From the Colonial Music Institute, this project combines data from the National Tune Index: 18th-century Seculary Music and the National Tune Index: Early American Wind and Ceremonial Music: 1636-1836.
A project of UCLA, Johns Hopkins, and Indian University to provide access to images of sheet music in the public domain.
From Duke University, a collection of images of sheet music.
The Library of Congress' American Memory Project provides access to scanned sheet music from 1820-1860 and 1870-1885 that was presented for copyright. Includes more than 62,000 pieces including popular songs, operatic arias, choral music, and music for band and orchestra.
Provides an extensive listing of Web resources and links to performers, performances, festivals, and reviews of Web sites, CDs, and books.
Provides information about Western art music. While coverage is uneven, what is available is usually of good quality.
Presented by the Internet Public Library, this site provides many audio examples along with short descriptions of the various music periods. This site also places music into its historical perspective.
An eclectic index to a web sources on classical and contemporary music. Includes links to biographies, histories, discussion groups, MP3s, and much, much more. Be aware some of these resources may have inaccuracies so be sure to verify the information found here.
Produced by W.W. Norton & Co. and Sony Classical Music, this site provides an introduction to classical music. It gives an overview of music history, gives historical context, contains short biographies of major composers, and contains a glossary of terms with examples. It also provides excerpts from Sony's Essential Music series in RealPlayer format.
Includes performance and musicology, ethnomusic, electronic music, theory and composition, education, popular music, and topics relating to women in music.
Contains links to all aspects of Contemporary Culture including music.
Maintained by the University of Texas System, this document provides basic guidelines for students and educators on the fair use of educational multimedia.
Another helpful site that will help you understand particular copyright regulations regarding music. Maintained by the Music Library Association.
The BMI site to apply for a license to include music on your web page.