Center for the History of Physics
from the American Institute of Physics. Includes exhibits on Einstein,
Curie, Bohr, and others; links to the the rest of the AIP web site and
other science links.
A Century of Physics.
Interactive timeline from AIP; read about physicists and their
theories. Includes factoids, computer annimations, and images of art
works from each of the periods.
College Physics for Students of Biology and Chemistry.
Intended for the first year undergraduate physics student; a working
knowledge of algebra is required. Assumes you have taken or are taking
undergraduate course in biology or chemistry and are interested in these
or health-related fields.
How Things Work
Submit a question about physics or how technology works or read
previously submitted questions and their answers. Try searching the
database to learn why the sky is blue.
Constants and Units of Measurement
NIST Reference on
Constants, Units, and Uncertainty background information
for nonexperts on Fundamental Physical Constants and a database of
physical constants searchable by name; also organized into categories
such as universal, electromagnetic, atomic & nuclear,
physico-chemical, and frequently used. Includes information on the
International System of Units (metric system), and the Uncertainity of
U.C. Berkeley Physics Demonstrations Online.
"An on-line source of information and pictures used for preparing and
performing undergraduate lecture demonstrations at the University of
California Physics Department at Berkeley." This site deals with
demonstrations for the subjects of: Mechanics, Waves, The Properties of
Heat and Matter, Electricity and Magnetism, Optics, Modern and
Contemporary Physics and Astronomy and Perception.
"...an interactive journey through modern physics! Have fun learning
visually and conceptually about 20th Century science and high-tech
devices." From the University of Colorado at Boulder.
The Physics Zone
Designed as a resource for learning introductory level, algebra based,
physics; includes lessons, review, and links to other resources.
Physics for Beginners Good for absolute beginners; includes an equation solver for use with "physics for beginners".
Physics for Free
Two free physics textbooks available for downloading; 1st an intensive
introduction for Physics majors, and 2nd a specialized book on Groups
and Particles. Texts are in PDF file format and require Adobe Reader
Light and MatterPhysics
Education Resources. Includes an introductory physics text that may be
downloaded free. Text is in PDF file format and require Adobe Reader
Space Physics Textbook.
A comprehensive hypertext book blending plasma physics and space
science. Includes solar winds, solar storms, auroras, etc. with images.
Spacetime Wrinkles Einstein's Special and General theories of relativity and how they relate to space and time. Includes a great glossary.
periodic table (from University of Sheffield). Winner of numerous awards; perhaps the best on the Web.
Lists and and Guides Other Links on the Web
HardScience.info. Provides links to select sites in Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry, Geology, Mathematics, and Physics.
The Laws List."Laws,
rules, principles, effects, paradoxes, limits, constants, experiments,
& thought-experiments in physics." Not intended to be complete.
San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212 Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5 Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer