leave the Your Email blank.
                                            5. Put your career in the Subject box. 
                                            6. Paste the median salary into the Comment box.
                                            7. Click on Post Comment and click on the OK in the next box.

                                              What's your salary? What will you do? - Tues., Feb. 18 - Lucchelli's 9:25 am Class

                                              Library Task: Go into the Occupational Outlook Handbook  or Ferguson's Career Guidence Center from the links below and find the median salary for your career choice. 

                                                1. Highlight and copy the median salary for your career.
                                                2. Click on Comments, then Post New Comment link in this box.
                                                3. Put your FIRST name in the Your Name box.
                                                4. Leave the Your Email blank.
                                                5. Put your career in the Subject box. 
                                                6. Paste the median salary into the Comment box.
                                                7. Click on Post Comment and click on the OK in the next box.

                                                  What's your salary? What will you do? - Tues., Feb. 18 - Lucchelli's 8:00 am Class

                                                  Library Task: Go into the Occupational Outlook Handbook  or Ferguson's Career Guidence Center from the links below and find the median salary for your career choice. 

                                                    1. Highlight and copy the median salary for your career.
                                                    2. Click on Comments, then Post New Comment link in this box.
                                                    3. Put your FIRST name in the Your Name box.
                                                    4. Leave the Your Email blank.
                                                    5. Put your career in the Subject box. 
                                                    6. Paste the median salary into the Comment box.
                                                    7. Click on Post Comment and click on the OK in the next box.

                                                      What's your salary? What will you do? - Thur., Feb. 6 - Flores' 6:00 pm Class

                                                      Library Task: Go into the Occupational Outlook Handbook  or Ferguson's Career Guidence Center from the links below and find the median salary for your career choice. 

                                                        1. Highlight and copy the median salary for your career.
                                                        2. Click on Comments, then Post New Comment link in this box.
                                                        3. Put your FIRST name in the Your Name box.
                                                        4. Leave the Your Email blank.
                                                        5. Put your career in the Subject box. 
                                                        6. Paste the median salary into the Comment box.
                                                        7. Click on Post Comment and click on the OK in the next box.

                                                          What's your salary? What will you do? - Wed., Feb. 12 - Pryor's 1:40 pm Class

                                                          Library Task: Go into the Occupational Outlook Handbook  or Ferguson's Career Guidence Center from the links below and find the median salary for your career choice. 

                                                            1. Highlight and copy the median salary for your career.
                                                            2. Click on Comments, then Post New Comment link in this box.
                                                            3. Put your FIRST name in the Your Name box.
                                                            4. Leave the Your Email blank.
                                                            5. Put your career in the Subject box. 
                                                            6. Paste the median salary into the Comment box.
                                                            7. Click on Post Comment and click on the OK in the next box.

                                                              What's your salary? What will you do? - Wed., Feb. 12 - Pryor's 11:00 am Class

                                                              Library Task: Go into the Occupational Outlook Handbook  or Ferguson's Career Guidence Center from the links below and find the median salary for your career choice. 

                                                                1. Highlight and copy the median salary for your career.
                                                                2. Click on Comments, then Post New Comment link in this box.
                                                                3. Put your FIRST name in the Your Name box.
                                                                4. Leave the Your Email blank.
                                                                5. Put your career in the Subject box. 
                                                                6. Paste the median salary into the Comment box.
                                                                7. Click on Post Comment and click on the OK in the next box.

                                                                  What's your salary? What will you do? - Wed., Feb. 12 - Pryor's 12:15 pm Class

                                                                  Library Task: Go into the Occupational Outlook Handbook  or Ferguson's Career Guidence Center from the links below and find the median salary for your career choice. 

                                                                    1. Highlight and copy the median salary for your career.
                                                                    2. Click on Comments, then Post New Comment link in this box.
                                                                    3. Put your FIRST name in the Your Name box.
                                                                    4. Leave the Your Email blank.
                                                                    5. Put your career in the Subject box. 
                                                                    6. Paste the median salary into the Comment box.
                                                                    7. Click on Post Comment and click on the OK in the next box.

                                                                      Watcha gonna do with your life?

                                                                      Now What?

                                                                      Are we there yet?

                                                                      San Antonio College Library
                                                                      Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC), floors 2-4
                                                                      1819 North Main Avenue., San Antonio, TX 78212
                                                                      Call us: (210) 486-0570 | Send Email