Writing Project-Annotated Bibliography (SLOs 1, 3, 5)
For this assignment, you will turn in four (4) annotated bibliographies. The following four steps will instruct you on how to complete the assignment.
Step I: You will need to research four (4) peer-reviewed journal articles. Of the four articles, two articles will focus on sustainability and college/university students and two articles will focus on any topic of your choice.
Step II: You must print out the articles, read the articles completely, and take notes. As you are reading, you must ask yourself if the article does focus its attention on the topic or stray away from the topic.
Step III: After reading the articles, you will write the article’s bibliographic information [author, title, journal, etc.] at the top of the page and follow with your annotation of the source.
Step IV: The annotated bibliography summary will consist of a discussion of the article’s content and to what extent does the article explore the topic and its meaning.
*NOTE: No wikipedia or other encyclopedias, book reviews, or magazines for this assignment may be used. You must select those journal articles located within our library’s databases. Please follow MLA documentation guidelines.
Annotated bibliography example:
Roberson, Donald N. & Sharan Merriam. “The Self-Directed Learning Process of Older,
Rural Adults.” Adult Education Quarterly, vol. 55, no. 4, 2005, pp. 269-287.
In this article, both Roberson and Merriam are trying to understand how self-directed learning is perceived through a random selection of older, rural participants. The participants ranged from the ages of 75-87 with a minimum age requirement of 70, and the sample of people was drawn from a rural population of South Georgia. The result of the study emphasized the notion that older adults do not learn to do something just to keep their minds off things, but that they choose to learn about something based on how that particular “something” has affected their lives. One example that was discussed in the study was the scenario of one of the participants having been given the news that his wife was diagnosed with a terminal illness. This life-change caused him to learn as much as he could about the disease. The study also proves that there is a desire for a person to learn when given the motivation or influence of something to cause them to want to learn.
The article presented a thorough overview of the history of Self-Directed Learning (SDL), and it also gave a good description of the different types of models that are applied with SDL. The topic was a positive strength for the study of SDL because this study has the opportunity to develop into a greater project by evaluating urban versus rural populations and evaluating the nuances that exist within both populations. The only weakness that I am able to critique is that the article did not choose a larger sample number. The study had ten participants which could have been increased to fifteen or twenty considering that it is a qualitative study and the increased number of participants could have added some more valuable information and even benefited the study even more. With the given strengths and weakness, the article was useful in three ways: 1) It gave a critical view of the background of SDL, 2) It focused on an older, rural population that is an interesting component to the study, and 3) It articulates the significance of SDL in older adult learners.
This article contributes to our knowledge of SDL and how qualitative research helps us understand the multidimensional levels of learning. This article gives us an opportunity to evaluate how resources play an integral part in the process of learning and how people in their elder years respond to learning through various life changes.
The following is a referenced source from the web address listed below and it is for your information so that you can better understand this assignment: http://www.differencebetween.net/language/difference-between-works-cited-and-
For classroom purposes only
”Works cited vs Bibliography”
“If you are undertaking academic study at an English speaking institution or university, then it is important that you understand the difference between works cited and a bibliography. Depending on the professor’s course requirements, you will be required to produce both of them accurately as part of your assignment and essay work.
In general, a works cited is a smaller list than a bibliography. When producing a works cited for an essay you only list the actual sources of information that you referenced in your piece of work. A bibliography, on the other hand, lists all the works and sources of information that you consulted while undertaking research into your paper.
For example, when you are writing an academic piece it is necessary to consult many different empirical sources to underpin your arguments and points. These can be books, magazines, academic volumes, web sites and any other source of information. When you write your academic paper, it is usually necessary to quote or paraphrase these sources of information and draw your own conclusions from that supporting information.
The authors and information that you directly quote or paraphrase must be referenced in your writing and included in a works cited. If you do use authors’ words without referencing them, your professor may consider that you have plagiarized their work.
A bibliography may also include works that you have directly quoted or paraphrased in your academic writing, but it can also include research that you did and did not end up using directly in your essay.
Both works cited and bibliographies must be set out according to specific requirements. The most common format is MLA or APA style. Works cited do not generally list works numerically, whereas bibliographies generally are numbered. Sources of information are usually listed alphabetically according to the author’s surname. Either references can be included in your written essay as footnotes or in parentheses; however parentheses tend to be more favored in academic writing these days since they do not tend to interrupt the reading flow in the same way that footnotes can.
Summary:
1. Works cited list on the sources that you used directly in your essay.
2. A bibliography can include material and sources that you consulted, but did not directly reference in your writing.
3. Works cited are generally shorter than bibliographies
4. Both works cited and bibliographies have a specific format that must be used.
5. References can be done using footnotes or parenthesis.”