Skip to main content

English 1301 - Shute, Bill: Capital Punishment: Home

Revise or Abolish?

Image from ARTstor database

Creator United Book Guild
Title Abolish Capital Punishment
Date 1965-80
Description Posters of political protest
Subject Political Issues
Collection Eyes of the Nation: A Visual History of the United States (Library of Congress)
   
Source Image and original data from: Virga, Vincent, and Curators of the Library of Congress, with commentary by Alan Brinkley (2004). Eyes of the Nation: A Visual History of the United States. Charlestown, MA: Bunker Hill Publishing.

Library Hours & Phone

Library Hours

Please see Today's Hours.


Phone

Circulation (3rd): 210-486-0570

Reserves (2nd): 210-486-0582
Interlibrary Loan (2nd): 210-486-0572
Reference (2nd): 210-486-0554
Reference (SMS text): 210-714-1649
Service Counter (4th): 210-486-1081

Main Library: 210-486-0559
Library Directory

Hey, ENGL 1301 students!

This LibGuide will help you through the process of research for your project. Feel free to contact me if you need help at any time.

1. Define Topic: What do you know? Verify with Background Info.

2. Devise Strategy: What do you want to find out? List keywords.

3. Search Sources: Look at Books, Articles, web sites, etc.

 

EVALUATE what you're doing: Change your keywords/database; Are you finding good stuff?

Argumentation/Persuasion Paper--two options in terms of content/position on this paper:

*CAPITAL PUNISHMENT                

   1) Keep the present system, with some revisions

    2) Opposed to capital punishment in all situations

--1300+ words (not including quotes or outline or works cited page in word count)

--3+ different sources, ALL coming from the OPPOSING VIEWPOINTS database. NO OTHER SOURCES ALLOWED!   

--2+ quotes and 1+ paraphrases, each with proper lead-in-phrase and parenthetical citation

--detailed outline accounting for EVERY paragraph in the paper except Introduction/Conclusion

--MLA-format Works Cited page

--all quotes and paraphrases will be highlighted and notated/numbered in margin by hand (not on computer), Q1, P1, Q2,  etc.

--Typed, double-spaced, with detailed outline and word count     14 point Times New Roman font

Must also follow ALL rules and guidelines discussed in class and/or found on pages two and three of this assignment

--TYPED TOPIC, SPECIFIC POSITION, and 3 ARGUMENTS (2 copies)

--TWO TYPED PARAGRAPHS FROM THE PAPER’S BODY, ONE CONTAINING A QUOTE AND THE 

          OTHER CONTAINING A PARAPHRASE

       (they will be checked for documentation form and paragraph structure)

(note: minus 2 points for each of the above assignments not being ready in the proper format on the assigned day, and 2 more points will be taken off for each additional class day each item is not ready in its assigned form)

You MAY NOT able to print this paper at SAC on the morning it’s due...it must be printed/highlighted/notated in advance.

Late papers will receive half-credit and will not be marked or returned to you.

PAPERS NOT RECEIVED ON DUE DATE AT CLASS TIME WILL RECEIVE A ZERO, which will cause you to get an automatic F for the semester.

Using the techniques covered in class lectures and in your printouts, you must argue why the average citizen should adopt YOUR position on the issue.  Please avoid the fallacies covered in class (take notes) and on your fallacies printout.

Presume that your audience is a fair-minded cross-section of San Antonio, but people who for one reason or another have not taken a position on your topic.

All assertions you make in this paper must be backed up by factual information from legitimate sources. Factual information that is not common knowledge must be cited as a quote or a paraphrase or it will be considered plagiarized, resulting in a ZERO for your paper.

You will lose .5 (1/2 of a point)  from your final score for each fragment, comma splice, or fused sentence in your paper.

Do not use any form of the word “you” in this essay.

After you explain the history/background of your topic and take your specific position in the introduction, the paper will be organized around each of your arguments, and each argument must be made in the form of a precise, specific assertive topic sentence.

I will be happy to look over your paper with you at any stage of completion, up through Wed. 11/18 at class time, as long as what you have to show me is typed and double-spaced. Please bring your outline with you when you show me a draft of your paper.

NO PAPER UNDER 1000 WORDS WILL BE ACCEPTED. NO PAPER WITHOUT AT LEAST 3 SOURCES  & 2 QUOTES

& 1 PARAPHRASE  & a WORKS CITED PAGE will be accepted--any of those situations will get you a zero.

Remember, ANY wording or ideas or factual info copied from ANY source without being documented and worked into the paper as either a quote or a paraphrase will be considered plagiarism and will result in an AUTOMATIC ZERO on your paper.

NO FORM OF THE WORD “YOU” MAY BE USED IN YOUR PAPER..

ALL PROPOSALS MUST PASS THE TEST OF CONSTITUTIONALITY...

UNLESS YOU HAVE PERSONAL EXPERIENCE WITH CAPITAL PUNISHMENT (and clear it with me in advance), YOU SHOULD NOT USE “I” or “ME” anywhere in this paper.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

OUTLINE with proper heading, arguments and subpoints (if argument is more than one Par.), word count

INTRO w/ background, relevance of topic, definitions, specifics of proposal, arguments in order

BODY PARAGRAPHS organized around your arguments with facts from databases (presented only in quotes and/or paraphrases) presented in support. 

CONCLUSION                                   finally, MLA FORMAT WORKS CITED PAGE

Our 5 main goals:

  1. Explore a variety of research tools
  2. Uncover NEW keywords & phrases
  3. Create a flexible search strategy using AND & *
  4. Share the title of one relevant source
  5. Discuss how we might use that source
Loading

SAC Library, Moody Learning Center, 2nd-5th floors

Moody Learning Center, 4th floor

 

2nd floor (North) - Reference collection, Reference desk, LIBRARIANS, Internet computers, Group Study Rooms

2nd floor (South) - Library Instruction classrooms

3rd floor - Circulating collection (check out books & media), Circulation desk, Group Study Rooms

4th floor - Library McAllister Collection & Performance Area, Group Study Rooms, Quiet Study Area, Reserve collection, Reserve desk, Interlibrary Loan, GET CHANGE & PAY FINES $$

5th floor - Library Faculty & Staff Offices, Acquisitions, Cataloging

Librarian

Celita Ávila
Contact:
San Antonio College Library
1819 N. Main Ave
San Antonio, TX 78212
avilacelita@gmail.com
210-486-0563
Website / Blog Page
San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212
Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5
Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email
Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer

Copyright © 2015 San Antonio College