- American Society of Media
"The American Society of Media Photographers
(originally the Society of Magazine Photographers and later the American
Society of Magazine Photographers) is a trade organization which promotes
photographers' rights, educates photographers in better business practices,
and produces business publications for photographers."
- The Daguerreian Society
A site "dedicated to the history, science,
and art of the daguerrotype."
- Photographic Society of America
"The largest organization of its kind in the world, bringing together
amateur and professionals in all the varied fields of photography, including
color slides, nature, pictorial prints, stereo (3-D), electronic
photography, video/motion pictures, photojournalism, travel photography."
- Student Photographic Society
This site offers photographic tutorials, artist profiles, information on
business basics, and other topics of interest to photography students.
- Texas Photographic Society
"A nonprofit organization of amateur and professional photographers
whose purpose is to support contemporary photography as a means for creative
expression and cultural insight."
- Texas Professional Photographers
"The TPPA is affiliated with the Professional
Photographers of America."
"Learn more about the photographs and the
photographers of National Geographic Magazine "
- The New Digital Imaging
"Focuses on all aspects of digital photography."
- Studio Photography & Design
"Highlights professionals working in today's photographic applications.
Cover stories showcase portrait, wedding, commercial, digital, and travel
photographers, supported by a selection of supplementary guides, tech tips,
tutorials, and product round-ups."
Museums, Exhibits, Galleries
- The American Museum of
"A virtual museum dedicated to educating, informing, and
sharing photographs with Internet visitors."
- Center for Creative Photography
University of Arizona research center dedicated to photography as an
art form. Includes archives and individual works by 20th century North
- George Eastman House International
Museum of Photography and Film
"An educational institution that
tells the story of photography and motion pictures."
- International Center of Photography
"A museum, a photography school, and a center for photography, the ICP
site provides links to its current exhibits as well as previous exhibits.
The exhibits and photographs offer insight into the photographer and his or
- The Museum of Photographic Arts
museum dedicated exclusively to the photographic arts, presenting work by
some of the world's most celebrated photographers and cinematographers.
- The New York Public Library Picture Collection Online
A collection of more than 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines, prints and postcards.
- Photo-eye Galleries
"An online gallery where serious, fine-art photography is exhibited and
- Photographs Do Not Bend
A commercial gallery in Dallas, Texas that specializes in
20th century photographs from modernist to contemporary works.
- Picturing the Century: 100 Years of Photography from the National Archives
A selection of 20th century photographs from the holdings of the National Archives.
- Time & Life Pictures
"The Time & Life Pictures focuses on the photography in the Time Inc.
Picture Collection. This resource houses approximately 20 million
photographs gathered or taken on assignment for Time Inc. magazines."
information about Agfa films, paper, and chemicals, phototutorials, and
Find information about
Kodak products, photo techniques and tutorials, articles from the Kodak
e-magazine, and photographs.
Fine Art Photography
- Art Support
includes useful articles like "Portfolio Guidelines" and "Where to Exhibit
Your Art" plus extensive resources and links for those interested in an art
- Masters of Photography
Leads you to information about more than fifty photographers,
including related articles, examples of their photography, and
- Albumen: Albumen Photographs: History, Science, and Preservation
the art and science of albumen printing, this site brings together 19th
Century technical instruction, contemporary research, an online forum
for conservation treatment and a wealth of images."
- About Cameras
assortment of information about cameras and photography.
- Darkroom On-line
information resource for darkroom enthusiasts and photographers. Find
darkroom tips, techniques, how-to's, and questions and answers for both film
and paper processing."
- Digital Photography Review: Glossary
A glossary of photography terms with links to definitions.
- Focus on Photography
"Focus on Photography provides basic photography and camera tips and
links you to other photographic resources on the Web."
Leads you to photo
learning forums, photographic images and critiques, and buying information.
- Pinhole Day
Information on many aspects of pinhole photography.