LibGuides: Action Research in Education: Conducting a Database Search

Searching as Strategic Exploration

A-to-Z List & Subject List of Search Tools
See a list of all library search tools organized alphabetically and by subject area.

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
To access the Chronicle of Higher Education, you must create a Chronicle account using your alamo.edu email address.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly research and information on all areas of education and all educational specialties, such as: multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, and related social issues. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals and the full text of 750+ journals. Full text of 80+ books also available along with full text for education-related conference papers.

General OneFile This link opens in a new window
One-stop source for news and periodical articles. Includes the databases in General Reference Gold.

Google Scholar
Use the power of Google to search for scholarly articles and book chapters and link to SAC's full-text holdings.

Nexis Uni | LexisNexis Academic This link opens in a new window
Some full-text for items.
International in scope covering news, business and company information, health, legal cases/articles, Federal and State laws, and Federal regulations.

Example of an Action Research Plan
Preparing for College Success: Exploring Undergraduate Students' Perceptions of the Benefits of a College Reading and Study Skills Course through Action Research by Howard, Christy M.; Moret, Lanette; Faulconer, Johna; Cannon, Tanya; Tomlin, Amanda
more...less...
Descriptors: Undergraduate Students, Student Attitudes, Study Skills, Skill Development, Reading Skills, Action Research, Program Effectiveness, Student Needs, Success, College Entrance Examinations, Scores, Transfer of Training, Student Surveys