Skip to Main Content

Communication 1307 - Mercado, Luis: Mass Communications

Print and Broadcast Media - The Information Cycle

Searching as Strategic Exploration

BACKGROUND INFORMATION
CURRENT INFORMATION
SCHOLARLY INFORMATION
Google Scholar Search
Google Book Search
Google Web Search

Search Examples from Tools

Opposing Viewpoints In Context

Covers controversial topics in pro and con essays published in the following series: Opposing Viewpoints, Information Plus, At Issue, Contemporary Issues Companion, Current Controversies, Opposing Viewpoints Digests, and Teen Decisions. Study tools and guidelines included.

Tool: Library Discovery

Try an all-in-one search for topics to get articles, books, and more. Use quotation marks "for phrases" and the * to pick up alternate endings in your search string.

Library Discovery - internet addiction - search example

Trade publications in the field of communication


The following list of major trade publications are available online via various SAC Library databases. The linked publication titles below will take you directly to all the issues online! You can then browse by the publication date or do a keyword search for a topic within that publication.

 


 

Adgully – Covers news in the business of media, marketing and advertising. Since these are not pdf, there will be no pictures available.  The website has many articles, and at least some of them are the same as the print publication.  So you can use the databases as an index and (if you suspect there are important illustrations) see if the article is available on the website.

Advertising Age – Covers news and information about the advertising and marketing industry in the U.S. Since these are not pdf, there will be no pictures available. Since pictures are important in articles on advertising, you may want to either see if the article is available on the website

Adweek – Covers advertising, marketing and public relations business and industries. Since these are not pdf, there will be no pictures available. Since pictures are important in articles on advertising, you may want to either see if the article is available on the website 

American Journalism Review – Professional publication covering print and broadcast journalism.  All current and past articles are available on the website

Billboard – Covers music, video and digital entertainment industries. Since these are not pdf, there will be no pictures available.

Broadcasting and Cable – Covers the broadcasting industry. 

Columbia Journalism Review – Covers journalism and mass communications. Full text available on website.

Editor & Publisher – Covers all aspects of the newspaper business. Full text available on website.

Film Journal International – Contains reviews of films released and covers the film industry in general. Articles also available on website.

Folio – Covers the magazine publishing industry. Full text articles also available on website.

Hollywood Reporter – Covers entertainment news. Full text articles also available on website.

Home Media Magazine – Covers the home entertainment business. Magazine is available on website.

The Online Reporter – Covers digital media and broadband industry. 

Popular Photography – Covers photography and cameras for all types of photographers. 

PR Week – Covers the PR industry. 

The Quill – Magazine by the Society of Professional Journalists. Full text available on website.

Shoot – Covers film and content production for advertising. 

Smart Photography – Covers photography.

Wireless News – Newsletter covering wireless industry, including innovations in technology and business aspects.

The Writer – Covers all aspects of writing for all writers, editors, and students. 

Writer's Digest – Professional magazine for writers covering technique and sale of writing.

Off-campus access

Library databases require a login from off-campus!

  • ACES username is required for login
  • ACES password is your password for login

What does the login page look like?

 

San Antonio College Library
Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC), floors 2-4
1819 North Main Avenue., San Antonio, TX 78212
Call us: (210) 486-0570 | Send Email