Storytelling - English 1302 - Robinson, Ashley: Research

Assignment, Readings, and Research Tools

Readings

The Atlantic article "All Stories are the Same: From 'Avatar' to 'Jurassic Park,' 'Beowulf' to 'Jaws'"
Adichie's TED Talk "The Danger of a Single Story"

Our lives, our cultures, are composed of many overlapping stories. Novelist Chimamanda Adichie tells the story of how she found her authentic cultural voice -- and warns that if we hear only a single story about another person or country, we risk a critical misunderstanding. TEDGlobal 2009 - July 2009

Additional Readings

The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory entry "Archetype"
A/V from A to Z: Encyclopedic Dictionary of Media, Entertainment and Other Audiovisual Terms entry "Archetypes"
Encyclopedia of American Studies article "Literary Canon"

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides full text biographies and critical analyses of over 90,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Searchable by author, title, literary genre, literary movement, or literary theme. Includes Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Twaynes Authors Series, Scribners Writers Series and other scholarly reference sources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Important scholarly journals delivered as high quality page images and articles downloads are in PDF format. Coverage usually stops from 2 to 5 years prior to current year depending on each journal's publisher. Subjects include: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Language & Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, & Statistics.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference contains hundreds of specially curated encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference works with the ability to search across resources. Mind Map visually shows relationships between topics.
Discovery: search the catalog and more This link opens in a new window
Your all-in-one search tool to find books, media, articles, and more.
eBook Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full text ebook editions of reference works published by Gale Research, Charles Scribner's Sons, MacMillan Reference, and their divisions.

General OneFile This link opens in a new window
One-stop source for news and periodical articles. Includes the databases in General Reference Gold.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Covers multiple topics including the hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business. Includes the New York Times from 1985 to the present as well as the London Times and Financial Times. Covers 1980 to present.

Google Scholar Use the power of Google to search for scholarly articles and book chapters and link to SAC's full-text holdings.

English 1302 - Robinson, Ashley: Research

Librarian

Assignment, Readings, and Research Tools

Off-campus access