Skip to main content

Criminal Justice 1301 - Cox, Tiffany: Home

Resources and search strategies for your criminal justice topics.

OLD CONTENT ALERT

Please note: This LibGuide has not been updated in a while!

If you're a student or instructor using this LibGuide for research, send me a quick email to let me know. I'll be happy to update sources and search tips for you and your assignment.

Library Hours & Phone

Library Hours

Please see Today's Hours.


Phone

Circulation (3rd): 210-486-0570

Reserves (2nd): 210-486-0582
Interlibrary Loan (2nd): 210-486-0572
Reference (2nd): 210-486-0554
Reference (SMS text): 210-714-1649
Service Counter (4th): 210-486-1081

Main Library: 210-486-0559
Library Directory

SAC Library, Moody Learning Center, 2nd-5th floors

Moody Learning Center, 4th floor

 

2nd floor (North) - Reference collection, Reference desk, LIBRARIANS, Internet computers, Group Study Rooms

2nd floor (South) - Library Instruction classrooms

3rd floor - Circulating collection (check out books & media), Circulation desk, Group Study Rooms

4th floor - Library McAllister Collection & Performance Area, Group Study Rooms, Quiet Study Area, Reserve collection, Reserve desk, Interlibrary Loan, GET CHANGE & PAY FINES $$

5th floor - Library Faculty & Staff Offices, Acquisitions, Discoverying

Welcome

Hey! This LibGuide will help you through the process of research for your project. Feel free to contact me if you need help at any time.

1. Define Topic: What do you know? Verify with Background Info.

2. Devise Strategy: What do you want to find out? List keywords.

3. Search Sources: Look at Books, Articles, web sites, etc.

 

EVALUATE what you're doing: Change your keywords/database; Are you finding appropriate items?

Assignment

Tiffany Cox (tcox29@alamo.edu)

CRIJ 1301

Topics: Research Paper The research paper is due in class on Tuesday, December 2nd. You can print it and submit a paper copy, or email it to me by the beginning of class on the due date. No late papers will be accepted. Paper Topic Here are some suggested topics. You are not limited to the list below. I encourage you to create your own topic. • Campus Crime. • Child Abuse. • Cybercrime. • Domestic Violence. • Elder Abuse. • Environmental Crime. • Hate Crime. • Homicide. • Human Trafficking. • Identity Theft. • Juvenile Delinquency. • Organizational Crime. • Prostitution. • Robbery. • Sex Offenses. • Terrorism. • Theft and Shoplifting. • White-Collar Crime. • Wildlife Crime. • Criminal Courts. • Drug Courts. • Felon Disenfranchisement • Juvenile Justice • Offender Reentry • Racial Profiling • Restorative Justice • Wrongful Conviction • Youth Gangs

The Writing Process How should I start? Laws address problems in our society. Start by exploring a topic that interests you and identify a problem. Discuss how the law has attempted to address that problem and evaluate the solutions to see if they are effective. Make suggestions of your own. Let me know what you think. How will I grade your paper? I will grade based on content, organization, readability, and grammar.

Content includes your ideas as well as your research. o Organization includes external transitions (section to section) and internal transitions (paragraph to paragraph and sentence to sentence). o Readability means how well the paper flows. Avoid wordiness and the passive voice. o Grammar includes spelling and other grammar errors including subject-verb agreement. Please write your paper in third person. You should always avoid using personal pronouns such as you and I in a researched paper. To state your opinion, you could use a phrase like "the author suggests".

Grading Rubric: Content 125 Organization 25 Readability 25 Grammar 25 Total possible points: 200 How long does this need to be? Your paper should include five to seven pages. APA style also requires a Cover Page, Abstract and a References page with a list of your sources. The cover page, abstract and references page do not count toward the five to seven pages. Your paper should be double spaced and Times New Roman 12 point font with 1 inch margins. Sources At least five references are required for this paper. I recommend going to the SAC library and beginning your research there. Speak with a reference librarian to get started. The SAC online library is also a fantastic resource for accessing databases with journal articles on your topic. What is APA Style? For writing tips and information on the APA style, check out the Online Writing Lab at Purdue University, found here: https://owl.english.purdue.edu/. Also, as a SAC student, you can ALWAYS get help at the SAC Writing Center, Gonzales Hall, room 203. Here’s a link for more information about the Writing Center: http://alamo.edu/sac/wctr/. Plagiarism Do not plagiarize (copying or using the work of others without giving them credit). Use parenthetical citations within your paper to document all quotations, ideas, and opinions that are not yours. Your parenthetical citations should match up with the references on the References page. Avoid long quotations. I read your writing… not what another author has written.

Subject Guide

Celita Ávila's picture
Celita Ávila
Contact:
San Antonio College Library
1819 N. Main Ave
San Antonio, TX 78212
avilacelita@gmail.com
210-486-0563
Website / Blog Page

Like Us on Facebook!

Or follow us on Twitter.

San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212
Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5
Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email
Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer

Copyright © 2015 San Antonio College