Search for Info on Topics - English 1302 - Aguilar, Mariano: Search for Short Story Topics & Find Literary Criticism

Searching as Strategic Exploration - Search for Info on Themes/Topics

Below is a sample topic/theme that you could explore in relation to this story:

How do labor laws affect migrant workers?

Discovery: search the catalog and more This link opens in a new window Your all-in-one search tool to find books, media, articles, and more.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window Covers controversial topics in pro and con essays published in the following series: Opposing Viewpoints, Information Plus, At Issue, Contemporary Issues Companion, Current Controversies, Opposing Viewpoints Digests, and Teen Decisions. Study tools and guidelines included.
U.S. History In Context This link opens in a new window Historical (primary source) documents, reference articles, and journals covering periods in U.S. history from precolonial times to the present. Includes citations for history journals from the Arts and Humanities.

Below is a sample topic/theme that you could explore in relation to this story:

What are the physical and psychological effects of war on soldiers and/or society as a whole?

Discovery: search the catalog and more This link opens in a new window Your all-in-one search tool to find books, media, articles, and more.
Military and Intelligence This link opens in a new window
Provide military personnel with access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and present military affairs. Updated annually, this library resource contains hand-selected content supporting key subject areas such as, governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
Psychology This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Important scholarly journals delivered as high quality page images and articles downloads are in PDF format. Coverage usually stops from 2 to 5 years prior to current year depending on each journal's publisher. Subjects include: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Language & Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, & Statistics.

Below is a sample topic/theme that you could explore in relation to this story:

What effect does depression have on a relationship?

Discovery: search the catalog and more This link opens in a new window Your all-in-one search tool to find books, media, articles, and more.
eBook Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window Full text ebook editions of reference works published by Gale Research, Charles Scribner's Sons, MacMillan Reference, and their divisions.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to 78 scholarly journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations on the field of psychology and related disciplines. 1985 to present.
Psychology This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.

Below is a sample topic/theme that you could explore in relation to this story:

What are some effective treatments for post-partum depression?

Discovery: search the catalog and more This link opens in a new window Your all-in-one search tool to find books, media, articles, and more.
Health Reference Center Academic This link opens in a new window Provides full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources. Integrates the full text and images of respected nursing, allied health and medical journals; consumer health magazines; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; topical interviews; and reference books.