See a list of all library search tools organized alphabetically and by subject area.
Encyclopedia of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement
by Margo Gutiérrez; Matt S. Meier
Call Number: 2nd floor E184.M5 M458 2000
Mexican Americans, like many other Americans, have a long history of struggle for equality and civil rights. Yet only in recent decades has that history begun to be included as part of mainstream American history. Bringing together a wealth of information on the Mexican American struggle for civil rights, this authoritative encyclopedia provides factual up-to-date information on the concepts, issues, plans, legislation, court decisions, events, organizations, and people involved in that long fight. It includes such leading figures as Corky Gonzales, Hector Perez GarcIa, Jovita Idar, and Alonso Perales, as well as many secondary leaders, and is rounded out with objective discussions of such topics as leadership, the movimiento, lynching, political exclusion, voting, and stereotyping. Appendices include a chronology and several basic documents critical to an understanding of the Mexican American Civil Rights struggle.
The Mexican American Experience
by Matt S. Meier; Margo Gutierrez
Call Number: 2nd floor E184.M5 M4535 2003
Mexican Americans are rapidly becoming the largest minority in the United States, playing a vital role in the culture of the American Southwest and beyond. This A-to-Z guide offers comprehensive coverage of the Mexican American experience." "Entries range from figures such as Corky Gonzales, Joan Baez, and Nancy Lopez to general entries on bilingual education, assimilation, border culture, and southwestern agriculture. Court cases, politics, and events such as the Delano Grape Strike all receive full coverage, while the definitions and significance of terms such as coyote and Tejano are provided in shorter entries.
Encyclopedia of Latino Popular Culture
by Cordelia C. Candelaria (Editor); Peter J. Garcia (Editor); Arturo J. Aldama (Editor)
Call Number: 2nd floor E184.S75 E59 2004
U.S. culture has been profoundly impacted by contributions from Mexico and the rest of Central America, South America, and the Spanish Caribbean. These contributions and their adaptations in the United States are showcased in nearly 500 essay entries on noted people, festivities, items, terms, movements, sports, food, events, places, visual and performing arts, film, institutions, fashion, literature, organizations, the media, and much more.
Encyclopedia Latina : History, Culture, and Society in the United States
by Ilan Stavans and Harold Augenbraum (Editors)
Call Number: 2nd Floor E184.S75 E587 2005 v.1-4
In its four volumes, 650 entries, 2000 pages and 1.2 million words, Encyclopedia Latina explores every aspect of Latino life in America from a myriad of perspectives, spanning the arts, media, cuisine, government and politics, science and technology, business, health, and sports, among others. While the collection represents an important cultural point of reference and source of pride for Latino youth, it will also serve the interests of an increasingly diverse American population who can all relate to the themes and stories included in this resource.
Celebrating Latino Folklore
by María Herrera-Sobek
Call Number: 2nd floor E184.S75 C455 2012
Latino folklore comprises a kaleidoscope of cultural traditions. This compelling three-volume work showcases its richness, complexity, and beauty. * 300 A-Z entries that describe the myriad topics of Latino folklore * Contributions from distinguished scholars from across the United States * Photographs, paintings, and documents that supplement and enhance the essays * A short bibliography of suggested readings accompanies each essay
Encyclopedia of Latino Culture: From Calaveras to Quinceaneras
by Charles M. Tatum (Editor)
Call Number: 2nd floor E184.S75 E588 2014
This three-volume encyclopedia describes and explains the variety and commonalities in Latina/o culture, providing comprehensive coverage of a variety of Latina/o cultural forms-popular culture, folk culture, rites of passages, and many other forms of shared expression. * Serves as an ideal resource for research that succinctly overviews myriad topics relating to Latina/o cultural traditions that general readers and high school students will find accessible and easy to use * Places Latina/o traditions within a historical context to deepen comprehension of Latina/o culture * Provides an exploration of identity, terms, and labels as well as sidebars, "spotlight" biographies, primary documents, and suggestions for additional information.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
by Suzanne Oboler (Editor); Deena J. González (Editor)
Call Number: 2nd floor E184.S75 O97 2005
A landmark scholarly work, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States offers comprehensive, reliable, and accessible information about the fastest growing minority population in the nation. With an unprecedented scope and cutting-edge scholarship, the Encyclopedia draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
by Jay. Kinsbruner, Erick Detlef. Langer
Call Number: 2nd floor F1406 .E53 2008
New content addresses research on prehistoric environments and cultures, U.S. Haitian interventions, the consequences of NAFTA and increased Mexican immigration, the troubled aftermaths of Pinochet's Chile and Fujimori's Peru, truth and reconciliation commissions, and the still-contested legacy of the Mexico City massacre of 1968. New leaders like Brazil's Lula da Silva and Venezuela's Hugo Ch̀vez are profiled along with hundreds of other rising figures in politics, letters, and the arts. Newly commissioned master essays synthesize current knowledge on such major regional themes as Democracy in the Americas, Hemispheric Affairs, and the Hispanic Impact on the U.S. Includes full index and table of biographical subjects by profession.
Search Examples from Tools
Tool: US History in Context
Tool: Gale Virtual Reference Library
Tool: Credo Reference
Tool: Library Discovery
Tool: JSTOR (journal storage)
Tool: ProQuest Historical Newspapers New York Times
Library databases require a login from off-campus!
San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212 Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5 Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer