Research Paper - Arts 1301 - Dietz, Rebecca: Themes in Art

Research Paper Assignment

Final Research Paper

The research paper explores larger themes in art and culture, as found in Part 5, “The Themes of Art: Seeing Continuity and Change Over Time. Students will work in groups of 2 or 3 to select one chapter (Chapter 21-27 only) for this assignment. Each student will select a different artwork within the selected chapter for independent research and submit the research paper on canvas for grading. After the paper is due, we will have workshop day for the groups to compare and contrast how their artworks fulfill their theme. Then each group will present their artwork in comparison to the theme, in group presentations.

The paper has been broken down into steps to facilitate research and time-management

Proposal Due, 11/9: In class: select partners, review Part 5, “The Themes of Art: Seeing Continuity and Change Over Time. As a group, select your chapter. Each person in the group will select a different artwork from this chapter. Proposal is due at the end of class.
Cover Page Due, 11/10: Each student will create and upload their cover page on canvas.
Library Research Week: to find scholarly research material and create your bibliography.
Bibliography Due, 11/17 Upload your bibliography of sources, correctly formatted on canvas.
Research Paper Due, 11/28: Each person will work independently to research and write his/her own paper. Attach cover page and bibliography and upload on canvas.
Workshop Day : Bring a copy of your research paper and textbook to class. Work with your partner(s) to compare and contrast how each artwork fulfills or expresses the theme of the chapter.
Group Presentation Begin 11/30: Describe the overall theme presented in your selected chapter. Then compare and contrast how each artwork fulfills the theme. We will have

Research Paper, 2-3 pages

Cover Page: Attach your cover page to the front of your document

Section 1: Chapter Overview, (½ page, minimum)

Read the full chapter, making notes on the different cultural approaches described in each sub-category. Read over the learning objectives at the beginning of the chapter. These often provide good reference points to understanding the theme and variation of material in the chapter.

Proved an overview of the theme presented in your selected chapter.

Compare how the theme is expressed in art, in cultures and over history. Are there similarity or differences?
Select (at least) 1 Learning Objective. Describe the theme and variation of the concept across the different sub-chapters. Ideally the L.O. should be relevant to your selected artwork.
Reference 2 or 3 different sub-chapters in your exploration of the L.O.

Section 2 : Identify Artwork, Media & Process (Chapters 8-13), Physical Description, (½ page)

In paragraph with complete sentences introduce your artwork with the following information.

Artist Name, Title of Artwork, Country of Origin, Medium, Date,
Media and Process: Provide a detailed description of the media (materials used) and the process (construction technique) using art-specific terminology found in the textbook Part 3, Ch. 8 – 13. Be as detailed and accurate as possible. Demonstrate your knowledge. For example, if this is a painting, read chapter 9. Painting. Which paint media is it? What are the ingredients? If it is architecture, sculpture, installation, craft, printmaking…read the chapter in your textbook and be specific.
Physical Description: Provide a good physical description of the artwork: subject matter, composition, surface textures, color or value , height, etc.

Section 3 : Historical Research, (1/2- 1 page).

Historical Research of the artist and artwork you have selected may include:

Artist: the time-period, culture, country
Culture or Subculture for anonymous or ancient artworks closely associated with a certain culture, tribe, sub-culture. (i.e Maori, Tibbetan Buddhism)
Genre: artworks fall into larger categories of shared style and concepts, like “Surrealism” or “Baroque” Find the genre that fits each artwork for a broader study of styles and concepts.

Section 4: Thematic Observation & Comparison (1/2 page)

Describe how your artwork fits the chapter theme. Reflect back on your introductory paragraph on the chapter theme. How does your artwork fit within this theme? Draw from your historical research, your notes on the chapter theme, the learning objectives at the start of the chapter. Is there any new information you have discovered in your research about the artist, culture, genre, or subject matter that relates to the theme?

Personal Reflection: How do you relate to the artwork, culture and theme? Do you share the values or meaning expressed in this artwork? If the artwork is much older than you, or from a distant culture, why did you select it? If the artwork is contemporary to you, or from a culture you belong or relate to, why did you chose it?

Bibliography: Attach your bibliography to the end of your research paper.

Format/Upload

Word doc, docx, pdf,
12pt type, double spaced and 1-inch margins top, bottom, side,
Italicize Titles of Artwork, Capitalize first letter: Artist Names, Titles, Chapters
Good quality photographs of artwork, not distorted, for cover page.
Upload through canvas by deadline.

Plagiarism will result in a ZERO grade value for the paper. Be sure to use your own words.

Quotes: Less than 20% of your paper can be direct quotes. Quotes should be used sparingly and only when the author has expressed a unique view point that cannot be re-worded. Quotes must be contained in quotation marks and followed by a foot note number. At the bottom of the page the foot note should contain the author, text and page number of the source of the quote

Cover Page

Review Part 5 of your textbook (8^th ed.; Chapters 21-27) which is dedicated to various themes explored in works of art and architecture over a variety of cultures throughout history. Select a chapter / theme that intrigues your group and contains artwork that you all find visually engaging. Read the chapter to grasp the theme and concept. Each person in the group will select 1 artwork for research and presentation from this chapter.

Cover Page: Create a cover page for your research paper that contains the following information

Title of the paper: Comparative Research Paper on [Insert Theme, Chapter, Author and Textbook]
Names of all students in your group
A good quality photograph of YOUR ARTWORK ONLY)
Artist’s Name, Title of Work, Date, Country/Culture ( of YOUR ARTWORK ONLY)
Process & Media (of YOUR ARTWORK ONLY)

Bibliography, Source Material

Our Reference Librarian will introduce you to scholarly resource sites containing professional articles that will provide the basis for your research paper.

Bibliography: Four (or more) professions sources of information from the following sources.

Textbook, “A World of Art” 8^th Edition, Henry Sayre, Pearson, 2016
2 Scholarly Resources: Library book, or online journals accessed though the library webpage)
Web Articles from Professional Sources: Any number of online articles from professional sources on the web. (Museums, Professionally recognized galleries, encyclopedias, news papers / magazine)
no Wikipedia or Non-Professional Sources like Blogs

Bibliography Formatting Requirements: These are my simplified requirements.

Books: “Title of Book”, Author, Publisher, Date, pages referenced.

“Post-Modern Concepts”, Jackie Artsnob, Focal Press Books, pgs 30-35, 200-225

Scholarly Web Sources: “Title of Article”, Author, Online Publication, Database

“Post-Modern Concepts”, Jackie Artsnob, Grove Art Online, Oxford Art Online Database

General Web Sources: “Title of Article”, Author, Online Publication, Copy & Paste Link

“Post-Modern Concepts”, Jackie Artsnob, MOMA Online, www.postmodern-artsnob@Moma.org