Search - HIST 1302 - Cain, Jennifer - LibGuides at San Antonio College

Searching as Strategic Exploration

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference contains hundreds of specially curated encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference works with the ability to search across resources. Mind Map visually shows relationships between topics.
Discovery: search the catalog and more This link opens in a new window
Your all-in-one search tool to find books, media, articles, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Important scholarly journals delivered as high quality page images and articles downloads are in PDF format. Coverage usually stops from 2 to 5 years prior to current year depending on each journal's publisher. Subjects include: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Language & Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, & Statistics.
U.S. History In Context This link opens in a new window
Historical (primary source) documents, reference articles, and journals covering periods in U.S. history from precolonial times to the present. Includes citations for history journals from the Arts and Humanities.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides full text biographies and critical analyses of over 90,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Searchable by author, title, literary genre, literary movement, or literary theme. Includes Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Twaynes Authors Series, Scribners Writers Series and other scholarly reference sources.

American Periodicals Series, 1740-1900 This link opens in a new window
Contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Titles include Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine, the first American professional journals, and several consumer magazines still in publication, such as Vanity Fair, Harper's Magazine, and Ladies' Home Journal.
Access World News Research Collection | NewsBank | Includes access to San Antonio Express-News This link opens in a new window
Includes access to San Antonio Express-News.
International, national, regional, state and local news content from all 50 U.S. states as well as more than 2,700 international news sources from 139 countries. News content may be included in its original published language or translated into English.
Historical Newspapers: New York Times (1851-2013) This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the content of the New York Times newspaper from 1851 to 2013. Includes full page, PDF format images for non-copyrighted years. Images for an additional year will be added annually as copyright expires. Includes the full run of the newspaper beginning with issue number one in 1851.
U.S. History In Context This link opens in a new window
Historical (primary source) documents, reference articles, and journals covering periods in U.S. history from precolonial times to the present. Includes citations for history journals from the Arts and Humanities.

Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Large collection of streaming educational films with content in: business, economics, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. New programs added monthly. Note: A high speed Internet connection is required.
Want to share a URL or EMBED video code? See our how-to guide.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available. It delivers over 80,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 19,000* titles are exclusive to Alexander Street, all with a predictable annual cost.

HIST 1302 - Cain, Jennifer

Your Librarian

Searching as Strategic Exploration

HIST 1302: How to Use this Guide

Off-campus access