Skip to main content

Political Science: Home

Free web sites.

Political Science

Associations

Think tanks and NGOs 
An extensive, alphabetical list of organizations compiled by Worldpress.org

 

Campaigns and Elections

National

ANES: American National Election Studies
Provides access to statistical data on American elections and public opinion since 1948.

Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections

FactCheck.org
A nonpartisan site devoted to analyzing the accuracy of major political speeches, debates, and ads.

Federal Election Commission

Open Secrets.org
The guide to money in U.S. elections. [Center for Responsive Politics]

U.S. Electoral College

VOTE411.org
A "one-stop-shop" for election related information that includes a polling place locator.

 

Texas

Bexar County Elections Department

Texas Campaign Money

VoteTexas.gov

 

Historical Documents

United States Constitution
Click on "Read Transcript" to access the Constitution.

CRS Annotated Constitution
A searchable version of the US Constitution available from the Legal Information Institute at Cornell University.

Interactive Constitution
For each provision of the Constitution, scholars of different perspectives discuss what they agree upon, and what they disagree about.

Foreign Relations of the United States
The official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.

Gammel's The Laws of Texas
The first ten volumes of The Laws of Texas are available from this site, along with the Analytical Index.

History and Politics Out Loud
A searchable archive of politically significant audio material.

National Archives and Records Administration
Provides thousands of documents of historical importance.

WhiteHousetapes.org
Includes 5000 hours of audio recordings and transcripts of US presidents from Franklin Roosevelt to Richard Nixon.

 

Local Government: Bexar County and San Antonio

Texas State and Local Government
County and city sites.

Bexar County Home Page

City of San Antonio

City Code

 

Political News and Issues

First Admendment Center
Provides coverage of first admendment issues and topics. 

Foreign Policy News 

Stateline.org
Provides current news and and analysis of state level governmental issues.

 

 

Political Parties

Vote Smart: Political Parties
An extensive, alphabetical list of parties at the national level. Provides a link to state level parties as well. 

 

Quick Reference

Bexar County Elections Department
Use your street address to find out who your City, County, School Board, State and Other Representatives are.

Congressional Directory 

Country Reports 

Government Information on the Web Subject Index 

USA.gov 

USA.gov en español 

GovSpot
Provides quick access to local, state, federal and international resources. 

United States Government Manual

 

Texas Government

Attorney General's Office 

Comptroller...Window on State Government

Office of the Governor

Texas Administrative Code
The Texas Administrative Code is a compilation of all state agency rules in Texas. 

The Texas Constitution

Texas Legislature Online Use the "Who Represents Me?" tool to locate your U.S. and State representatives.

Texas Online
Resources for citizens, visitors, business and government. 

Texas Records and Information Locator (TRAIL)
Provides searching and retrieval for more than 6,000 electronic publications from 150 Texas state agencies.

Texas State Government
Executive, legislative, and judicial branches; statewide boards, commissions and offices.

 

 

U. S. Congress

Congressional Budget Office 

Thomas: Legislative Information on the Internet 

U.S. House of Representatives 

Office of the Clerk

U.S. Senate 

 

U.S. Presidency

The White House 

Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents 

Executive Branch Official Web Sites

Back to the top

U. S. Supreme Court

Supreme Court of the United States 

 

Global

Constitution Finder
Provides access to constitutions, charters, amendments, and other related documents.

Country Studies Series
Provides the online versions of books published by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress as part of the Country Studies/Area Handbook Series sponsored by the U.S. Department of the Army between 1986 and 1998.

Election Resources on the Internet
Provides local and national election data from around the world.

European Parliament

GovSpot
Provides quick access to local, state, federal and international resources. 

Political Database of the Americas
Offers information about institutions, political processes, constitutions, elections and other information related to the strengthening of democracy in the region. 

UN Official Documents System
Provides the full text of UN official documents published since 1993.

Subject Guide

Eileen Oliver
Contact:
San Antonio College Library
1001 Howard St.
San Antonio, TX 78212
210-486-0577
Website / Blog Page
San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212
Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5
Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email
Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer

Copyright © 2015 San Antonio College