Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English 1302 - Aguilar, Liz Ann: Essays and Annotated Bibliography

Annotated Bibliography and Essay Writing - Fall 2022

Searching as Strategic Exploration

Use the databases below to find scholarly criticism about your authors and short stories.
You may also want to find information about events or themes or issues from your short stories. You can use our Discovery catalog or one of our other subject specific databases. 

Essay #1: Poetry

Background:

For this assignment, the student will research to analyze and evaluate different sonnets to write a comparison and contrast literary analysis of the sonnet. The students will learn about the history of the sonnet as categorized within the genre of poetry from its beginning with Giacomo DaLenteni to the contemporary sonnet of former poet laureate, Billy Collins. The students will utilize the Modern Language Association, 9th edition for their internal citations and works cited throughout the essay.

Topic: Reference pg. 576 of our course textbook, question #2 in the Suggestions for Writing section. of our textbook, The Norton Introduction to Literature by Kelly J. Mays.

Take any four sonnets in this book [or from the list provided by your professor] as a basis for an essay in which you compare the various ways poets have used the sonnet form to achieve their unique and artistic purposes.

Requirements:

Essay #1 will follow the MLA heading format. The essay will be typed, double-spaced, Times New Roman font style, 12-point font size. Along with your essay, a pre and post reflection of your topic and writing process, brainstorming, a topic outline, and works cited page referencing your four selected sonnets and two secondary sources.

 

Essay #2-Drama: Fences by August Wilson

As referenced in Suggestions for Writing, Question #3, of our textbook, The Norton Introduction to Literature by Kelly J. Mays.

“Write an essay exploring Wilson’s characterization of Rose. What might the play suggest, through her, about the options available to, or conflicts faced by, women in general or African American women in particular in the 1950s? To what extent might Wilson’s play reproduce or challenge our preconceptions about such women? Alternatively, consider how FENCES might reproduce or challenge stereotypical views of black men.”

Essay #3-Fiction

The two short stories that students are required to use for this comparison and contrast essay are Nathaniel Hawthorne’s The Birth-Mark, and Haruki Murakami’s On Seeing the 100% Perfect Girl One Beautiful April Morning.

“Write an essay exploring how character, point of view, setting, symbolism, or any recurring word or phrase contributes to the development of theme. Be sure to state that theme in a sentence.” [Note: Quoted content in this topic is referenced in Suggestions for Writing, Question #1, of our course textbook, The Norton Introduction to Literature by Kelly J. Mays.]

Requirements:

Essay #1 will follow the MLA heading format. The essay will be typed, double-spaced, Times New Roman font style, 12-point font size. Along with your essay, a pre and post reflection of your topic and writing process, brainstorming, a topic outline, and works cited page referencing your four selected sonnets and two secondary sources.

Tutor Review:

You will be required to submit your essay for a tutor review through the online Brainfuse/SLAC online tutoring. The tutor review is required as a part of your essay grades, so schedule your online tutor appointments ahead of time. When you meet with your online tutor, please refer to the assignment task, so that the tutor can identify what the assignment requires. 

Essay #2: Drama, SLOs 1-5

Background: This assignment will enable you to explore the focus of the
elements of drama specifically--theme and symbolism and an identification to
current times.

Task: This assignment will enable the student to write a drama analysis and
focus on 1) The theme of empathy, 2) symbolism, and 3) “How is the play influenced by its cultural background and how does culture connect to our current political/social ideas of today?”

This essay will consist of two parts.                                                                                             

Part I: Essay
You will select either the play, Antigone, by Sophocles, or Fences, by
August Wilson, as the primary source for this assignment.

Essay Length and Topic: In a four-page essay [total word count-1000
words], written in 3rd person, analyze the work according to the importance of
empathy and symbolism, and “How is the play influenced by its cultural background and how does culture connect to our current political/social ideas of today?” For your secondary sources, you will include a minimum of four sources [one primary source] and three secondary sources. Of the three secondary sources, two will focus on your annotated bibliography articles that connected to culture and the Library Common Read topics.

Part II: Reflection
On a separate page, write a two-paragraph (a minimum of 8-10 sentences per
paragraph with a total word count of 250 words) reflective letter with the
following paragraph focus requirements: Address your “imagined” audience.
Explain your role as the writer of this essay; provide an explanation of your
writing process; and your opinion of how your audience will receive your work.
Write this section in first person.

A Tutor Review is required.

Essay #3: Fiction, SLOs 1-5

Background:

This assignment will provide the student with an opportunity to research fiction and/documentaries and apply the critical approaches to literature and literary terms in the writing of a research paper for the course.

Task: Research-Fiction Analysis-Choose two published short stories that address a coping skill by one of the characters in each of the stories.  Compare and contrast both stories and their use of characterization and their use of coping skills as they confront their challenging situations. For this essay, you will include your journal article from your annotated bibliography focused on coping skills.

This essay will consist of two parts.

Part I: Short Story Selection--You will select two short stories portraying coping skills as evidently portrayed by the characters.

Essay Length and Topic: In a 6-page essay [total word count-1,500 words], double-spaced, written in 3rd person, analyze the work according to characterization and the importance of theme—as focused on coping skills/lack of coping skills as identified in the stories.  For your works cited sources, you will include a minimum of six sources [two primary sources] and four secondary sources. Of the four secondary sources, one source will focus on your annotated bibliography article that connected to coping skills, the second required source is a personal interview with a focus on coping skills, a third source is a website, and the fourth source is your personal choice of reference material.

Part II: Reflection--On a separate page, write a two-paragraph (a minimum of 8-10 sentences per paragraph with a total word count of 250 words) reflective letter with the following paragraph focus requirements: Address your “imagined” audience. Explain your role as the writer of this essay; provide an explanation of your writing process; provide your own opinion of how coping skills are currently being used by people as a result of the pandemic and how your audience will receive your work. Write this section in first person.

A Tutor Review is required.

Writing Project-Annotated Bibliography 
 Peer Reviewed Journal Articles
  • one article will focus on coping mechanisms/coping skills,
  • one article will focus on an aspect of culture,
  • one article will focus on the reader-response theory, and
  • one article will focus on one of the topics from our SAC Common Read Themes-Empathy, diversity, racism, literacy, stereotypes, immigration, or poverty [e.g. The impact of poverty on society/coping with poverty, etc.]

Step I: You will need to research four (4) peer-reviewed journal articles. Of the four articles, one article will focus on coping mechanisms/coping skills, one article will focus on an aspect of culture, one article will focus on the reader-response theory, and one article will focus on one of the topics from our SAC Common Read Themes-Empathy, diversity, racism, literacy, stereotypes, immigration, or poverty [e.g. The impact of poverty on society/coping with poverty, etc.]

Step II: You must email the articles to yourself, save them/print them, and read the articles completely. You must annotate the articles while you read and write down notes/take notes of the online reading. As you are reading, you must ask yourself if the article does focus its attention on the topic or stray away from the topic. After you have read the articles, you will type 10 questions that come to mind for each article that you have read and include your list of questions with the annotated bibliographies when you submit your assignment.

Step III: After reading the articles completely and taking notes, you will write the article’s bibliographic information [author, title, journal, etc.] at the top of the page and follow with your annotation (summary) of the source.

Step IV: The summary will include a discussion of the article’s content and an explanation of how much the article explores the topic and its meaning.

*NOTE: No Wikipedia or other encyclopedias, book reviews, or magazines for this assignment may be used. You must select those journal articles located within our library’s databases. Please follow MLA/APA documentation guidelines.

Purdue Owl Example

Annotated bibliography example:

Roberson, Donald N. and Sharan Merriam. “The Self-Directed Learning Process of Older, Rural Adults.”

        Adult Education Quarterly, vol. 55, no. 4, 2005, pp. 269-287.

        In this article, both Roberson and Merriam are trying to understand how self-directed learning is perceived through a random selection of older, rural participants. The participants ranged from the ages of 75-87 with a minimum age requirement of 70, and the sample of people was drawn from a rural population of South Georgia. The result of the study emphasized the notion that older adults do not learn to do something just to keep their minds off things, but that they choose to learn about something based on how that particular “something” has affected their lives. One example discussed in the study was the scenario of one of the participants having been given the news that his wife was diagnosed with a terminal illness. This life-change caused him to learn as much as he could about the disease. The study also proves that there is a desire for a person to learn when given the motivation or influence of something to cause them to want to learn.

       The article presented a thorough overview of the history of Self-Directed Learning (SDL), and it provided a good and thorough description of the different types of models that are applied with SDL. The topic was a positive strength for the study of SDL because this study has the opportunity to develop into a greater project by evaluating urban versus rural populations and evaluating the nuances that exist within both populations. The only weakness that I am able to critique is that the article did not choose a larger sample number. The study had ten participants, which could have been increased to fifteen or twenty considering that it is a qualitative study and the increased number of participants could have added some more valuable information and even benefited the study even more. With the given strengths and weakness, the article was useful in three ways: 1) It gave a critical view of the background of SDL, 2) It focused on an older, rural population that is an interesting component to the study, and 3) It articulates the significance of SDL in older adult learners. This article contributes to our knowledge of SDL and an explanation of how qualitative research helps us understand the multidimensional levels of learning. Furthermore, this article gives us an opportunity to evaluate how resources play an integral part in the process of learning and how people in their elder years respond to learning through various life changes.

 

Search Examples from Tools

Tool: Library Discovery

Try an all-in-one search for topics to get articles, books, and more. Use quotation marks "for phrases" and the * to pick up alternate endings in your search string.

Library Discovery - internet addiction - search example

Off-campus access

Library databases require a login from off-campus!

  • ACES username is required for login
  • ACES password is your password for login

What does the login page look like?

 

San Antonio College Library
Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC), floors 2-4
1819 North Main Avenue., San Antonio, TX 78212
Call us: (210) 486-0570 | Send Email