Search - MUSI 1307 - Morgan, Kerri - LibGuides at San Antonio College

Searching as Strategic Exploration

Class presentation on a composer or performer from any era. Major composers/performers covered in instructor's lectures may NOT be selected. Presentation will include a short biography, analysis of one major composition accompanied by audio and visual examples. Students will sign up for 15 - 20 minute presentations on the following dates:

Monday April 15

Wednesday April 17

Monday April 22

Wednesday April 24

Monday April 28

Wednesday May 1

Top of Form

Presentation Rubric

Criteria	Pts
Adequate voice projection and eye contact Presenter communicates to audience using understandable and clear speech, and adequate eye contact.	20 pts
Clear and concise organization of topic Appropriate length and coverage of topic areas: Biography (5 min) Composition or Performance style (5 min) Audio examples (5 min)	20 pts
Effective use of audio examples Appropriate length of examples (no more than 5 minutes total)	20 pts
Clear and concise visual presentation Instructive and appealing visual elements to illustrate content either digital or poster style.	20 pts
Peer Grade Students will give a peer grade for each presenter with constructive comments on the presentation.	20 pts

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference contains hundreds of specially curated encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference works with the ability to search across resources. Mind Map visually shows relationships between topics.
eBook Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full text ebook editions of reference works published by Gale Research, Charles Scribner's Sons, MacMillan Reference, and their divisions.
Discovery: search the catalog and more This link opens in a new window
Your all-in-one search tool to find books, media, articles, and more.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Access to art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides full text biographies and critical analyses of over 90,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Searchable by author, title, literary genre, literary movement, or literary theme. Includes Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Twaynes Authors Series, Scribners Writers Series and other scholarly reference sources.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Musical genres included: classical, world/folk, contemporary, New Age, Chinese and jazz. Musical categories included: ballet, chamber music, choral, composers, concertos, educational, film music, instrumental, musicals, opera/operetta, orchestral, vocal and collections.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Covers multiple topics including the hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business. Includes the New York Times from 1985 to the present as well as the London Times and Financial Times. Covers 1980 to present.

A-to-Z List & Subject List of Search Tools See a list of all library search tools organized alphabetically and by subject area.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Important scholarly journals delivered as high quality page images and articles downloads are in PDF format. Coverage usually stops from 2 to 5 years prior to current year depending on each journal's publisher. Subjects include: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Language & Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, & Statistics.
U.S. History In Context This link opens in a new window
Historical (primary source) documents, reference articles, and journals covering periods in U.S. history from precolonial times to the present. Includes citations for history journals from the Arts and Humanities.
World History In Context This link opens in a new window
Identify themes from antiquity to the present with extensive coverage of the 20th Century. Includes journal articles, maps, images and over 2,000 primary source documents.

MUSI 1307 - Morgan, Kerri

Your Librarian

Librarian

Searching as Strategic Exploration

Off-campus access