Skip to main content

English 1301 - Coleman, Laurie: Necessary Democratic Contradictions: Home

Jim Crow Laws

The Affluent Society

http://www.hanselledbooks.co.uk/ekmps/shops/hanselledbooks/images/the-affluent-society-by-john-kenneth-galbraith-44027-p.jpg

Why Ask Questions???

Once you have learned to ask questions - relevant and appropriate and substantial questions - you have learned how to learn and no one can keep you from learning what ever you want or need to know.

Library Hours & Phone

Library Hours

Please see Today's Hours.


Phone

Circulation (3rd): 210-486-0570

Reserves (4th): 210-486-0582
Interlibrary Loan (2nd): 210-486-0572
Reference (2nd): 210-486-0554
Reference (SMS text): 210-714-1649
Service Counter (4th): 210-486-1081

Main Library: 210-486-0559
Library Directory

Hola Professor Coleman and eager English 1301 Students

This LibGuide will help you through the process of research for your 1,000 to 1,200 -word essay. 

1. Define Topic: What do you know? Verify with Background Info.

2. Devise Strategy: What do you want to find out? List keywords.

3. Search Sources: Look at Books, Articles, web sites, etc.

 

EVALUATE what you're doing: Change your keywords/database; Are you finding appropriate items?  Relevancy is the key.  

Pay to vote in Texas!

Bernie Sanders on Voter Suppression Laws

http://www.betterworld.net/quotes/bernie/tweets/Bernie-VoterSupression.png

Voter suppression in 2016

http://media.salon.com/2014/10/sean-voter-id-2.png

The Assignment

Directions: Re-read and annotate “The Paradox of the Democratic Mind: Value Tensions and

Argument” by H. Michael Hartoonian and Richard Van Scotter in preparation for further research on

one of the four sets of conflicting values at the heart of American democracy.

 

1. Select ONE pair of values that the authors identity and summarize their argument regarding those

values, such as law versus ethics; private wealth versus commonwealth; freedom versus equality;

or unity versus diversity.

2. Identify one example from American history that represents this pair of American values in conflict.

3. Develop a timeline of the major events that reflect the historical record for the conflict. This

timeline may serve as a way to understand the complexities of the issue or events and/or people

you may need to research further. This timeline will be a separate assignment that you will submit

before the final research paper.

4. Prove what the conflict tells us about the nature of American democracy at that moment or

moments in time. Analyze the events for the paradox and why the conflict is necessary to our

American democracy.

5. You may find useful background to this issue in reference books or journal articles. You will need

to consult specialized databases for American history. Most of these resources can be accessed

and read completely online through the SAC Library’s collection of ebooks and electronic full-text

articles in the numerous databases.

6. Provide supporting evidence of the importance of the issue by making direct quotes, summaries,

or paraphrases from at least FIVE sources, either print or online (at least one background source

will be needed).

7. Compose a 1,000-1,200 word essay using all the skills you have learned about accurate MLA

documentation and effective essay writing. Submit your final draft in Canvas before the due date.

SAC Library, Moody Learning Center, 2nd-5th floors

Moody Learning Center, 4th floor

 

2nd floor (North) - Reference collection, Reference desk, LIBRARIANS, Internet computers, Group Study Rooms

2nd floor (South) - Microfilm Periodicals, Library Instruction classrooms, Quiet Study Area

3rd floor - Circulating collection (check out books & media), Circulation desk, Group Study Rooms

4th floor - Library McAllister Collection & Performance Area, Group Study Rooms, Quiet Study Area, Reserve collection, Reserve desk, Interlibrary Loan, GET CHANGE & PAY FINES $$

5th floor - Library Faculty & Staff Offices, Acquisitions, Discoverying

Keep Calm & Research On

Stephen Dingman's picture
Stephen Dingman
Contact:
San Antonio College Library
1819 N. Main St.
San Antonio, TX 78212

"I got on the bus to go home." Rosa Parks

http://questgarden.com/145/08/8/130102092555/images/Rosa%20Parks.jpg

Time Line - Montgomery Bus Boycott

Carneige's Gospel of Wealth

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/236x/5d/49/68/5d4968e52ac57d1601644b549508c52f.jpg

Galbraith's Philosophy

John Kenneth Galbraith (born 1908) was a leading scholar of the American Institutionalist school and arguably the most famous economist in the post World War II world. His views were a stinging indictment of the modern materialistic society that championed personal achievement and material well-being over public interest and needs. In spite of these views, he served as an advisor in both the American and Canadian governments from the 1930s onward.

Source Citation

"John Kenneth Galbraith." Encyclopedia of World Biography. Detroit: Gale, 1998. Biography in Context. Web. 19 Aug. 2016.

Tear gas fills the air as state troopers break up a march at the Edmund Pettus Bridge in Selma, Alabama, on Bloody Sunday, March 7, 1965. (AP Photo / File)

San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212
Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5
Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email
Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer

Copyright © 2015 San Antonio College