SACS Comprehensive Standard 2.9
The institution, through ownership or formal arrangements or agreements, provides and supports student and faculty access and user privileges to adequate library collections and services and to other learning/information resources consistent with the degrees offered. Collections, resources, and services are sufficient to support all its education, research, and public service programs. (Learning Resources and Services)
The complete renovation of the seven floors of the MOODY LEARNING CENTER, which includes the three and one half floors that are devoted to the library, have greatly improved the ability of the library to fulfill its mission, especially its goal to provide equipment, furniture and an environment that promotes learning.
1. The increase in space of approximately 40% provides adequate space for current collections and moderate growth, for student use computer stations, for library instruction computer classrooms, for student study, for storage, for service desks, for individual staff work stations, and for technical services work areas. In early 2009, there were no group study rooms, no comfortable (upholstered) seating, and only a few badly marred individual study carrels. Since October of 2013, there have been eighteen group study rooms with an average capacity of six each, comfortable upholstered seating for 157, and 112 individual study carrels. If every single seat in the library was occupied, the total would be 972 -- 10% of the 9290 student FTEs. But more importantly (although sufficient statistics are not yet available) it is obvious that better seating and lighting and a quieter, more spacious and more attractive atmosphere are drawing more students to the library and they are staying longer.
2. Lighting has been improved to library standards.
3. Improved entryways and other sound proofing have greatly diminished the noise.
4. Two new classrooms for library instruction now include seating and PCs for the largest classes.
5. Included in the renovation was replacement of outdated PCs and other equipment as well as new furniture.
6. The new public areas now have Wi Fi as well as sufficient outlets for students to recharge their electronic devices.
7. A new performance area, equipped with a stage, podium, projector, computer, sound equipment and screen now enables the library to schedule cultural events that seat an audience of up to 75.
8. Placing most public services (Reference, Reserve and Classrooms) on the 2nd Floor (the main entry floor of the building) is a more efficient grouping of most service functions. However, the design of the building requires multiple entries/exits not only for public functions on the 2nd Floor but also for Circulation on the 3rd Floor and the study areas and special collections on the 4th Floor. This is not ideal for security, for traffic flow or for the efficient distribution of service staff. However, only a building dedicated to the library could eliminate those imperfections, and those shortcomings do not yet prevent the library from carrying out its mission. However, as the number of library employees continues to decline, it is increasingly difficult to staff all the public service areas and it may be necessary to reduce public hours.
Library facilities include the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th floors of the Moody Learning Center as well as MLC 500 on the 5th Floor.
1. 10/2010: Completion of the 3rd Floor [Library Circulation] of the Moody Learning Center
2. 08/2011: Completion of the library portion of the 5th Floor [Staff offices, work areas, and storage]
3. 01/2013: Completion of the Reference portion (MLC 200) of the 2nd Floor.
4. 06/2013: Completion of the Reserves portion (MLC 207) of the 2nd Floor.
5. 08/2013: Completion of the library instruction computer classrooms (MLC 208 & 209) on the 2nd Floor.
6. 10/2013: Completion of the 4th Floor [Library student study area, performance area and special collections]
The library faculty and staff can only recommend improvements to facilities. Actual decisions are made at a higher level. How does the library decide what recommendations to make?
1. Each year the Director forms a committee to prepare an annual Unit Review. All library faculty and staff are encouraged to provide input as to what has been accomplished in the past year as well as what needs to be accomplished and the resources needed to accomplish those goals. A library committee prepares and submits a much more detailed Unit Review every five years.
2. The committee submits its recommendations to the Dean of Learning Resources.
3. If funding for renovations that affect the library are approved, the library puts together a committee of faculty and staff to make recommendations and to work with architects and others regarding the needs and design to meet those needs. Sometimes the library's recommendations are encouraged and even implemented -- and sometimes not.
4. Once a facilities renovation is underway, an individual librarian or staff member is usually chosen to monitor the project or a portion thereof. This monitor attends regular meetings with construction / architectural / facilities / administration oversight people and serves as the liaison between the library and others. He tries to identify and inform relevant parties of potential interruptions of the library's operations as well as other problems or mistakes before they become permanent and may suggest changes / improvements to the plans.