LibGuides: Journalism: Journalism

JOURNALISM

Best of Photojournalism Web Entries
This feature of the Cyberjournalist.net ( see entry below ) web site links to web sites recognized by the National Press Association as the "Best of Photojournalism - 2004."
Center for Public Integrity
"Dedicated to producing original, responsible investigative journalism on issues of public concern, this non-profit organization is committed to transparent and comprehensive reporting both in the United States and around the world."
Columbia Journalism Review
With the stated goal of "continuing improvement of journalism in the service of a free society," the Columbia Journalism Review examines the role played by the media in our daily lives.
CyberJournalist.net
Sponsored by the Media Center at the American Press Institute, CyberJournalist.net is edited and published by Jonathan Dube and "focuses on how the Internet, media convergence and new technologies are changing journalism."
Dart Center for Journalism & Trauma
The University of Washington Department of Communication's Dart Center provides a public venue for "print, broadcast and internet journalists to analyze issues, exchange ideas and advance strategies related to reporting on violence and catastrophic stress."
FACSNET - Improving Journalism through Education
Founded in 1976, this non-profit educational organization conducts research and sponsors studies aimed at "improving the quality of information reaching the public through the news."
Investigative Reporters & Editors
With membership fees ranging from $25 for students to $50 for professionals, this web site provides services for reporters, editors, and others for the sharing of news reporting ideas, story lines, and investigative techniques.
Journalism-Photography @ San Antonio College
This source highlights the Journalism-Photography Department at San Antonio College and links to scholarship opportunities and career planning resources. Click Index-Listings for an alphabetical index of the department's web site.
JournalismNet
Compiled by Julian Sher, a documentary television producer and Internet trainer, JournalismNet allows searches for newspaper, television, and radio outlets and links to " 300 different web pages with over 6,000 links designed to help journalists (and anyone else) find useful information fast."
Journalism.org
Sponsored by the Pew Research Center's Project for Excellence in Journalism, this source contains tools for working journalists, a daily news briefing, career and job links, etc. designed to "clarify what journalism's essential role is and identify examples of good journalism around the country ..."
Journalists' Tools
A subsection of Bob Drudge's "RefDesk", this resource links to 90+ web sources that are useful for working journalists.
Newspaper CareerBank
The American Society of Newspaper Editors has compiled a listing of sources for locating newspaper jobs.
Newswise
Created by Dr. Roger Johnson in 1991, Newswise was designed as an "online news service for universities and research institutions for knowledge-based news" and has a searchable archive of some 30,000 news stories.
Pew Center for Civic Journalism
Funded by the Pew Charitable Trusts, this resource has partnered with the Radio and Television News Directors Foundation, IRE, the Maynard Institute, NPR, PBS's Democracy Project, the Kettering Foundation, National Association of Black Journalists and the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communications "to help stimulate citizen involvement in community issues."
Power Reporting
As a partner of the Columbia Journalism Review, this "resources for journalists" page links to hundreds of web sources for the working journalist.
San Francisco State University - Journalism Department
This SFSU web site provides a complete overview of its journalism program with links to research, scholarship, and career opportunity resources.
State of the News Media 2011
This Project for Excellence in Journalism resource is an overview of the current state of journalism in America with a statistical analysis of the various media types including magazines, newspapers, radio, and television.
Student Press Law Center
Established in 1974, the SPLC is "devoted exclusively to educating high school and college journalists about the rights and responsibilities embodied in the First Amendment and supporting the student news media in their struggle to cover important issues free from censorship."
Today's Front Pages
Newseum provides pdf images of the "daily newspaper front pages in their original, unedited form" of over 700 newspapers from throughout the world.
University of Texas at Austin - School of Journalism
The UT School of Journalism's mission statement notes that "... journalism serves many vital functions for a democratic society. As the "eyes and ears" of society, journalism finds out what is going on in the world beyond people's doors and tells them about it. In doing so, journalism reflects and transmits society's values."
The Write News
Published by Writers Write, Inc., this resource "provides news, features and resources for media and publishing professionals."