FREE WEB SITES
- Child Care & Early Education Research Connections A continuously updated, multidisciplinary database of nearly 10,000 resources including peer-reviewed journal articles, books, research reports, grey literature, government documents, and more.
- Child Development Institute The “go to” site for parents for information, products and services related to child development, psychology, health, parenting, learning, media, entertainment, family activities as well as to connect with other parents, professional experts organizations and other useful websites.
Contains information and resources relevant to both teachers and parents, including current articles on child development, a child-care locator,and a guide to buying educational toys for children.
- ECAP Collaborative
An early childhood and parenting collaborative database designed to provide access to a wide variety of educational materials for this age group.
An extensive web site for kids, teachers, and parents. It offers homework help for kids, lesson plans, tips on cooking, shopping and travel for parents.
- Learning Network-Parent Channel
Contains information for parents on family activities, school help, entertainment, and family finance.
- National National Institute of Early Child Health and Human Development
This government site offers reliable information on current health and human development topics. It also covers research and funding opportunities.
Parent.Com is an online magazine that provides information on a variety of topics, including child development, pregnancy, health, safety, fun, and travel
ProTeacher contains child development theories, research and resources including learning styles and special needs for elementary school teachers and counselors.
- Zero to Three
Provides information for both parents and professionals including tips of the week, developmental milestones, choosing quality child care, leadership development and resource lists.
LibGuides for Specific Course Assignments and Outcomes
These guides take you through researching a topic in the article databases, library Discovery for books and dvds, and a variety of quality background sources.