Skip to main content

English 1301 - Aguilar, Liz Ann: Spring 2017: Home/Annotated Bibliography

Healthy energy boosters???

Library Hours & Phone

Library Hours

Please see Today's Hours.


Phone

Circulation (3rd): 210-486-0570

Reserves (2nd): 210-486-0582
Interlibrary Loan (2nd): 210-486-0572
Reference (2nd): 210-486-0554
Reference (SMS text): 210-714-1649
Service Counter (4th): 210-486-1081

Main Library: 210-486-0559
Library Directory

Welcome English 1301 Students

This guide is designed for Liz Ann Aguilar's English 1301 students. The resources found in this guide will help you find articles for your research and writing assignments.

Annotated Bibliography

Annotated Bibliography

For this assignment, you will turn in four (4) annotated bibliographies.  The following four steps will instruct you on how to complete the assignment.

Step I: You will need to research four (4) peer-reviewed journal articles. Of the four articles, two articles will focus on alcoholism and energy drinks and two articles will focus on any topic of your choice.  

Step II: You must print out the articles and read the articles completely and take notes.  As you are reading, you must ask yourself if the article does focus its attention on the topic or stray away from the topic.

Step III: Once the articles have been read, you will write the article’s bibliographic information [author, title, journal, etc.] at the top of the page and follow with your annotation of the source. 

Step IV: The annotation consists of a discussion of the article’s content and to what extent does the article explore the topic and its meaning.

 

*NOTE: You are not allowed to use wikipedia or other encyclopedias, book reviews, or magazines for this assignment.  You must select those journal articles located within our library’s databases. Please follow MLA documentation guidelines.

Annotated bibliography example:

Roberson, Donald N. & Sharan Merriam. “The Self-Directed Learning Process of Older,

                Rural Adults.”  Adult Education Quarterly, vol.  55, no.  4, 2005, pp. 269-287.

In this article, both Roberson and Merriam are trying to understand how self-directed learning is perceived through a random selection of older, rural participants. The participants ranged from the ages of 75-87 with a minimum age requirement of 70, and the sample of people was drawn from a rural population of South Georgia. The result of the study emphasized the notion that older adults do not learn to do something just to keep their minds off things, but that they choose to learn about something based on how that particular “something” has affected their lives. One example that was discussed in the study was the scenario of one of the participants having been given the news that his wife was diagnosed with a terminal illness. This life-change caused him to learn as much as he could about the disease.  The study also proves that there is a desire for a person to learn when given the motivation or influence of something to cause them to want to learn.

                The article presented a thorough overview of the history of Self-Directed Learning (SDL), and it also gave a good description of the different types of models that are applied with SDL. The topic was a positive strength for the study of SDL because this study has the opportunity to develop into a greater project by evaluating urban versus rural populations and evaluating the nuances that exist within both populations. The only weakness that I am able to critique is that the article did not choose a larger sample number. The study had ten participants which could have been increased to fifteen or twenty considering that it is a qualitative study and the increased number of participants could have added some more valuable information and even benefited the study even more.  With the given strengths and weakness, the article was useful in three ways: 1) It gave a critical view of the background of SDL, 2) It focused on an older, rural population that is an interesting component to the study, and 3) It articulates the significance of SDL in older adult learners.            

                This article contributes to our knowledge of SDL and how qualitative research helps us understand the multidimensional levels of learning. This article gives us an opportunity to evaluate how resources play an integral part in the process of learning and how people in their elder years respond to learning through various life changes.

Subject Guide

Eileen Oliver's picture
Eileen Oliver
Contact:
San Antonio College Library
1001 Howard St.
San Antonio, TX 78212
210-486-0577
Website / Blog Page
San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212
Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5
Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email
Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer

Copyright © 2015 San Antonio College