Nursing: Home

Nursing Resources

• Texas Nursing Practice Acts. Visit this link to find the Texas Nursing Practice Acts from 1999 - 2011.

• Community Assistance Directory : San Antonio's Primary Guide to Human Care Resources The online version to the popular Community Asistance Directory. Search this site to find community services availble by topic.

• San Antonio College Nursing Department
  San Antonio College Department of Nursing Education offers an Associate in Applied Science degree. It is the largest Associate Degree Nursing Program in Texas. The site contains relevant information for entry into the programs (generic pathway and transition from LVN to RN) and access to Department of Nursing Education Administration and faculty.

   

• San Antonio Metropolitan Health District The San Antonio Metropolitan Health District's homepage provides links to information specific to the San Antonio area.

• allnurses.com An interesting site where you may find the latest nursing news, job information, and interesting discussion topics. It is definitely worth taking a look at.

•  

• Cybernurse
  If you have an interest in becoming a nurse or if you have already taken the plunge, CyberNurse provides links you might find useful. Information on careers, schools, and Florence Nightingale can be found here.

   

• Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations
  The mission of the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations is to continuously improve the safety and quality of care provided to the public through the provision of health care accreditation and related services that support performance improvement in health care organizations.

   

• American Medical Association
  AMA's work includes the development and promotion of standards in medical practice, research, and education; strong advocacy agenda on behalf of patients and physicians; and the commitment to providing accurate, timely information and discourse on matters important to the health of America.

• The Merck Manual (Full Text)
  The Merck Manual provides useful clinical information to practicing physicians, medical students, interns, residents, nurses, pharmacists, and other health care professionals in a concise, complete, and accurate manner. The Merck Manual continues to cover all the subjects expected in a textbook of internal medicine as well as detailed information on pediatrics, psychiatry, obstetrics, gynecology, dermatology, pharmacology, ophthalmology, otolaryngology, and a number of special subjects.

   

• Gray's Anatomy
  Gray's Anatomy is now available online for free. Visit this link and read all 1,396 pages and view all 1,247 illustrations. The subject index contains almost 13,000 entries that link you directly to their respective pages in the text. Or, you can browse all of the thumbnail versions of the illustrations by clicking here.

Nursing Organizations

• American Association of Critical-Care Nursing

   

• American Association of Managed Care Nurses

   

• American Nurses Association

   

• Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nursing

   

• Hospice and Palliative Care Nurses Association

   

• National Association of Hispanic Nurses

   

• National Council of State Boards of Nursing

   

• National League of Nursing

   

• Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing

   

• Texas Board of Nurse Examiners

• Texas Nurses Association

Employment and Careers

• Nursing Jobs On-Line

   

• Nursing-Jobs.com