Search - English 1301 - Cruz-Gonzales, Norma - Career Education Research

Searching as Strategic Exploration

eBook Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full text ebook editions of reference works published by Gale Research, Charles Scribner's Sons, MacMillan Reference, and their divisions.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly research and information on all areas of education and all educational specialties, such as: multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, and related social issues. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals and the full text of 750+ journals. Full text of 80+ books also available along with full text for education-related conference papers.
ERIC (U.S. Dept. of Education) This link opens in a new window
Educational Resource Information Center, contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
One-stop source for news and periodical articles. Includes the databases in General Reference Gold.
Access World News Research Collection | NewsBank | Includes access to San Antonio Express-News This link opens in a new window
Includes access to San Antonio Express-News.
International, national, regional, state and local news content from all 50 U.S. states as well as more than 2,700 international news sources from 139 countries. News content may be included in its original published language or translated into English.
Discovery: search the catalog and more This link opens in a new window
Your all-in-one search tool to find books, media, articles, and more.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
The OOH can help you find information on job duties, required education and training, salary, and the job outlook your career.
O*NET OnLine
Lists all the basic information about careers plus offers you an in-depth look at special knowledge, skills, and abilities required in each job. Includes charts that compare salaries from your state to the nation and links to real time job ads.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Information on 2000 jobs in 93 industries plus tips on interviewing, skills employers look for in potential employees and how to prepare a resume. The resource section includes information on selecting a college, applying for admission to a college, scholarships and grants and professional associations and publications by industry.

Library Assignment:

Find an article related to some aspect of your elder's life such as family traditions over the holidays, values passed on to you, financial/health concerns of your elder, or historic events your elder participated in.

On a sheet of paper, answer the following questions:

What topic did you research?
List the keywords you used.
Which resources (for example: Discovery, Health Source: Consumer Edition, Access World News) did you use?
Explain why you did, or why you did not like your search results.