Skip to main content

Education: Home

Free web sites.

Education

GENERAL

Ask Eric
"...a federally-funded national information system that provides, through its 16 subject-specific clearinghouses, associated adjunct clearinghouses, and support components, a variety of services and products on a broad range of education-related issues."

Educator's Reference Desk
Provides high quality resources for educators.

Awesome Library
"... organizes the Web with 22,000 carefully reviewed resources, including the top 5 percent in education.

Education Week on the Web
This site offers full text of Education Week and Teacher Magazine and information on education, including daily news, special reports, and hot topics.

Kathy Schrock's Guide for Educators
"...is a categorized list of sites useful for enhancing curriculum and professional growth. It is updated often to include the best sites for teaching and learning."

DIRECTORIES

Search lists for: American Universities / International Universities / Canadian Universities / Community Colleges

Texas Education Agency: School District Locator
Includes interactive map showing exact location of K-12 schools, and provides accountability ratings and population statistics.

School Report Express
This service is "designed to give you all the information you need to identify school districts which meet your family's educational needs and goals" when relocating to another city or state. Find comparative statistics such as school size, student/teacher ratio, and class size. [Site created by Homesbyrealtor.com]

GradSchools.com
Provides graduate school information. You can search by program or by school.

Education.org
Provides directories for all kinds of schools and also schools specializing in: architecture, art, business, CAD, computer, cooking, design, fashion, graphic design, guitar, medical, nursing, performing arts, photography, web design, and enviro-education.

ORGANIZATIONS

American Association of Community Colleges
"AACC has been a national voice for two-year associate degree granting institutions since its inception in 1920... to promote the goals of community colleges and higher education."

Texas Classroom Teachers Association
"TCTA is a nonprofit, nonunion professional education association with more than 40,000 members in schools and communities throughout the Lone Star State."

Texas Community College Teachers Association (TCCTA)
TCCTA "has developed this Web site to provide members with the latest tools to communicate quickly and effectively with one another and stay abreast of the latest information regarding community and technical colleges in Texas.

Texas State Teachers Association
The web site of TSTA ... "the largest education association in the state of Texas ... and affiliated with the National Education Association."

Educational Organizations
Links to education agencies and groups in Texas and the U.S.

STATE & FEDERAL GOV'T

U.S. Department of Education
Provides information about the offices and programs of the U.S. Department of Education (ED), education initiatives of the President and the Secretary, the full text of ED reports and publications. Links to grant information, teachers guides, Goals 2000, Topics A-Z, and much more.

Texas Education Agency
Provides information about TEA and links to other education resources.

Yahoo! Education : Government Agencies
Collection of government resources related to education.

CURRICULUM

AT&T Knowledge Network Explorer

Kathy Schrock's Guide for Educators
"...is a categorized list of sites useful for enhancing curriculum and professional growth. It is updated often to include the best sites for teaching and learning."

PBS TeacherSource
4,000+ free lesson plans and activities.

TESTING, STANDARDS & STATISTICS

CRESST: National Center for Research on Evaluation, Standards, and Student Testing

ERIC Clearinghouse on Assessment and Evaluation
"provides balanced information concerning educational assessment, evaluation and research methodology."

Buros Institute of Mental Measurements
Need help finding a test? Need reviews of a test? Need instructions for using Buros publications? Check out this site.

TASP: Texas Academic Skills Program

TEKS: Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills

National Center for Education Statistics
"NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the United States and other nations."

UNESCO Education Information Service
United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization Education Information Service provides statistical tables and graphs.

SREB Fact Book on Higher Education
This Southern Regional Education Board publication contains statistics on trends that affect colleges and universities in SREB member states: population and economy, enrollments, degrees earned, tuition and student financial aid, faculty and administrators, and college budgets.

SAC Fact Book
This San Antonio College Institutional Research & Effectiveness publication "...provides general statistical information about San Antonio College which may be useful to those engaged in planning, preparing reports, writing grant proposals, or other endeavors within the College."

HOME SCHOOLING

Home School World
"The official site of Practical Homeschooling magazine and The Big Book of Home Learning.

Homeschooling Information and Resource Pages
"Home Education Magazine presents free online newsletters, discussion boards, a networking list, and selections from the magazine, including articles, interviews, columnists, resources, reviews and more!"

TECHNOLOGY & DISTANCE EDUCATION

EdWeb Home Room
Exploring technology and school reform this site is "An intelligent, detailed, informed and practical guide, both to education related issues concerning the Internet, and to educational resources on the World Wide Web...."

Distance Education Clearinghouse
University of Wisconsin-Extension offers "index", "search", "new items", as well as links to information about distance education.

Distance Education Resources
By Sharon Stoerger. This collection of sites is "designed to be a starting point for those interested in locating higher education distance learning resources."

Library Support for Distance Learning
By Bernie Sloan and Sharon Stoerger

San Antonio College Online (distance learning)

Thwarted Innovation: What Happened to e-Learning and Why (pdf file, requires Adobe Acrobat reader)
By Robert Zemsky and William F. Masey. This a major new study from the University of Pennsylvania in collaboration with the Thomson Corporation, which answers the question: 'Why did the boom in e-learning go bust?'"

 

SEARCH ENGINES / WEB DIRECTORIES

Academic Info : Education
Mike Madin maintains this "annotated directory of Internet resources."

Education World
Searching 500,000 web resources, Education World is one of the most comprehensive sources for education links on the Internet. Search by keyword, or browse by education topic, or view "Today's Feature."

Education Index
Sorted by subject and lifestage, Education Index is an annotated guide to the best education-related sites on the Web. Contains more than 3,000 sites in 66 categories.

Yahoo! Education
Select all of Yahoo, Yahoo! Education, or select a specific area of education and search by keyword in this index that contains a large number of educational sources.

Subject Guide

Celita Ávila's picture
Celita Ávila
Contact:
San Antonio College Library
1819 N. Main Ave
San Antonio, TX 78212
avilacelita@gmail.com
210-486-0563
Website / Blog Page
San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212
Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5
Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email
Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer

Copyright © 2015 San Antonio College