MEDLINEplus Health Information
This site is "a goldmine of good health information from the world's
largest medical library, the National Library of Medicine. Health professionals
and consumers alike can depend on it for information that is authoritative
and up to date. MEDLINEplus has extensive information from the National Institutes
of Health and other trusted sources on about 500 diseases and conditions.
There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and
dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription
and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to
thousands of clinical trials."
Diabetes Dictionary This government web site, "defines words that
are often used when people talk or write about diabetes. It is designed for
people who have diabetes and for their families and friends."
Atlas of the
Body This site provides a brief overview of the physiology of the human
Health Facts Online This resource contains the latest state-level data
on demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access,
financing, and state legislation.
Center for Disease Control Online The
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is recognized as the lead
federal agency for protecting the health and safety of people - at home and
abroad, providing credible information to enhance health decisions, and promoting
health through strong partnerships.
Human Genome Project Information
Sponsored by the National Institutes of Health and the U.S. Department of
Energy, individuals who visit this Web page will find current information
regarding the Human Genome Project.
MedicalStudent.com is a digital library of authoritative medical information
for all students of medicine
HIV/AIDS Information Provided
by the National Library of Medicine, this site provides treatment, drug, and
consumer information relating to HIV/AIDS.
AIDSinfo This site is a service of
the US Department of Health and Human Services and includes information on
vaccines, HIV clinical trials and treatment, experimental drugs, and therapies
for patients, their families, health care providers, and researchers. A downloadable
glossary (available in Spanish) is also available.
InteliHealth promotes good health by providing credible information and
useful products from the most trusted sources. InteliHealth focuses on consumer
Mayo Clinic Health Oasis
This site, directed by a team of Mayo physicians, scientists, and writers
and educators, is updated each weekday to bring you the most relevant health
Healthfinder This government
site provides links to reliable health information geared to the consumer
of health information.
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's search service that provides
access to over 11 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related
databases, with links to participating online journals.
National Institutes of Health
The NIH mission is to uncover new knowledge that will lead to better health
for everyone. NIH works toward that mission by: conducting research in its
own laboratories; supporting the research of non-Federal scientists in universities,
medical schools, hospitals, and research institutions throughout the country
and abroad; helping in the training of research investigators; and fostering
communication of medical information.
CancerNet provides recent and accurate cancer information from the National
Cancer Institute (NCI), the Federal Government's principal agency for cancer
research. The NCI is a component of the National Institutes of Health, the
focal point for the nation's biomedical research. This site is managed by
the National Cancer Institute's Office of Cancer Information, Communication,
and Education (OCICE). OCICE is the NCI's primary voice for communicating
information about cancer to the Nation.
OBGYN.net offers: up-to-the-minute reference information, an event calendar,
clinical reference collections, powerful search tools, discussion forums,
electronic journals, and a place for you to publish your own articles.
American Dietetic Association This
is the professional organization of US dietitians and nutritionists which
issues dietary guidelines and recommendations. The ADA acts as an advocate
for consumer health and safety on dietary issues, as well.
Bexar County Community
Health Collaborative The Bexar County Community Health Collaborative
provides a 2006 health assessment of the population of Bexar County. You
can easily find information and statistics on demographics, infant and child
health, mental health, oral health, heart health, diabetes, and cancer health
specific to Bexar County.
Center for Food Safety and Applied
Nutrition Use this site to find articles on food guidelines, fiber, various
diet programs, labeling, as well as consumer education materials. The Center
for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition is part of the Food and Drug Administration.
Food and Nutrition Information Center
Part of the US Department of Agriculture, the Food and Nutrition Information
Center provides information on dietary supplements, food safety, the nutritional
composition of thousands of foods, as well as resources for childcare nutrition.
online portal to all nutrition information offered by the federal government.
NutritionData This easy to use
site generates nutrition facts labels and provides simplified nutritional
analyses for all foods and recipes. NutritionData tells you what's good and
bad about the foods you eat, and helps you select foods that best meet your
Vegetarian Resource Group The VRG's information
are developed by physicians and registered dietitians for nutritionally sound
The National Center for Complementary and
The National Institutes of Health (NIH), National Center for Complementary
and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) conducts and supports basic and applied research
and training and disseminates information on complementary and alternative
medicine to practitioners and the public.
The Alternative Medicine Homepage
The Alternative Medicine Homepage is a jumpstation for sources of information
on unconventional, unorthodox, unproved, or alternative, complementary, innovative,
HerbMed HerbMed provides "the
scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health. This resource provides
thorough, updated information on the traditional uses of more that 100 species
MedWeb, is a Discovery of health related web sites, maintained by the Emory
Health Sciences Center Library.
American Dental Assistants Association
The purpose of this site is, "To advance the careers of dental assistants
and to promote the dental assisting profession in matters of education, legislation,
credentialing and professional activities which enhance the delivery of quality
dental health care to the public."
San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212 Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5 Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer