- Online Literary Criticism
from the Internet Public Library. Links to over 3300 critical and
biographical websites on authors and their works. Browse by author's
name, title of work, literary time period or nationality.
Magazine and Journal Articles
SAC students will find more magazine and journal articles, many which include graphics, in our vendors' databases which are available only to current SAC students, faculty & staff.
- Directory of Open Access Journals
A listing of free ejournals on a wide variety of subjects. The
directory may be browsed by subject areas to locate over 2000 free
ejournals; or, search over 450 ejournals by keywords to locate articles
of interest. The full text of articles in the ejournals is available
online and may be accessed at no charge.
Links to free medical journals available online. Indicates the lag
between publication in print and online. San Antonio College Library
users looking for a particular journal should check Journals by Title
available from the Library's home page to see if the journal is
available in one a subscription databases or in the Library's
provides free, plain text copies of magazine and journal articles from a
small subset of GaleGroup's full-text article collection in cooperation
with LookSmart. Articles are plain text, no graphics, images, or PDF
versions of articles. Coverage begins with 1998; from approximately 500
- MagPortal.com From
HotNeuron. Useful for free online articles from approximately 150
periodicals including some that are only available online such as D-Lib,
erivativesreview.com, and Search Engine Report, not usually covered by
other periodical indexes. MagPortal does not provide complete indexing
of these online periodicals, only free articles are included.
eBooks and eTexts
Although many eBooks are available in HTML, other file formats are
also used for online eBooks. Some eBooks require a browser plugin called
pronounced Deja View). A free copy of DjVu for Windows and Mac
computers may be downloaded from LizardTech Inc. ( http://www.lizardtech.com ) and for Linux machines from DjVuLibre
( http://djvulibre.djvuzone.org/ ). Another format used for eBooks is
Adobe's Portable Document Format (file name ends with .pdf) A free copy
of Adobe Reader to read and print PDF files may be downloaded at Adobe's website: http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readermain.html .
Another recent addition to the eBook reader software is Sony Corp's eBook
Library program for both the PC and Macintosh computers. This program enables you to
purchase eBooks from the Sony eBook store, or, download eBooks at no charge...choose from over 1 million free, public-domain, fiction and non-fiction classics by authors such as Edgar Allan Poe, Kate Chopin,
James Barrie, Emily Dickinson, Thomas Paine, Plato, The Brothers Grimm and others from Google Books. You can read the eBooks on your computer or copy them to your portable Sony eBook Reader.
Alex allows users to search for and retrieve the full-text of books
and documents in eBook and eText collections on the Internet. Alex
indexes Project Gutenberg and similar etext projects on the Internet.
- American Literature Hypertexts from the University of Virginia.
- Avalon Project from the Yale Univ. Law School; etexts relevant to law, history, and diplomacy.
- Bartleby, Great Books Online Etexts of major literary works out of copyright.
- Bibliomania Classic fiction, non-fiction & reference on the web.
- Chapter One the first chapter of recently published books from The Denver Post.
- Early New Zealand Books
A project of the University of Auckland Library; a digital library of
20 significant early nineteenth century books about New Zealand. The
library or individual titles may be searched by keyword.
- Eserver arts and humanities etexts from Carnegie Mellon Univ; browse or search by keyword.
- Fiction Collection from the English Server (eserver.org); novels and short stories alphabetical by author's name.
- FreeBooks4Doctors Over 600 free medical books available online, most are in English although some texts are in other languages.
- Internet Library of Early Journals Provides access to searchable, full text of several 18th and 19th century journals (e.g. Gentleman's Magazine, Notes & Queries, and Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine). Provided by the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford.
- Internet Public Library's Reading Room
Includes over 10,000 titles searchable by author, title or Dewey
classification number, plus newspapers, magazines, journals, and ezines
also available free over the Internet.
- netLibrary from OCLC.
Over 3400 eBooks are accessible to the public and an additional 27,450
eBooks are available in the TexShare collection to users affiliated with
a TexShare member library. Current SAC students, faculty and staff who
are off campus and are first time users must access netLibrary through this link
and logon to the library's proxy server and then must click on the
"Create an account" link after entering netLibrary in order to search
and view eBooks in the TexShare collection or must access netLibrary via
the Library's Proxy Server. Other individuals may "Create an
account" from a publicly accessible computer at the SAC Library or any
other TexShare member library in order to have access. After this free,
confidential account is created all users may then login and access
eBooks directly at http://www.netlibrary.com.
- OAIster serves as a search portal for digital collections of publically available electronic books,
online journals, audio and image files, and movies provided by research libraries.
- Online Books page from the University of Texas at Austin.
- The Online Books Pagefrom the University of Pennsylvania Library.
- Project Gutenberg The oldest (est. 1971) archive of public domain etexts on the Internet.