Skip to main content

English 0351 - Kilby : Research-Based Paper: Home

Library Hours & Phone

Library Hours

Please see Today's Hours.


Phone

Circulation (3rd): 210-486-0570

Reserves (2nd): 210-486-0582
Interlibrary Loan (2nd): 210-486-0572
Reference (2nd): 210-486-0554
Reference (SMS text): 210-714-1649
Service Counter (4th): 210-486-1081

Main Library: 210-486-0559
Library Directory

Get your ID!

Students can check out up to 10 items. Print materials check out for 21 days. DVDs and CDs check out for 7 days. You must have your student ID.

Don't have an ID? Go to the Fletcher Administration Center to get one made while you wait. Your ID also helps you get discounts around town and free entrance to all the art museums. Visit the ID center page for location/hours.

Welcome English 0351 Students!

Paper 3:  A Research-Based Theme for ENGA 0351 AND 0361, SAC, Feb. 10, 2016, Dr. Kilby

Write a research-based persuasive paper of six paragraphs and 300-400 words.  Observe this word limit in the two drafts and final copy.  Use MLA style.  Write on a current and controversial national-level domestic (U.S.) issue related to your major or career goal.  See the outline of the paper on the back side of this sheet.  Avoid topics that have long been the subject of debate or that you’ve written about before.  I will choose a topic from among several you suggest.  I will also show you samples of past papers of students.

The word count includes the title and text, not the heading or works cited page.  You will do at least one draft of the paper, possibly two, and a final one.     

At least one credible scholarly academic and professional source from 2011 to the present must be used in one of the body paragraphs.  These should appear in internal citations and your works cited page.  Periodical databases of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles will have the most current information.  Try to use different types of sources (newspaper articles, magazine articles, journal articles, web pages of agencies, organizations or institutions, books or reference books, government documents, etc.).  Focus first on using the academic databases in your major, the CQ Researcher, and major newspaper databases like LexisNexis and magazine databases.

To find a topic, you can do a search on your career goal or major in CQ Researcher.  You can also search google.com under these terms:   X [your major or career goal] and controversy or X and associations.  You can also just put in your thesis as a string of words:  Why _____Should ____.  Also try these:  arguments for ___ or arguments against ____.  Finally, use the words association and ___ [your major or career goal] in google to find the Web sites of your national professional associations.  Visiting these can acquaint you with the issues that are of concern for them.  Especially check the tab called “advocacy” because this often has their group’s position papers on current and controversial issues or pending federal legislation.

The first and last paragraphs of your paper, as well as the topic sentences of your two body paragraphs, should contain no research.  Use short sentences of ten to twelve words each.

Introductory and final paragraphs are five sentences maximum in length, and body paragraphs contain five to eight.  

With both the drafts and final copy, include internal citations and a page with the work cited.  

The first draft will be at least the first two paragraphs, the work cited page if a source is used in paragraph two, and your marked source article if you used one.  The second draft will include your revision of draft one and the addition of paragraphs three, four, five, and six, the work cited page, and your marked photocopied source article.  Submit the required drafts on their due dates before the final copy is due.  

The final copy includes two copies of your final paper and works cited and one copy of the marked source article.  I use the extra copy of the paper to show future students, with your permission.  The two drafts submitted by the deadlines for them count for half of the paper’s credit.  The final copy submitted by the deadline counts for the remaining half.  Even if a draft is submitted late and you receive no credit for it, submit it to gain feedback.   Indicate in your heading whether you’re submitting a draft or final copy.  The date will be that of the draft or final paper deadline.

Photocopy articles you use and place an asterisk (*) in pencil to the left of sentences you have used. Submit the articles with the drafts and final copy. You will be turning in photocopies of any material you cite in your paper in summary, paraphrase or direct quotation form.

Whenever you turn in the final copy, submit the previously edited draft(s) too, unless I let you know that I kept a photocopy of them.   Also turn in two copies of your final paper and one copy of your photocopied articles used in it.

Consult your textbook’s section on research documentation (and the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed., New York:  Modern Language Association, 2009, if you have it).

Due Dates

Draft 1 with first two paragraphs, work cited page, and marked source article   _________________

Draft 2 with all four paragraphs, work cited page, and marked source article     _________________

Final copy, with two copies of the paper and works cited, one marked          _________________

source article

Outline

Title:  Why _____ Should _____

I.          Introduction

            A.  General intro. (3 sentences)

            B.  Thesis statement (“_____ should _____”)

            C.  Forecast sentence (“Doing so could help _____   _____ and _____ (who do what and

                  the benefit)” or “There are three reasons why”)

II.        Argument (Benefit) 1

            A.  Topic sentence (First, __ should ___ because ___)

B.  Discussion (benefits and for whom and how they could result)

C.  Support from a source

III.       Argument (Benefit) 2

            A.  Topic sentence (Second, ___ should ___ because ___)

            B.  Discussion (benefits and for whom and how they could result)

            C.  Support from a source

IV.       Argument (Benefit) 3

            A.  Topic sentence (Second, ___ should ___ because ___)

            B.  Discussion (benefits and for whom and how they could result)

            C.  Support from a source

 V.       Counterarguments (in order of those presented)

            A.  Topic sentence

            B.   Opposing benefit one

            C.   Opposing benefit two

             D.   Opposing benefit three

             E.    Reasons why these are not as strong as yours

 VI.      Summary and Conclusion

            A.  Summary (2 sentences)

      1.  Repeat thesis statement

       2. Repeat forecast sentence

B.  Conclusion (broad, memorable parting thoughts) (3 sentences)

*Each Roman numeral stands for a different paragraph. (See your essay format handout for a sample persuasive paper.)

Subject Guide

Tom Bahlinger's picture
Tom Bahlinger

Like Us on Facebook!

Or follow us on Twitter.

SAC Library, Moody Learning Center, 2nd-5th floors

Moody Learning Center, 4th floor

 

2nd floor (North) - Reference collection, Reference desk, LIBRARIANS, Internet computers, Group Study Rooms

2nd floor (South) - Library Instruction classrooms

3rd floor - Circulating collection (check out books & media), Circulation desk, Group Study Rooms

4th floor - Library McAllister Collection & Performance Area, Group Study Rooms, Quiet Study Area, Reserve collection, Reserve desk, Interlibrary Loan, GET CHANGE & PAY FINES $$

5th floor - Library Faculty & Staff Offices, Acquisitions, Discoverying

San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212
Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5
Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email
Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer

Copyright © 2015 San Antonio College